FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.
Air Canada

United Airlines — First Class Review

by Francis X. Gallagher

Sep 23, 2020

PHOTO: © FRANCIS X. GALLAGHER

September 2020

ON THE GROUND: We took a car service from my home in Bucks County, Pennsylvania, to Newark (about 50 minutes) as we would be gone for more than 10 days and could save on the parking. We probably had more luggage than necessary and both checked a bag. Check-in was swift, as was security, and we had time to stop by the United Club using our United Mileage-Plus Club Card from Chase for entry. We tried to sneak into Polaris, but it is limited to international business-class travelers; even though this is a long flight, it is still domestic.

Boarding was organized and the plane was filled to capacity. Everyone was excited to go to Honolulu, and as this was my annual birthday trip, I could not have been more thrilled.

PRE-FLIGHT: Remember this service is domestic first class (many of my industry friends insisted it would be Polaris, United’s relatively new business class), but it is a unique first-class service with a nearly fully flat bed. Attendants distributed Champagne and reading material, and I checked out the entertainment system, which seemed to offer a lot of options. Overhead space was plentiful, and I found room to place my briefcase under the seat in front of me even when the seat was fully deployed.

IN-FLIGHT: The entertainment proved plentiful, and I was proud to see United touting its win as Best Frequent-Flyer Program in the GT Tested Reader Survey awards. (United won this award for 16 consecutive years and is going for the 17th! Read though this issue and you will find the awards voting ballot for this year.)

I watched a few movies and enjoyed a documentary about the Apollo 11 space flight. Astronaut Doctor (he likes to be called that) Buzz Aldrin has attended many of our events over the years and has been supportive of our charitable endeavors.

The only improvement I’d recommend for this flight is more robust dining offerings. We had a small sandwich and various accoutrements, and the water was only poured from a large bottle to a glass — I specifically asked for a bottle of water but the flight attendant said they only had large ones for pouring, and he did not understand why they did not offer bottles in first class. Nonetheless, we had plenty of snacks such as bananas, crackers, cookies and other treats.

I made full use of the United WiFi during the flight and also took a little cat-nap. It is a long flight, and we were hitting the ground running with meetings and tours in Honolulu, so this was essential.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

You cannot beat the non-stop service — better than transiting through the West Coast.

At the time, Southwest was flying to Hawai’i, and its service was a far cry from United’s first class.

Flight attendants were friendly and on their game.

UNITED AIRLINES
united.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Oct 28, 2020

Combat Election Day Stress with Favorite Cocktails from Hotels & Resorts

Between COVID-19 and the upcoming election, are your nerves shaken and stirred? As we master the art of at-home mixology during the pandemic, try a few of these favorite fall cocktails from different hotel and resort bars to fend off election jitters, pandemic frayed nerves and virtual learning stresses.

What To Expect When Flying: oneworld Debuts Information Portal

Though air travel slowed as airports temporarily closed and borders shuttered to stifle the spread of coronavirus, the airline industry — led by oneworld alliance member airlines — enacted enhanced protective measures to reduce risk and protect passengers.

Daily
Oct 27, 2020

6 Reasons to Say #WelcomeBacktoTravel in Charleston, South Carolina

As more destinations around the globe reopen to travelers, we are ready to get back to one of our favorite activities. Join us over the next several weeks as we take you to places around the world saying #WelcomeBacktoTravel. Take a visual journey through Charleston, South Carolina, with us.

Daily
Oct 27, 2020

Velas Resorts Offers Corporate Buyouts

Velas Resorts’ new Group Takeover Program offers a spin on the classic working vacation. With so many industries going fully remote and leaving the office for good, companies can now take advantage of the flexibility with offers like Velas Resorts Group Takeover Program, guaranteeing exclusive, private use of the hotel for corporate functions, meetings and group events.

Five Things You Need to Know About Punta Cana’s New Finest Resort

Finding a beachfront Punta Cana all-inclusive resort for all ages can be daunting when you want to take home great memories with loved ones but also experience a sophisticated escape. Now, you can have both thanks to a new resort: Finest Punta Cana.

Daily
Oct 26, 2020

New Technology Enhances American Airlines Customer Experience

American Airlines is improving its website and app to make it easier for customers to access an electronic wallet, use mobile ID and talk to a virtual assistant in real time.

eFlyer News
Oct 21, 2020

Singapore Airlines Launches New York JFK–Singapore Flight

Singapore Airlines returns to New York City (JFK) Nov. 9 with its launch of non-stop flights between the Big Apple and Singapore (SIN). An Airbus A350-900 long-range aircraft will service the route, with 42 business-, 24 premium-economy and 187 economy-class seats. Currently, Singapore Airlines is operating non-stop flights to Los Angeles (LAX). The airline will continue to review its operations to the United States and assess demand before reinstating more U.S. flights.

Adventure Redefined: Volvo Overseas Delivery Program

Are you looking for a truly unique travel experience and considering a new vehicle? The Volvo Overseas Delivery Program is the perfect solution to create your own refined adventure of a lifetime. You can custom order your new Volvo, tailored to fit your needs and desires. They will fly you to Sweden to pick up your Volvo so you can drive and explore Scandinavia and Europe on your terms for up to two weeks.

eFlyer Deals
Oct 21, 2020

Work, Learn, Play & Unwind at Ojai Valley Inn

Ojai Valley Inn in Southern California has two offers for families, couples and friends, allowing them to revitalize their weekly routines.