FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

The Peninsula Chicago Review

by Haley Fogarty

Sep 17, 2021

PHOTO: © THE PENINSULA CHICAGO

September 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: An interesting morning of air travel was followed by a stress-free greeting at The Peninsula Chicago. Upon arrival I stepped out of my Uber and onto the sidewalk of the hotel to be greeted by a doorman in a beautiful all-white uniform who asked my name in order to alert the front desk of my arrival. Once I made my way through the doors and up to the lobby, a front desk agent acknowledged me by name and assured me check-in was not necessary and that she would take care of it later. She actually walked me all the way to my room on the 17th floor and showed me around the suite. This would be unnecessary if the suite wasn’t so high-tech. I appreciated it after realizing how detail-oriented each guestroom was. A hands-free check-in experience is something I can get used to.

GUEST QUARTERS: The Grand Premier King room was where I would rest my head for the one night I was in town. A cloud of a king bed sat in the naturally lit room adjacent to a beautiful couch; a work station equipped with an array of outlets and a printer; and a table holding a hand-written letter from The Peninsula staff, two waters, a fruit basket and a jar of nuts. The room was operated by a tablet system that controlled the lights, temperature, TV and pretty much anything else you could imagine. This system allowed me to request pillows, room service or any other needs I had during my 24 hours in town. One of my favorite aspects was the “dressing room” with lighting options; it led into the beautiful bathroom with its mix of classic and modern décor — complete with a TV and a spa-sized tub where I would wind down after a day of meetings.

SERVICES/ AMENITIES: While I didn’t have time to book myself a spa treatment, I could not resist peeking in to see what all of the excitement was about online; and let me tell you, excitement was an understatement. On the top floor of The Peninsula, I took it upon myself to walk around the half-Olympic-sized indoor pool, spa quarters and women’s locker room.

The service was wonderful. Since returning to Pennsylvania, I have certainly missed being greeted as Ms. Fogarty every time I entered or exited the property. The turndown service was most notable, as I returned from my dinner reservation to calming music, dimmed lighting and a water bottle next to my bed — also something I’ve missed!

One thing I will say is no matter how often I tried to express my gratitude toward the attentive staff, they appreciated my gesture. But what makes The Peninsula Chicago so outstanding is the fact they do not expect thanks. The 5-star service is such a standard, and I never once felt like the employees were anything less than thrilled to provide such an experience.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

The rooftop bar, ZBar, and restaurant Shanghai Terrace were delicious!

Great location on Michigan Avenue

My experience was completely personalized, and the staff was wonderful!

THE PENINSULA CHICAGO
108 E. Superior St. Chicago, IL 60611
tel 312 337 2888
peninsula.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Cruising
Oct 15, 2021

Galataport Istanbul Welcomes First Ship

Galataport Istanbul, a new cruise and lifestyle destination on the Bosphorus in Istanbul, welcomed its first ship, SeaDream II, on Oct. 1. Approximately 150 passengers and crew from Bulgaria Varna arrived at 10 a.m. for a two-day homeport operation before continuing to Bulgaria Burgaz.

Greece: Destination Luxury

Since its prestige for attracting the world elite grew in the 1960s, Greece remains the go-to destination for glittering holidays. Each step of the journey is enrobed in luxury, from culinary traditions with the highest standard of execution and name-brand, high-end shopping to first-rate wellness locales and elite accommodations, like 5-star hotels, private villas and yachts.

Events
Oct 14, 2021

Celebrate Halloween at a Medical Labyrinth

The countdown to Halloween weekend is on! Are you are still unsure about plans? Do you go to a house party? Stay in to hand out candy? Try something different this year and join Philadelphia’s  The Mütter Museum at its 6th annual Mischief at The Mütter.

eFlyer Reviews
Oct 13, 2021

Jackson’s Bar & Oven Review

There’s an aspirational rustic chic/farm-to-table restaurant genre often associated with Northern California’s wine country. When you drive down the main street of Napa, Sonoma or any of the other towns, it appears there are as many of them as there are vineyards. And there’s absolutely nothing wrong with this genre, as the quality of the food is consistent and ambitious chefs earnestly endeavor to elevate home-style dishes to a higher standard.

Greece: Destination Culture

History and culture are etched into every corner of Greece. Beginning with its language, the oldest written language still in existence, and moving from the traces of passing civilizations and religions to pre-historic findings and works from many movements, there’s a wealth of culture to discover on your next trip to Greece.

eFlyer News
Oct 13, 2021

The InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Collaborates with Porsche

The InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco announced a new amenity for guests in collaboration with Porsche. Porsche electric vehicle charging stations will now be located in the valet area of the hotel’s parking deck, allowing guests and visitors to top off the batteries of electric vehicles while enjoying a cocktail at Top of the Mark, enjoying farm-to-table fare at Nob Hill Club or staying overnight at the property.

Daily
Oct 13, 2021

Grenada Fall and Winter Specials

Head to the Caribbean to escape the cold fall and winter weather. Grenada hotels offer travelers numerous deals, perfect for a fall, winter or holiday getaway.

‘Tis the Season for a Luxurious Retreat

This holiday season, escape to the Caribbean with Celebrity Cruises and reconnect with family and friends in luxurious accommodations that make you feel right at home. Savor globally inspired cuisine designed by our Michelin-starred chef, paired with the most awarded wine collection at sea. Elevate “me time” with a soothing spa treatment sure to renew. With both long and short cruises to celebrate in December, and even three special Ultimate Holiday Cruises that sail over Christmas and into the New Year, the time to gift an experience and create unforgettable memories is now. Celebrity Cruises’ Always IncludedSM pricing — drinks, WiFi and tips — ensures a seamless, carefree vacation with the ones you love.

Daily
Oct 12, 2021

6 Reasons to Put Reykjavik, Iceland, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Reykjavik with us.