FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Four Seasons Resort Lanai Review

by Francis X. Gallagher

Mar 4, 2020

PHOTO: © FOUR SEASONS RESORT LANAI

March 2020

Arrival/Check-In: After an enjoyable couple of days in Oahu, we looked forward to our short flight to Lanai from Honolulu. Representatives of the hotel met us at Lanai’s small airport, collected our baggage and drove us, with other guests, to the resort. A former pineapple plantation, Lanai is a less-traveled island; in fact, I found no residents in Honolulu who had been to Lanai. Upon arrival we were greeted with juice and leis and checked in by Xavier, who quickly escorted us to our room, No. 7552. Instead of keys, guests receive wrist bands that can get wet and still remain active; they open your suite door. Larry Ellison, founder of Oracle, purchased nearly 98 percent of the island in 2012 for $300 million. As one of his first projects, he invested $75 million in Manele Bay Hotel and turned it into the Four Seasons Resort Lanai.

Guest Quarters: Getting to the room was a bit of a walk, which was fine as it took us past the bird cages whenever we went to dinner or the beach. I enjoyed listening to them copy my whistling … or was I copying them? In our suite, a hallway from the front door took a left turn to the massive bathroom and straight to the main bedroom just before a fully stocked minibar. The marble-tiled bathroom featured double sinks and a large tub plus an equally massive shower with a rain showerhead and an individual sprayer attachment. The Aloha ʻĀina bath amenities featured kukui nut oil from Alberta’s Farm. The bedroom held a Four Seasons-branded king-sized bed and a built-in mini desk where I set up my laptop and worked between activities. At the end of the room, floor-to-ceiling sliding glass doors opened to a lanai overlooking the gardens and the ocean below. On the opposing wall, a built-in closet offered lots of room and a safe plus a handy beach bag to take to the beach and pool. At the foot of the bed a sofa proved a convenient place to lay out clothing. Opposite the bed a large, flat-screen TV hung from the wall, but you won’t want to spend much time in the room with all the great activities at the resort.

Services/Amenities: Service, dining and activities were tops, and we did our best to hit all the highlights. Recent upgrades included the restaurants; we really enjoyed Nobu Lanai. Our upbeat and friendly server, Grace, displayed charm and humor while coming up with custom sushi and Japanese scotch to complement my birthday dinner. We had our first meal at Malibu Farm, one of the first restaurants Ellison brought in when he took over. Perched above Hulopo’e Bay with ocean views, the outside venue offers fresh, farm-to-table cuisine near the pool. One Forty, the main dining facility, takes its name from the island’s 140-square- mile area. The restaurant, which also serves breakfast, features American steaks and a Hawai’ian seafood dinner menu with an emphasis on local ingredients. Be sure to try the Lanai venison. (There are more deer than people on Lanai — watch out for the deer when traveling in the evening.) The Lobby Bar with its outside lanai offers sunset entertainment of traditional Hawai’ian songs and chanting, worth listening to before dinner.

PHOTO: © FOUR SEASONS RESORT LANAI

Of course, the golf is spectacular; I played a round on my birthday (read my review in the December 2019 issue). Last but not least, we took a tour of the island in a Jeep 4×4, completing the circumference and stopping at several key beaches and in Lanai City. The last stop, Lanai Cat Sanctuary, proved surprisingly interesting. This playground for cats keeps them under control and away from nesting birds. Most of Lanai’s birds are ground nesters, and the cats were decimating the population. The sanctuary feeds the cats well and ensures they receive medical care, all within enclosed boundaries.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

◆ Enjoy a fantastic golf experience — never overcrowded.

◆ Lovely beach with attendant offers great surf action; the waves can be huge.

◆ Be sure you make it to the Lanai City Bar & Grille, usually half full of hotel guests and locals. The hotel offers shuttles.

FOUR SEASONS RESORT LANAI
1 Manele Bay Road Lanai City, HI 96763
tel 808 565 2000
fourseasons.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jun 15, 2021

6 Reasons to Put Oslo, Norway, on Your Travel List

As the vaccine rolls out and travel begins to pick up, it’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Oslo with us.

SPIA 2021 Winners Crowned at Gala Ceremony at W Hotel, Palm Jumeirah

The Sports Industry Awards returned with a bang last night as 200 guests packed the W Hotel Great Ball Room for the gala ceremony.

Daily
Jun 15, 2021

JW Marriott, Anaheim Resort Stuns with Summer Candlelight Concert Experience

JW Marriott, Anaheim Resort welcomes summer with its Candelight Concert Experience, “Candelight Open Air: Mozart’s Best Works,” featuring the Metropolis Chamber Musicians. The dramatic musical event is held under the stars at the JW Garden, on the hotel’s second-floor rooftop, amid 1,000 flickering candles.

Daily
Jun 14, 2021

Vacation in the United Kingdom with a View

Imagine waking up to the smell of freshly brewed coffee, a light breeze dancing on your face, and views so beautiful you begin to think it is a simulation. The United Kingdom is teeming with unique accommodations that will please your eyes. Check out these stays with stunning views on your next U.K. adventure.

Sports Industry Awards returns to Dubai’s Palm Jumeirah for 8th Edition

The biggest names in the Middle East sporting community will gather for the Sports Industry Awards as the event returns for its eighth edition. SPIA recognizes the achievements of individuals, organizations, facilities and campaigns that contributed to the development of sport in the region.

Daily
Jun 11, 2021

AdventureWomen Announces Exclusive Zimbabwe Excursion

AdventureWomen, the travel company specializing in adventure tours for women, announced a partnership with African Wildlife Foundation. The organization supports the conservation of Africa’s wildlife through education, community development and sustainability projects. As part of the partnership, the two organizations will host a women’s safari to Zimbabwe in May 2022.

eFlyer Deals
Jun 9, 2021

Denver’s Hotel Born Welcomes Travelers with Boomers Back at It Offer

Kimpton Hotel Born in Denver celebrated the return of travel with its Boomers Back at It offer, perfect for Coloradans looking for a staycation and those from out of state looking to explore Denver further.

eFlyer Deals
Jun 9, 2021

It’s Time for Saint Lucia

Saint Lucia has eased on-island protocols for fully vaccinated travelers, including booking rental cars, dining and more. The island is also allowing travelers to take advantage of summer deals with the It’s Time for Saint Lucia offer.