FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

The Alida, Savannah, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel Review

by Francis X. Gallagher

Aug 10, 2021

PHOTO: © FRANCIS X. GALLAGHER

August 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: I arrived in Savannah about 5 p.m. on a warm, pleasant Sunday and decided to drive around the popular areas of the Historic District to get my bearings and absorb the vibe. All over town people were enjoying the sunshine in the 22 parks and squares in the city, playing softball, lounging, walking their dogs, running or just relaxing. It looked like everyone was enjoying themselves; the city has a youthful feel to it.

Finally, I drove to The Alida and valet-parked my car, which was convenient — the bellman was impressed I had just driven in from Philadelphia. Once I went inside, check-in was swift and friendly, and I was offered an empty water bottle to fill with my choice of water at the hydration station on my floor.

GUEST QUARTERS: I was in Suite 508, which had a convenient entrance hallway with a little table. I was meeting the team from Visit Savannah the next day, and they had dropped off a little gift of local honey products nicely wrapped. The hallway led to the bathroom on the left, and to the right was a coffee and bar station. Due to COVID- 19 protocols, there was nothing there.

The king-sized bed had a down comforter, which made for a cozy sleep. Right off the sleeping area, a sitting area held a settee sofa and two chairs facing the large-screen TV on the wall. The TV remote had been sanitized and wrapped in a zip-lock bag. The window facing the back looked out over the top-floor bar of the JW Marriott and the river beyond.

The bathroom was well-stocked, with a single sink hung under a marble-top counter, offering space for a travel kit. There was no tub, but the shower was large, with an all-glass front and a significant showerhead providing decent water pressure. Amenities included Red Flower shampoo, conditioner, soaps and lotions.

My only complaint was the bathroom door was difficult to close, and I informed the front desk.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: Each floor at the Alida has a hydration station where one can fill and refill the supplied water bottle with mineral water, filtered water or sparkling water. There was a drawer filled with little bags of ice rather than the scooper to refill the guestroom ice bucket. This was the practice pre-COVID and was not developed in response. Unfortunately, the ice bin was empty, but I was able to flag housekeeping to deliver ice to me and replenish that station.

I had dinner and breakfast at Rhett’s Restaurant on the lower level facing River Street and the JW Marriott. For dinner, I sat outside and enjoyed the threat of rain; while others moved inside, I remained out under an umbrella through the sprinkles. Chef Jason Starnes serves local cuisine with a Southern influence. For dinner, I enjoyed the pan- seared scallops, a perfect finish to the day after my long car ride.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

  • Great location — the back of the property has you right on the riverfront with lots of restaurants.
  • Perfect and swift parking
  • Great rooftop bar, a popular Savannah hangout for cocktails

THE ALIDA, SAVANNAH, A TRIBUTE PORTFOLIO HOTEL
412 Williamson St.
Savannah, GA 31401
tel 912 715 7000
thealidahotel.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Dec 2, 2022

AKA West Palm Beach Opens in Florida

West Palm Beach, Florida, recently welcomed AKA West Palm, a hotel residence offering long-stay accommodations. As AKA’s second South Florida property, AKA West Palm features 215 hotel residences comprised of studios, one- and two-bedroom spaces, and Penthouse suites. The five-story hotel blends modern luxuries with comfort and simplicity, with sleek kitchens, washers and dryers, and private terraces. Room furnishings contrast with a backdrop of stone, metal and wood to create simple, clean lines with minimal contrast.

Why the Future of Business Travel Might Look Different

Global business travel is making its way back, even as the pandemic and other world events continue to challenge its return. In a recent poll from the Global Business Travel Association, more than four in five respondents (86 percent) from across the industry said they feel more optimistic than they did at the beginning of the year. Business travel bookings, the need to travel to do business and employee willingness to travel are all on the rise.

Daily
Dec 2, 2022

Heart of the South

Birmingham, Alabama, was named for the city in the English Midlands that kept the fires burning, warmed the homes and made much of the steel for the United Kingdom’s industrial revolution. Decades later, the American city also made steel, so much of it, in fact, it became known as the “Magic City” for steel production, and the moniker stuck. But today’s Magic City makes more than steel, taking the raw product a few more steps to become a major center for automobile parts manufacturing and more, including Honda, Mercedes-Benz and U.S. Steel. Thanks to local leadership and long-term planning, the magic still works for Birmingham, as evidenced by its role hosting The World Games 2022 last summer.

Daily
Dec 2, 2022

El Museo Del Barrio

As New York City’s leading Latino cultural institution, El Museo del Barrio welcomes visitors of all backgrounds to discover the artistic landscape of Latino, Caribbean and Latin American cultures. El Museo’s wide-ranging collections and exhibitions represent these cultures’ richness, complemented by film, literary, visual and performing arts series, cultural celebrations and educational programs. Ranging from pre-Columbian to modern and contemporary art, the permanent collection totals more than 8,000 objects.

United’s 100 Percent Green Commitment to be Carbon Neutral by 2050

United Airlines remains firmly committed toward sustainability in aviation. The latest development in its eco-conscious goals includes working with Oxy Low Carbon Ventures to commercialize the production of sustainable aviation fuels (SAF) with biotech firm Cemvita Factory. Cemvita looks to develop a revolutionary new way to produce SAF by using carbon dioxide and synthetic microbes. Additionally, United Airlines Ventures (UAV) recently announced an equity investment in Fulcrum, and United has invested more in SAF production than any other airline in the world.

Daily
Dec 2, 2022

Fairmont Gold Reopens at Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown

Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown recently reopened its Fairmont Gold, introducing amenities, a contemporary new style in the Fairmont Gold Lounge and dedicated concierges. The 48-room, three-suite Fairmont Gold, positioned as an urban oasis, takes over the entire ninth floor of the hotel and delivers exceptional service to meet guests’ needs.

Press Releases
Dec 1, 2022

Global Traveler Announces 19th Annual GT Tested Reader Survey Awards

The results are in! For the 19th consecutive year, Global Traveler conducted its GT Tested Reader Survey, asking frequent luxury travelers to name the best in a variety of travel-related categories. More than 22,000 people responded. Global Traveler’s inaugural awards were celebrated in 2004.

75 Years Connecting the Americas

Copa Airlines is celebrating its 75th anniversary by showcasing a Boeing 737-800 NG in an aircraft livery that harkened back to the airline’s look in the 1990s. During that time, Copa Airlines launched an expansion of their network to become the Hub of the Americas®, changing the way to travel to and connect in our Continent.

December 2022
Dec 1, 2022

Rich in History: Explore Gilded Age Mansions and More in Newport, Rhode Island

Originally a thriving Colonial seaport, Newport became the summer playground for the Gilded Age’s elite in the late 1880s. Today their mansions dot the coast of Aquidneck Island, and their favorite pastimes — sailing and tennis — still dominate the city’s recreational offerings. In fact, Newport hosted the first U.S. Open tennis championship in 1881 and golf tourna- ment in 1895 and hosted the America’s Cup from 1930 to 1983. You can experience most of Newport on your own, including the mansions, but don’t rule out a guided tour or two when you visit.