FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Beresheet Hotel

by Francis X. Gallagher

Jul 1, 2016

© FRANCIS X. GALLAGHER

July 2016

Arrival/Check-In: After spending the day in Petra, Jordan, we followed an ancient spice route through the Negev Desert and crossed the border into Israel. We made our way to the Beresheet Hotel, which sits 2,625 feet above sea level on top of the Ramon Crater. Unlike impact craters, Ramon was formed by water erosion. The sprawling complex is completely made of native stone.

Check-in was swift, but we had to arrange a few details. We wanted to make sure we had dinner reservations, as it was Shabbat, and we also needed to confirm our excursion to the Ramon Crater the following morning. After a little confusion, we secured an experienced ranger and a Polaris RZR 4×4 for the crater ride.

The friendly bellman escorted us (and lots of luggage) to our room in a golf cart. A fleet of these carts scurries about transporting guests from their rooms to the main building.

Guest Quarters: We were in Room Four, which was a pleasant boardwalk away from the main building. The room offered a crater view and an outside patio with a small plunge pool. Desert evenings can become cool, and the property suggests you have a jacket, even in the summer. Our suite included all the amenities one requires when traveling, including a Nespresso coffeemaker, storage for clothing and a small, built-in desk. (With so much relaxation available at the property, who needs a desk?) After passing through the hallway/entrance, we entered the bedroom with a king-sized bed and a small sitting area near the sliding doors to the patio. The design was uniquely Israeli contemporary. Toiletries included the hotel-branded Desert Essence shampoo, shower gel and other accoutrements all displayed nicely on the sink vanity.

Services/Amenities: Although we were warned we were checking in during Shabbat, we saw little effect. The Rosemary Restaurant was wonderful, and I could hardly tell anything was different due to the Sabbath. A large dinner buffet offered many stations (we were told the staff could not cook, just warm things). It was a wonderful experience all around, and we enjoyed a post-dinner drink in the Lobby Lounge listening to live music. Make sure you visit the overhanging balcony off the Lobby Lounge at sunset for a great introduction to the property.

Breakfast was equally enjoyable with breathtaking views of the crater, the resort pool and the extended wing of the property. Activities abound from hiking to cycling and horseback riding through the crater and exploring the geological phenomenon. Our 4×4 ride through the crater was fantastic! The ranger raced the Polaris RZR through the trails for a thrilling and educational morning. We often stopped to discuss the crater, its creation and the animals that inhabit the site. We paused for coffee at one of the higher peaks, where our ranger told us his background and experiences. As we were driving, an ibex darted onto the road in front of our vehicle. I had just commented about the possibility of an animal strike, which the ranger said, “was not possible.” It was a fabulous tour and adventure — truly a high point of our stay.

The Experience: The Beresheet Hotel provides a breathtaking view, amazing architecture and a truly unique experience.

Beresheet Hotel

Derech Beresheet 1
Mitzpe Ramon, 80600
Israel
tel 972 8 6387797
isrotelexclusivecollection.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Oct 22, 2021

Winter Escape at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla

The Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla is opening its acclaimed doors Oct. 22 to celebrate its fifth and most exciting season. The resort will introduce new programming including culinary, fitness and music.

Greece: Destination Luxury

Since its prestige for attracting the world elite grew in the 1960s, Greece remains the go-to destination for glittering holidays. Each step of the journey is enrobed in luxury, from culinary traditions with the highest standard of execution and name-brand, high-end shopping to first-rate wellness locales and elite accommodations, like 5-star hotels, private villas and yachts.

Cruising
Oct 21, 2021

Seabourn Names Second Ultra-Luxury Expedition Ship

Seabourn recently announced the name of its second new ultra-luxury purpose-built expedition ship: Seabourn Pursuit. The name reflects the passion of expedition travelers to seek out and explore natural wonders and destinations through activities around the globe.

eFlyer Reviews
Oct 20, 2021

The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago Review

Though the Chicago area has been my home for decades, the view from the Water Tower Suite on the 26th floor of The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago made me gasp. I had admired Chicago’s dramatic skyline many times, but never from this angle. Through expansive windows, the skyscrapers of 900 N. Michigan Ave. and the John Hancock Center, now named 875 North Michigan Avenue, rose to my right. Far below, the landmark Chicago Water Tower nestled in a ring of trees. One of the few survivors of the Great Chicago Fire, a turning point in the city’s history being remembered on its 150th anniversary in 2021, the Gothic Revival relic resembled a fairy-tale castle in a children’s playset.

‘Tis the Season for a Luxurious Retreat

This holiday season, escape to the Caribbean with Celebrity Cruises and reconnect with family and friends in luxurious accommodations that make you feel right at home. Savor globally inspired cuisine designed by our Michelin-starred chef, paired with the most awarded wine collection at sea. Elevate “me time” with a soothing spa treatment sure to renew. With both long and short cruises to celebrate in December, and even three special Ultimate Holiday Cruises that sail over Christmas and into the New Year, the time to gift an experience and create unforgettable memories is now. Celebrity Cruises’ Always IncludedSM pricing — drinks, WiFi and tips — ensures a seamless, carefree vacation with the ones you love.

eFlyer News
Oct 20, 2021

President Biden Signs 9/11 Trail Designation

President Biden signed H.R. 2278, bipartisan legislation to designate a September 11th National Memorial Trail. The trail route will link the National September 11th Memorial and Museum in New York; the Pentagon Memorial in Arlington, Virginia; and the Flight 93 National Memorial in Somerset County, Pennsylvania.

Events
Oct 20, 2021

Fever App Presents: Dining in the Dark Review

In April 2021, I was skimming Facebook when an ad for a blind-folded dining experience popped up on my newsfeed. The event was hosted through a company called Fever that offers fun, interactive events in major cities and virtually for people to enjoy. Intrigued, I clicked the link to learn more. The description made the event sound exciting and mysterious. When I give someone a present for their birthday, the holidays or a wedding, I like to give the gift of an experience that the recipient can learn something from. My boyfriend’s 30th birthday was in June, when the event was to be hosted, so I thought this would be a great surprise for him.

Experiencing GBTA Convention 2021
Safely and Responsibly

GBTA’s Convention 2021 will bring the business travel industry together for the first time in a long time. Once again, you’ll learn and connect with experts and each other, along with discussions with leading thinkers, entrepreneurs and change makers addressing the issues that matter most.

Daily
Oct 19, 2021

6 Reasons to Put Austin, Texas, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Austin, Texas, with us.