FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

The Alida, Savannah, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel Review

by Francis X. Gallagher

Aug 10, 2021

PHOTO: © FRANCIS X. GALLAGHER

August 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: I arrived in Savannah about 5 p.m. on a warm, pleasant Sunday and decided to drive around the popular areas of the Historic District to get my bearings and absorb the vibe. All over town people were enjoying the sunshine in the 22 parks and squares in the city, playing softball, lounging, walking their dogs, running or just relaxing. It looked like everyone was enjoying themselves; the city has a youthful feel to it.

Finally, I drove to The Alida and valet-parked my car, which was convenient — the bellman was impressed I had just driven in from Philadelphia. Once I went inside, check-in was swift and friendly, and I was offered an empty water bottle to fill with my choice of water at the hydration station on my floor.

GUEST QUARTERS: I was in Suite 508, which had a convenient entrance hallway with a little table. I was meeting the team from Visit Savannah the next day, and they had dropped off a little gift of local honey products nicely wrapped. The hallway led to the bathroom on the left, and to the right was a coffee and bar station. Due to COVID- 19 protocols, there was nothing there.

The king-sized bed had a down comforter, which made for a cozy sleep. Right off the sleeping area, a sitting area held a settee sofa and two chairs facing the large-screen TV on the wall. The TV remote had been sanitized and wrapped in a zip-lock bag. The window facing the back looked out over the top-floor bar of the JW Marriott and the river beyond.

The bathroom was well-stocked, with a single sink hung under a marble-top counter, offering space for a travel kit. There was no tub, but the shower was large, with an all-glass front and a significant showerhead providing decent water pressure. Amenities included Red Flower shampoo, conditioner, soaps and lotions.

My only complaint was the bathroom door was difficult to close, and I informed the front desk.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: Each floor at the Alida has a hydration station where one can fill and refill the supplied water bottle with mineral water, filtered water or sparkling water. There was a drawer filled with little bags of ice rather than the scooper to refill the guestroom ice bucket. This was the practice pre-COVID and was not developed in response. Unfortunately, the ice bin was empty, but I was able to flag housekeeping to deliver ice to me and replenish that station.

I had dinner and breakfast at Rhett’s Restaurant on the lower level facing River Street and the JW Marriott. For dinner, I sat outside and enjoyed the threat of rain; while others moved inside, I remained out under an umbrella through the sprinkles. Chef Jason Starnes serves local cuisine with a Southern influence. For dinner, I enjoyed the pan- seared scallops, a perfect finish to the day after my long car ride.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

  • Great location — the back of the property has you right on the riverfront with lots of restaurants.
  • Perfect and swift parking
  • Great rooftop bar, a popular Savannah hangout for cocktails

THE ALIDA, SAVANNAH, A TRIBUTE PORTFOLIO HOTEL
412 Williamson St.
Savannah, GA 31401
tel 912 715 7000
thealidahotel.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jan 18, 2022

6 Reasons to Put Santorini, Greece, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Santorini, Greece, with us.

IHG® Business Edge: Working Together with SMEs

IHG® Business Edge: Working Together with SMEs for a smarter way to manage travel

Daily
Jan 18, 2022

Boston-Based COJE Management Group Withstands Pandemic, Sees Restaurants Flourish

COJE Management Group raised the bar when it comes to cuisine and cocktails. The Boston-based group, founded by Chris Jamison and Mark Malatesta, offers guests the ultimate dining experience with old-world hospitality and an array of cuisines for every guest to enjoy. With culinary director Tom Berry incorporating the cuisines he encountered during his travels to South America, Cuba, Japan, Southeast Asia and France, each restaurant has distinguished itself as a must for anyone visiting Boston and each is designed exclusively in-house using inspiration from different regions and countries around the world.

Daily
Jan 17, 2022

Galei Kinneret Hotel Opens in Israel

London-based Saar Zafrir Design unveiled its latest project: Galei Kinneret Hotel. Located on the Sea of Galilee, the restored 123-room property was one of Israel’s first luxury hotels, originally built in 1946.

 Reconnect with the world in The Islands of Tahiti

Located in the South Pacific, The Islands of Tahiti are just eight hours by air from California. Surrounded by pristine, crystal-clear blue waters, the 118 islands and atolls offer natural beauty, authentic island culture and unique French Polynesian style. The Islands of Tahiti are world-renowned for white-sand beaches, stunning turquoise lagoons and varied landscapes ranging from coral atolls to volcanic mountain peaks. Privacy comes naturally in The Islands of Tahiti and offers visitors the space to relax and reconnect and to be Embraced By Mana. Mana is the life force and spirit that connects all things in The Islands of Tahiti.

Daily
Jan 14, 2022

New Martin Luther King, Jr. Dedication at Plant Riverside District

With Martin Luther King, Jr. Day on Monday, Plant Riverside District, also known as Savannah’s Entertainment District, is officially dedicating a park to Martin Luther King, Jr. Located on the Savannah riverfront, Plant Riverside District will hold a ceremony to unveil a commissioned bronze monument dedicated to the late Civil Rights leader.

eFlyer Deals
Jan 12, 2022

Dromoland Castle’s Linger for Longer Offer

Situated in County Clare, Ireland, Dromoland Castle offers guests its Linger for Longer deal to experience the west of Ireland in medieval luxury. Guests who book a two-night stay this January or February will receive a complimentary third night at the 16th-century castle.

eFlyer Deals
Jan 12, 2022

TourRadar 2022 Savings

TourRadar celebrates the start of 2022 with exclusive savings on trips for 2022 and 2023. Save up to 50 percent on all trips to Egypt, including the popular eight-day Pharaohs Nike Cruise Adventure and 10-day Egypt Explorer Felucca Cruise and Red Sea trip. TourRadar also offers travelers up to 50 percent off trips to Greece such as the seven-day tour through Athens, Mykonos and Santorini.

eFlyer Deals
Jan 12, 2022

QuintEvents’ 2022 Super Bowl Offer

For guests wanting the ultimate VIP experience at this year’s Super Bowl, QuintEvents offers an exclusive opportunity. Guests can choose from a variety of QuintEvents’ offers to not only have a seat at the game but also to enjoy cocktails, chef-prepared dishes with legendary football hall of famers like Dan Marino, and a stay at a luxury premium hotel with a beachside option.