FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Halekulani Review

by Francis X. Gallagher

Apr 27, 2020

© HALEKULANI

April 2020

Arrival/Check-In: After a great non-stop flight from Newark to Honolulu on United Airlines first class, we swiftly said hello to a friend at baggage claim who was on the same flight and then took a taxi to the Halekulani. At the entrance, its team was ready, willing and able to help take our bags and swiftly set us up for registration, escorting us to our room, No. 1657. I last stayed at the Halekulani years earlier, and I have a lot of fond memories, including the marriage reception for Jim and Aileen Ferguson, and my son Nate who was about 4 years old participating in the Easter egg hunt and winning every event — we had to take four Easter baskets on our flight to Kauai the next day, but they all fit in the overhead.

The Halekulani is a mainstay on the edge of Waikiki, and I have always considered it a haven from all the bustle. You can walk almost anywhere and return for the serenity here.

Guest Quarters: We crossed the grassy lawn to our wing of the property, where the elevator stood next to the famed restaurant Orchids.

Our room had a nice view of Diamond Head and a comfortable lanai to sit and take in the view. As we entered the room, a king-sized bed sat to the right, just past the bathroom. A small desk area to the right of the sliding glass doors came in handy as my command center. A flat-screen TV on a credenza along the left wall, along with a chair, made good use of space. I would have preferred a larger TV, but we really spent little time in the room.

The bathroom seemed a little small by today’s standards but in good shape and complete with a separate shower and tub and a separate room for the commode. Halekulani-branded bath products completed the amenities in the bathroom.

Services/Amenities: You cannot beat the service at the Halekulani, and the staff at the House Without a Key restaurant are dedicated to their guests. Breakfast is served daily in this beautiful and comforting place to start your day. We also enjoyed superb cocktails and appetizers: a cold Sauvignon Blanc and boneless short rib, coconut shrimp and seared fish tacos. It was a treat to spend time listening to traditional Hawai’ian singing and watching graceful hula dancing — the Halekulani has the best!

We also frequented Lewers Lounge after spending the night out in Honolulu. The clubby atmosphere and crafted cocktails are often accompanied by entertainment. One night we enjoyed a great jazz trio at the end of our evening.

During the day we spent time at the pool and the small beach at the edge of the property. The water at Waikiki is warm and the sand soft, some of the best in the world, and this little beach has few swimmers. In the evening we alternately went to the Japanese Restaurant Suntory for sushi (reservation made by the Halekulani concierge) and Tim Ho Wan for dim sum. Both were spectacular. Walking Kalakaua Avenue, we stopped at Na Hoku jewelry store, where we made some new friends and picked up some presents.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

◆ Halekulani offers a haven in the center of all the action.

◆ Always the best hula!

HALEKULANI

2199 Kalia Road
Honolulu, HI 96815
tel 808 923 2311
halekulani.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Oct 22, 2021

Winter Escape at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla

The Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla is opening its acclaimed doors Oct. 22 to celebrate its fifth and most exciting season. The resort will introduce new programming including culinary, fitness and music.

Greece: Destination Culture

History and culture are etched into every corner of Greece. Beginning with its language, the oldest written language still in existence, and moving from the traces of passing civilizations and religions to pre-historic findings and works from many movements, there’s a wealth of culture to discover on your next trip to Greece.

Cruising
Oct 21, 2021

Seabourn Names Second Ultra-Luxury Expedition Ship

Seabourn recently announced the name of its second new ultra-luxury purpose-built expedition ship: Seabourn Pursuit. The name reflects the passion of expedition travelers to seek out and explore natural wonders and destinations through activities around the globe.

eFlyer Reviews
Oct 20, 2021

The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago Review

Though the Chicago area has been my home for decades, the view from the Water Tower Suite on the 26th floor of The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago made me gasp. I had admired Chicago’s dramatic skyline many times, but never from this angle. Through expansive windows, the skyscrapers of 900 N. Michigan Ave. and the John Hancock Center, now named 875 North Michigan Avenue, rose to my right. Far below, the landmark Chicago Water Tower nestled in a ring of trees. One of the few survivors of the Great Chicago Fire, a turning point in the city’s history being remembered on its 150th anniversary in 2021, the Gothic Revival relic resembled a fairy-tale castle in a children’s playset.

Register Today for the Most Important Gathering of Business Travel Professionals

The Global Business Travel Association’s (GBTA) Convention 2021 will be unlike any other convention before it, as we come together in person for the first time since the business travel industry drastically changed and look forward to rebuilding and reshaping the future. GBTA Convention 2021 will bring all of us together to learn from experts and each other, in-person at Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida, Nov. 17–19. The safety of our attendees is our top priority. View health and safety protocols.

eFlyer News
Oct 20, 2021

President Biden Signs 9/11 Trail Designation

President Biden signed H.R. 2278, bipartisan legislation to designate a September 11th National Memorial Trail. The trail route will link the National September 11th Memorial and Museum in New York; the Pentagon Memorial in Arlington, Virginia; and the Flight 93 National Memorial in Somerset County, Pennsylvania.

Events
Oct 20, 2021

Fever App Presents: Dining in the Dark Review

In April 2021, I was skimming Facebook when an ad for a blind-folded dining experience popped up on my newsfeed. The event was hosted through a company called Fever that offers fun, interactive events in major cities and virtually for people to enjoy. Intrigued, I clicked the link to learn more. The description made the event sound exciting and mysterious. When I give someone a present for their birthday, the holidays or a wedding, I like to give the gift of an experience that the recipient can learn something from. My boyfriend’s 30th birthday was in June, when the event was to be hosted, so I thought this would be a great surprise for him.

Experiencing GBTA Convention 2021
Safely and Responsibly

GBTA’s Convention 2021 will bring the business travel industry together for the first time in a long time. Once again, you’ll learn and connect with experts and each other, along with discussions with leading thinkers, entrepreneurs and change makers addressing the issues that matter most.

Daily
Oct 19, 2021

6 Reasons to Put Austin, Texas, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Austin, Texas, with us.