FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

The Alida, Savannah, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel Review

by Francis X. Gallagher

Aug 10, 2021

PHOTO: © FRANCIS X. GALLAGHER

August 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: I arrived in Savannah about 5 p.m. on a warm, pleasant Sunday and decided to drive around the popular areas of the Historic District to get my bearings and absorb the vibe. All over town people were enjoying the sunshine in the 22 parks and squares in the city, playing softball, lounging, walking their dogs, running or just relaxing. It looked like everyone was enjoying themselves; the city has a youthful feel to it.

Finally, I drove to The Alida and valet-parked my car, which was convenient — the bellman was impressed I had just driven in from Philadelphia. Once I went inside, check-in was swift and friendly, and I was offered an empty water bottle to fill with my choice of water at the hydration station on my floor.

GUEST QUARTERS: I was in Suite 508, which had a convenient entrance hallway with a little table. I was meeting the team from Visit Savannah the next day, and they had dropped off a little gift of local honey products nicely wrapped. The hallway led to the bathroom on the left, and to the right was a coffee and bar station. Due to COVID- 19 protocols, there was nothing there.

The king-sized bed had a down comforter, which made for a cozy sleep. Right off the sleeping area, a sitting area held a settee sofa and two chairs facing the large-screen TV on the wall. The TV remote had been sanitized and wrapped in a zip-lock bag. The window facing the back looked out over the top-floor bar of the JW Marriott and the river beyond.

The bathroom was well-stocked, with a single sink hung under a marble-top counter, offering space for a travel kit. There was no tub, but the shower was large, with an all-glass front and a significant showerhead providing decent water pressure. Amenities included Red Flower shampoo, conditioner, soaps and lotions.

My only complaint was the bathroom door was difficult to close, and I informed the front desk.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: Each floor at the Alida has a hydration station where one can fill and refill the supplied water bottle with mineral water, filtered water or sparkling water. There was a drawer filled with little bags of ice rather than the scooper to refill the guestroom ice bucket. This was the practice pre-COVID and was not developed in response. Unfortunately, the ice bin was empty, but I was able to flag housekeeping to deliver ice to me and replenish that station.

I had dinner and breakfast at Rhett’s Restaurant on the lower level facing River Street and the JW Marriott. For dinner, I sat outside and enjoyed the threat of rain; while others moved inside, I remained out under an umbrella through the sprinkles. Chef Jason Starnes serves local cuisine with a Southern influence. For dinner, I enjoyed the pan- seared scallops, a perfect finish to the day after my long car ride.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

  • Great location — the back of the property has you right on the riverfront with lots of restaurants.
  • Perfect and swift parking
  • Great rooftop bar, a popular Savannah hangout for cocktails

THE ALIDA, SAVANNAH, A TRIBUTE PORTFOLIO HOTEL
412 Williamson St.
Savannah, GA 31401
tel 912 715 7000
thealidahotel.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Cruising
Oct 15, 2021

Galataport Istanbul Welcomes First Ship

Galataport Istanbul, a new cruise and lifestyle destination on the Bosphorus in Istanbul, welcomed its first ship, SeaDream II, on Oct. 1. Approximately 150 passengers and crew from Bulgaria Varna arrived at 10 a.m. for a two-day homeport operation before continuing to Bulgaria Burgaz.

The Future of Hamad International Airport

Without a doubt, the pandemic changed the role of airports in the travel industry. Hamad International Airport’s role evolved in many ways since the pandemic hit. Now, more than ever, airports are responsible for creating a secure passenger experience. As the gateway to Qatar and the world, the safety and wellbeing of staff and passengers has always been at the core of Hamad International Airport’s strategy.

Events
Oct 14, 2021

Celebrate Halloween at a Medical Labyrinth

The countdown to Halloween weekend is on! Are you are still unsure about plans? Do you go to a house party? Stay in to hand out candy? Try something different this year and join Philadelphia’s  The Mütter Museum at its 6th annual Mischief at The Mütter.

eFlyer Reviews
Oct 13, 2021

Jackson’s Bar & Oven Review

There’s an aspirational rustic chic/farm-to-table restaurant genre often associated with Northern California’s wine country. When you drive down the main street of Napa, Sonoma or any of the other towns, it appears there are as many of them as there are vineyards. And there’s absolutely nothing wrong with this genre, as the quality of the food is consistent and ambitious chefs earnestly endeavor to elevate home-style dishes to a higher standard.

‘Tis the Season for a Luxurious Retreat

This holiday season, escape to the Caribbean with Celebrity Cruises and reconnect with family and friends in luxurious accommodations that make you feel right at home. Savor globally inspired cuisine designed by our Michelin-starred chef, paired with the most awarded wine collection at sea. Elevate “me time” with a soothing spa treatment sure to renew. With both long and short cruises to celebrate in December, and even three special Ultimate Holiday Cruises that sail over Christmas and into the New Year, the time to gift an experience and create unforgettable memories is now. Celebrity Cruises’ Always IncludedSM pricing — drinks, WiFi and tips — ensures a seamless, carefree vacation with the ones you love.

eFlyer News
Oct 13, 2021

The InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Collaborates with Porsche

The InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco announced a new amenity for guests in collaboration with Porsche. Porsche electric vehicle charging stations will now be located in the valet area of the hotel’s parking deck, allowing guests and visitors to top off the batteries of electric vehicles while enjoying a cocktail at Top of the Mark, enjoying farm-to-table fare at Nob Hill Club or staying overnight at the property.

Daily
Oct 13, 2021

Grenada Fall and Winter Specials

Head to the Caribbean to escape the cold fall and winter weather. Grenada hotels offer travelers numerous deals, perfect for a fall, winter or holiday getaway.

Greece: Destination Culture

History and culture are etched into every corner of Greece. Beginning with its language, the oldest written language still in existence, and moving from the traces of passing civilizations and religions to pre-historic findings and works from many movements, there’s a wealth of culture to discover on your next trip to Greece.

Daily
Oct 12, 2021

6 Reasons to Put Reykjavik, Iceland, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Reykjavik with us.