FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Mondrian South Beach Hotel Review

by Bill Lodzinski

Aug 17, 2020

PHOTO: © MONDRIAN SOUTH BEACH HOTEL

August 2020

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: We arrived about the time everyone else was checking in. I thought it would be chaotic, but it didn’t feel that way nor did it feel congested. I credit the large unloading area and the quickness of the valet staff. The Mondrian Hotel is an upscale hotel located in the heart of South Beach and the Miami Beach area, with an entrance on newly fashionable West Avenue, just off the hustle and bustle of Alton Avenue and a few blocks from famous Collins Avenue. Mondrian sits just minutes from the center of South Beach, downtown Miami, Miami Design District, Wynwood Arts District, Venetian Causeway, Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive and Espanola Way. Set on the stunning waterfront of Biscayne Bay, the hotel offers a tropical oasis in a cosmopolitan setting. In the soaring lobby, floor-to-ceiling windows provide spectacular views of the bay while the eye is drawn to the signature “floating” staircase. The front desk staff extended the same warm welcome we received when we drove in.

GUEST QUARTERS: My suite near the top floor gave me a spectacular view of Miami Beach and the Atlantic Ocean in the distance. Dutch designer Marcel Wanders used a whimsical and visionary style for the hotel, paying homage to Sleeping Beauty’s castle. The room had a contemporary feel with a mix of modern furnishings and period pieces. The color palette, the décor and furnishings definitely pulled off the designer’s vision. As I entered, I walked into a spacious dining area in a full kitchenette with a well-stocked refrigerator and a small stove top. The bathroom suite to my left held a beautiful vanity with more than enough space for two people and a gorgeous, roomy standup shower stall. The suite opened up with a super-comfortable king-sized bed with built-in reading lights and nightstands on either side. A large sofa and well-appointed desk gave the suite a nice sense of home. A large window spanning the entire width of the room provided a wonderful view of South Beach.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: Soak up the sun at the legendary pool while people-watching or enjoying the unbeatable views. One can also relax at the signature GuyandGirl Spa or get a great workout at the world-class gym. Make a point to have breakfast alfresco at the on-site Mondrian Caffé, located poolside with amazing views of Biscayne Bay.

Other hotel amenities include water sports rental on Biscayne Bay such as jet skis, boats, kayaks and paddle boards. Private yacht charters are available through the concierge. Additionally, an Audi Silvercar is available for daily rentals. And if you’re looking for an exclusive meeting or event venue complete with on-site catering, Mondrian South Beach offers unique spaces with breathtaking views to accommodate your group.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

The Mondrian South Beach is currently undergoing a property-wide renovation and will begin accepting reservations again Oct. 1.

Make a point to sip a cocktail poolside as you watch the sunset over Biscayne Bay and later enjoy the evening skyline of Miami.

The hotel lies nine miles from Miami International Airport and close to the Port of Miami, Miami Beach Convention Center and downtown Miami.

All main elevators are handicapped accessible, the pool has accessible access, the guestrooms feature accessible showers, portable ramps can provide access from guestrooms to balconies, and strobes and speakers are ADA compliant.

MONDRIAN SOUTH BEACH HOTEL
1100 West Ave.
Miami Beach, FL 33139
tel 305 514 1500
morganshotelgroup.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Explore Excursions

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jun 21, 2024

New Beds and Restaurants in Boise, Idaho

There’s lots going on in Boise, including an impressive selection of new hotels. Stays at The Sparrow will immediately immerse you in a sense of place, thanks to engaging, infographic- style artwork in each of the 67 guestrooms. You’ll find a local coffeehouse in the lobby, a food truck on the outdoor patio overlooking Grove Street, and an outdoor fireplace inviting guests to linger and mingle. Authentic, local experiences include the Brewery of the Month program.

Hotel Indigo: The World’s Neighborhood Hotel

Part of the IHG Luxury & Lifestyle portfolio, Hotel Indigo is the world’s neighborhood hotel that celebrates how guests can discover, or rediscover, some of the most inspiring and culturally rich neighborhoods around the world. When staying at a Hotel Indigo hotel, it's not just about visiting a place — it's about being fully immersed in the neighborhood and wanting to take a little bit of it home. When traveling for business, Hotel Indigo offers a unique experience tailored to each location, making it the perfect choice to stay while traveling for work. With IHG Business Edge, travel managers have exclusive access to enticing perks, comprehensive travel metrics and carefully curated educational resources. It also includes a guaranteed discount on both business and personal travel for managers and employees, alongside an automatic upgrade to IHG One Rewards Silver Elite status after the initial IHG Business Edge stay.

June 2024
Jun 21, 2024

Saudi Arabia Fosters Sustainable, Regenerative Tourism Along the Red Sea

 My first experience of Saudi Arabia's Red Sea coast now seems like ancient history. It was 1995, and I was visiting my ornithologist cousin and is wife. Getting into the kingdom wasn't easy; I needed sponsorship letters. and a pre-trip interview at the Saudi Arabian Embassy. When I arrived in the country, there was no tourist infrastructure. We toured by SUV ad often slept under the stars. Thus, one morning, we woke up on roll-out mattresses on a Red Sea beach 200 miles from Jeddah.

Daily
Jun 21, 2024

2 New Concept Bars Opening This Fall in Texas and New York

Add New York City and Austin to your list of bar-hopping cities with the highly-anticipated debuts of Brass Poppy and Bar Sprezzatura.

IHG Hotels & Resorts: Elevating the Guest Experience & Expanding Globally

With a robust portfolio of brands catering to diverse traveler preferences, IHG has been on a strategic trajectory to conquer key markets worldwide. The IHG footprint continues to grow, offering unparalleled experiences to guests around the globe.

Daily
Jun 21, 2024

Virgin Hotels to Open First London Hotel in August

On Aug. 1, Virgin Hotels debuts its first London property. Set to open in the heart of Shoreditch, this hotel will mark the brand’s eighth Virgin Hotels location worldwide and the 17th property for the wider Virgin Hotels Collection.

Daily
Jun 19, 2024

Sofitel New York Embarks on Comprehensive Renovation

Sofitel New York recently announced a comprehensive refurbishment project, timed to the Sofitel brand’s 60th anniversary this year. The Manhattan property’s renovation, set to start in late 2024, will reach all facets of the hotel, including the 398 guestrooms and suites, lobby, meeting spaces, elevators, and corridors. Completion of the public areas is anticipated by fall 2025.

Reconnecting the World: GBTA Convention 2023 Spotlights the Vital Role of Business Travel and In-Person Connection

In an increasingly digital and interconnected world, the Global Business Travel Association (GBTA) Convention remains an indispensable platform for business travel industry professionals seeking to make the most of the power of face-to-face connections. Taking place August 13–15 in Dallas, the 2023 GBTA Convention provides the unique opportunity for professionals and companies to join visionaries, thought leaders and industry experts for meaningful networking, cutting-edge insights and inspiring innovation.

eFlyer Reviews
Jun 18, 2024

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Atlantic City Review

My husband and I recently enjoyed an overnight getaway at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Atlantic City. The resort is a one-stop shop for an entertaining escape. We packed a lot into our one-night stay, and it left us looking forward to a return visit.