FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.
IHG Business Edge Oct 2020 Leaderboard

Pharos at The Harrison Review

by Kimberly Krol Inlander

Nov 23, 2020

PHOTO: © PHAROS AT THE HARRISON

November 2020

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: After a revamped and reduced (but still perfect!) wedding and ceremony Aug. 15, my new husband and I decided to take a mini-moon to the Jersey shore. Like most of your 2020 travels, our honeymoon to South Africa has been indefinitely postponed, so we traded Cape Town for Cape May and made the best of it. As Cape May is known for its Victorian influences and bed and breakfasts, we wanted to try a B&B. After much research, we found the perfect blend of modernity and tradition at Pharos at The Harrison.

Part of a bed and breakfast collection that includes The Harrison, Casablanca and The Ashley Rose, Pharos sits next door to The Harrison, where check-in, breakfast and afternoon tea take place for guests of both. The other two lie just down the street.

We arrived just after check-in time and were given a brief tour and overview before we unloaded the car. Rather than keys, guests have codes for exterior doors and guestroom doors. There’s no on-site parking, but you can load and unload your car directly out front for a short time span. If you don’t mind a walk, I recommend the included parking in an off-site lot about 10 minutes away. Street parking is also available.

GUEST QUARTERS: You can select the exact room you’d like when booking. We chose The Presidential, which boasted a king- sized bed more comfortable than any hotel bed I’ve slept in. I also loved the décor and design of the room.

Our room also featured a spacious bathroom; I appreciated the configuration of the room, as the bathroom sat three steps down from the guestroom. A large stall shower and claw-foot tub finished the bathroom space. As we brought our own beach chairs and a cooler, we appreciated the extra space in the room.

Due to the current situation, room cleaning was by request, but fresh towels were delivered daily, along with toilet paper and toiletries, in a bag left outside the door.

Be advised: There are no elevators, so before selecting a room, check to see its location. Our room was on the third floor, which wasn’t an issue for us but might be for people with mobility limitations.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: Pharos at The Harrison serves guests 16 and older, perfect for our mini-moon or guests seeking a quieter, more adult experience.

Breakfast is selected in advance with two options available each day — one egg dish and one sweeter option. Afternoon tea is also available each afternoon. The food was superb. We were actually excited to view the breakfast menu and decide what we wanted each day. Service was easy each morning, with two seatings offered based on your floor to promote social distancing.

Some of the amenities for guests aside from breakfast and afternoon tea include beach chairs, bikes and a stocked refrigerator with soft drinks, water and ice. A small coffee station with sweet bites in the afternoon was on offer in the common lounge of Pharos, and you enter Pharos through an unmanned gift shop display boasting beautiful décor and other items.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

The staff is wonderful, including the gregarious and friendly owners.

Make sure to sample the delicious, homemade cookies and treats served at afternoon tea. Each was individually wrapped, so we grabbed a few each day to enjoy later.

The location can’t be beat — just a block to the beach and a few blocks from Washington Street Mall and excellent shops and restaurants.

We were thrilled with our selection and would happily stay there again and/or try the other properties. Pharos at The Harrison also offered us a sense of cleanliness and safety, much appreciated during these times.

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jan 22, 2021

Getting Cozy in the Catskills

The Urban Cowboy hospitality brand is no stranger to making city-adjacent stays feel a little more country. The newest addition to its roster, The Chalet, goes a rustic-chic step further at The Urban Cowboy in the Catskills, New York.

Adventure Redefined: Volvo Overseas Delivery Program

Are you looking for a truly unique travel experience and considering a new vehicle? The Volvo Overseas Delivery Program is the perfect solution to create your own refined adventure of a lifetime. You can custom order your new Volvo, tailored to fit your needs and desires. They will fly you to Sweden to pick up your Volvo so you can drive and explore Scandinavia and Europe on your terms for up to two weeks.

Daily
Jan 21, 2021

8 Reasons to Put Poland on Your Travel List

As the vaccine rolls out and travel begins to pick up, it’s time to start dreaming of your next international trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Poland with us.

Daily
Jan 21, 2021

United Receives Hospital-Grade Certification for Cleaning, Safety

The Airline Passenger Experience Association and SimpliFlying recognized United Airlines for providing a hospital-grade standard of cleanliness and safety during travel. Among the four largest U.S. carriers, United is the first to receive Diamond Certification, the highest in the new APEX Health Safety audit powered by SimpiliFlying.

The Greatest Show on Earth

Step right up to the greatest show on Earth as FXExpress Publications, Global Traveler, trazeetravel.com and whereverfamily.com celebrate their 2020 award winners! Join the big top on Dec. 14 as we virtually award the winners of the 17th annual GT Tested Reader Survey awards, including the Airline and Hotel of the Year; the 17th annual Wines on the Wing Airline Wine Survey; the eighth annual Leisure Lifestyle Awards; the sixth annual The Trazees; and the third annual Wherever Awards.

eFlyer Reviews
Jan 20, 2021

The Village at Camelback Review

A couple of my friends and I decided to rent a house in the Camelback Mountain area of Pennsylvania’s Pocono Mountains for New Year’s Eve. To find the perfect place, we used Vrbo.com; there were a bunch of properties to choose from, but, in the end, we decided to rent a place in The Village at Camelback.

eFlyer Deals
Jan 20, 2021

Spa Grande at Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Offer

Reset your health and wellness this year with Spa Grande at Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. The property introduced the Live Grande Reset offer, at the largest spa in all of Hawai’i at 50,000 square feet.

Peace of Mind

IHG® Business Edge provides small- to midsized enterprises with benefits and confidence to navigate the evolving business travel environment.

eFlyer Lead
Jan 20, 2021

Etihad Airways Among First Global Airlines to Launch IATA Travel Pass

The International Air Transport Association and Etihad Airways partnered to launch the IATA Travel Pass for passengers on the Gulf carrier. The IATA Travel Pass is a mobile app that helps passengers manage travel in line with government requirements for COVID-19 tests or vaccines. It will be initially offered on select Etihad flights from Abu Dhabi in early 2021, with plans to extend the offer if successful.