FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

The Alida, Savannah, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel Review

by Francis X. Gallagher

Aug 10, 2021

PHOTO: © FRANCIS X. GALLAGHER

August 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: I arrived in Savannah about 5 p.m. on a warm, pleasant Sunday and decided to drive around the popular areas of the Historic District to get my bearings and absorb the vibe. All over town people were enjoying the sunshine in the 22 parks and squares in the city, playing softball, lounging, walking their dogs, running or just relaxing. It looked like everyone was enjoying themselves; the city has a youthful feel to it.

Finally, I drove to The Alida and valet-parked my car, which was convenient — the bellman was impressed I had just driven in from Philadelphia. Once I went inside, check-in was swift and friendly, and I was offered an empty water bottle to fill with my choice of water at the hydration station on my floor.

GUEST QUARTERS: I was in Suite 508, which had a convenient entrance hallway with a little table. I was meeting the team from Visit Savannah the next day, and they had dropped off a little gift of local honey products nicely wrapped. The hallway led to the bathroom on the left, and to the right was a coffee and bar station. Due to COVID- 19 protocols, there was nothing there.

The king-sized bed had a down comforter, which made for a cozy sleep. Right off the sleeping area, a sitting area held a settee sofa and two chairs facing the large-screen TV on the wall. The TV remote had been sanitized and wrapped in a zip-lock bag. The window facing the back looked out over the top-floor bar of the JW Marriott and the river beyond.

The bathroom was well-stocked, with a single sink hung under a marble-top counter, offering space for a travel kit. There was no tub, but the shower was large, with an all-glass front and a significant showerhead providing decent water pressure. Amenities included Red Flower shampoo, conditioner, soaps and lotions.

My only complaint was the bathroom door was difficult to close, and I informed the front desk.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: Each floor at the Alida has a hydration station where one can fill and refill the supplied water bottle with mineral water, filtered water or sparkling water. There was a drawer filled with little bags of ice rather than the scooper to refill the guestroom ice bucket. This was the practice pre-COVID and was not developed in response. Unfortunately, the ice bin was empty, but I was able to flag housekeeping to deliver ice to me and replenish that station.

I had dinner and breakfast at Rhett’s Restaurant on the lower level facing River Street and the JW Marriott. For dinner, I sat outside and enjoyed the threat of rain; while others moved inside, I remained out under an umbrella through the sprinkles. Chef Jason Starnes serves local cuisine with a Southern influence. For dinner, I enjoyed the pan- seared scallops, a perfect finish to the day after my long car ride.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

  • Great location — the back of the property has you right on the riverfront with lots of restaurants.
  • Perfect and swift parking
  • Great rooftop bar, a popular Savannah hangout for cocktails

THE ALIDA, SAVANNAH, A TRIBUTE PORTFOLIO HOTEL
412 Williamson St.
Savannah, GA 31401
tel 912 715 7000
thealidahotel.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Aug 11, 2022

The Oberoi Marrakech’s New Wellness Program

The Oberoi, Marrakech introduces its new holistic wellness program, SAHA. Meaning health in Arabic, SAHA aims to help guests reach their full wellbeing potential. The program operates on four key cornerstones: soul & spirit, active body, holistic treatments and a better plate.

Celebrity is celebrating Spring with 25% off Cruise Fares!

There’s no better time to plan the vacation you’ve been missing. Step aboard with your better half, your friends or the whole family and reconnect, reunite and rejoice with 25 percent off cruise fares for all guests. We’ll also help everyone get there with 25 percent off airfare from 20 major gateways across the country or $100 savings per person on flights from all other gateways when you book your air travel using Flights by Celebrity.*

Daily
Aug 11, 2022

Museum Hopping in Valencia, Spain

Filled with sunshine and beauty, Valencia, Spain, is also a great destination for diving into culture and art. Named World Design Capital for 2022, Spain’s third-largest city boasts a wealth of museums providing glimpses into history and fine art.

Daily
Aug 11, 2022

Nassau Paradise Island Resorts Offer Foodies a Taste of the Bahamas

Nassau Paradise Island resorts pull out all the stops for foodies this season with new culinary offerings to elevate guests' experiences. The Bahamas is home to chef-driven, award-winning restaurants, authentic meals and delicious drink options. In the next couple of months, the offerings and festivals provide an unforgettable culinary experience for everyone.

6,000 Reasons and More to Celebrate!

IHG® Hotels & Resorts certainly has a lot to celebrate, starting with an incredible growth story. Over the past five years, IHG has acquired or launched six new brands: Six Senses® Hotels Resorts Spas, Regent® Hotels & Resorts, Vignette™ Collection, voco™ hotels, avid® hotels and Atwell Suites™. Most recently, IHG reached an important milestone with its 6,000th open hotel. The company looks to further expand its portfolio by 30 percent with 1,800 hotels in the development pipeline, with significant focus on growth in the luxury segment where IHG is positioned as one of the top two hotel chains.

Daily
Aug 10, 2022

Rosewood Vienna Opens

Rosewood Vienna opened Aug. 1, marking Rosewood’s first hotel in the German-speaking market and its fifth European property. The 19th-century hotel, situated at Petersplatz, sits just steps away from many of Vienna’s historical and cultural sites, including St. Stephen Cathedral and Kunsthistorisches Museum. Guests won’t even have to leave the hotel to immerse themselves in the rich history of Vienna, as the hotel encompasses the apartment where Mozart lived and wrote The Abduction from the Seraglio.

eFlyer Deals
Aug 10, 2022

Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa Launches New Summer Experiences

Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa’s new summer offers provides guests with unique and memorable ways to explore the region and relax on the property. The Lowcountry Adventure offer, in partnership with Outside Hilton Head, features a custom-designed, five-hour program for up to six people. The offer includes a variety of all-day adventures and activities around Hilton Head, such as boating local waterways, visiting private islands and exploring small towns. Guests wanting to book this experience can book a three-night stay through Oct. 31, with a 21-day advance booking required.

TAP Air Portugal: 77 Years Young

TAP Air Portugal, or rather Transportes Aéreos Portugueses, was founded 77 years ago, March 14, 1945, and flew its first commercial flight September 19, 1946, inaugurating service from Lisbon to Madrid, Spain, aboard a Douglas DC-3.

eFlyer Deals
Aug 10, 2022

American Queen Voyages Announces Free Air for New 15-Day Voyage Through Mexico, Costa Rica

For the first time in American Queen Voyages’ history, the cruise line offers free round-trip air from select gateways for guests booking their entire voyage from either San Diego to Puerto Vallarta or Puerto Vallarta to San Jose, Costa Rica. These new itineraries offer 15-, eight- and nine-day voyages to these destinations beginning Oct. 3.