FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh Review

by Haley Fogarty

Aug 11, 2021

PHOTO: © KIMPTON HOTEL MONACO

August 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: We reached Kimpton Hotel Monaco after a long, 4.5-hour drive to Pittsburgh, arriving just after 10 p.m. The front desk attendant greeted us by name and welcomed us from behind a plastic divider for COVID purposes. My first impression of the lobby was magnificent. The eclectic décor and modern ambience were undeniable throughout and one of my favorite aspects of the property. The front desk agent made my second impression potentially even better, which continued throughout my stay with the personalization and attentiveness of all staff members. Shortly after check-in, I received a text from the front desk agent welcoming me and offering this text service as a way to ask questions, request amenities and so on.

GUEST QUARTERS: Our corner queen room awaited us at the end of a long hallway alight with floral décor and bright blue doors. Large windows took over the walls and provided a great view of downtown Pittsburgh, while thick, houndstooth- patterned curtains offered privacy and screening from the lights of the city.

A pop of green color in the plush headboards tied in the diverse décor of the entire hotel. A vintage-looking armoire held the television and mini-fridge, with a matching, shared night table between the beds. (However, I would have preferred more outlet access from the beds, as the one built into the night table was out of use.) The bathroom followed suit with yellow hounds- tooth wallpaper wrapping the walls around a fairly large standing shower and single sink.

The overall layout and spirit of the hotel and room made us feel as though we were in a chic downtown New York City hotel. Guests must be open-minded to the décor to recognize the unique and particular energy, which I adored.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: Both front desk agents I communicated with highly recommended The Commoner, the full-service restaurant on site. They suggested I make a reservation as capacity was decreased due to the pandemic, which I did with ease. The brunch menu offered many selections, such as quiche, French toast and pork belly with eggs — of which I enjoyed and finished every bite. Normally the restaurant features a Bloody Mary bar, but for sanitary reasons I was only able to order one from the menu.

I received another text from the front desk agent through the hotel’s service, wishing me a good morning and asking if I needed linens or towels. I appreciated this option, a clear priority to reduce wash cycles and waste. The showers also featured large, multiuse containers secured to the walls instead of single-use bottles that waste product and plastic.

Other amenities include meeting space and ballrooms as well as a common living area with wine service and an on-site gym featuring a Peloton bicycle. The location of the Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Pittsburgh is ideal for anyone visiting the city. With access to downtown, the Strip District, Shady Side and the University of Pittsburgh’s campus, this modern hotel provides a wonderful option for your stay.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

  • All guests have access to complimentary valet service most of the day until 11 p.m.
  • Easy communication with hotel staff members through text services
  • Rooftop Biergarten is stocked with outdoor games and activities as well as a menu of European beer and German-influenced bites.

KIMPTON HOTEL MONACO PITTSBURGH
620 William Penn Place Pittsburgh, PA 15219
tel 412 471 1170
monaco-pittsburgh.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Explore Excursions

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jun 14, 2024

Former 1940s-Era Italian Bank Transformed Into Rome EDITION Hotel

It is hard to resist the pleasures of Rome, a city filled with world-renowned paintings; sculptures; thousands of colorful cafés; and hundreds of ancient buildings still standing and often used as offices, homes and museums. Certainly, Rome is the cradle from which all that is best about Italy emerged. It is difficult to open a new hotel in Rome without connecting it to the city’s history, art and culinary tradition. When Rome EDITION opened last year, it was the perfect fit for a city that lives and breathes all things extraordinary.

Fill Your Heart with Ireland

Whether it's the people, the craic (fun) or the coasts, travelers always find something to love about the island of Ireland. What fills your heart?

June 2024
Jun 14, 2024

Loyalty Programs Revamp to Meet Changing Customer Preferences

Airlines and hotels consistently tweak loyalty programs to draw brand engagement based on shifting consumer habits, and the demands of younger generations make an impact. According to Chris Galloway, executive vice president, Strategy & Design, for brand loyalty experts Brandmovers, millennials are more active and engaged in loyalty programs than any other generation to date, and as Gen Z gains in buying/spending power, they also accelerate in their desire for loyalty and rewards programs.

Daily
Jun 14, 2024

Luxury Italian Farmhouse Launches 3 Seasonal, Hands-On Culinary Experiences

This summer, guests staying at Casetta Firenze, a luxury farmhouse in the Chianti region of Tuscany, can book three culinary workshops led by experts in the art of pasta making, traditional Tuscan dishes and vegetarian cuisine. Each workshop offers a multicourse meal, local produce and complementary wine.

Share Your Travel Preferences with Global Traveler in a Short Survey & Win

Learning more about our readers’ travel habits and preferences ensures Global Traveler delivers the content you desire. As the travel industry has adapted and changed over the last few years, it’s more important than ever to connect. To best meet your short- and long-term travel content needs, please help us!

Daily
Jun 14, 2024

Top U.S. States for Golfers

Relocation experts at My Baggage recently conducted a study to determine the top U.S. states for golfers by analyzing the distribution of golf courses, driving ranges, tournaments and golf coaches per 100,000 residents in every state, along with the number of platinum clubs. From there, each location was assigned a score and ranked accordingly.

Daily
Jun 12, 2024

Langham Hospitality Group Opens Cordis-Branded Hotel in Foshan, China

Langham Hospitality Group opened a new hotel under its upscale Cordis Hotels & Resorts brand, situated in the southern Chinese city of Foshan, a key urban center in the country’s Greater Bay Area. The Cordis, Foshan and Lingnan Tiandi Hotel is becoming a promising destination for both tourists and business travelers thanks to its planned upgrades and prime location in Lingnan Tiandi.

Reconnecting the World: GBTA Convention 2023 Spotlights the Vital Role of Business Travel and In-Person Connection

In an increasingly digital and interconnected world, the Global Business Travel Association (GBTA) Convention remains an indispensable platform for business travel industry professionals seeking to make the most of the power of face-to-face connections. Taking place August 13–15 in Dallas, the 2023 GBTA Convention provides the unique opportunity for professionals and companies to join visionaries, thought leaders and industry experts for meaningful networking, cutting-edge insights and inspiring innovation.

eFlyer Reviews
Jun 12, 2024

Hôtel des Grands Voyageurs Review

It’s often declared Paris’ Left Bank, or La Rive Gauche, the local side of the Seine —  where bohemian and chic are used superfluously, albeit with some veracity. It only makes sense that travelers looking to stay on the Left Bank would seek as local an accommodation as possible — Hôtel des Grands Voyageurs is the new kid on the block and certainly delivers this with its design following the likes of a Parisian art collectors’ residence.