FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Bairro Alto Hotel

May 1, 2008
2008 / May 2008

Arrival/Check-in: Our TAP flight from Porto brought us to Lisbon well before check-in time. The apologetic receptionist saw that our luggage was swiftly stowed and invited us to have a complimentary drink on the hotel’s top-floor terrace while our room prep was expedited. We had just time to enjoy a glass of wine and the view over the Tagus River before a bellman arrived to escort us to our room. His thorough tour included placement of all the light switches and the location of the complimentary umbrellas. He made his smiling exit before we could reach for euros. (30/30)

Guest Quarters: Our deluxe room was not palatial, but it was bright and beautifully decorated in shades of peach, terra cotta and olive. Glass doors opened onto an iron-grilled demi-balcony. Below, a vintage yellow tram circled busy Praça Luiz de Camões in the heart of the Bairro Alto, Lisbon’s charming old hillside quarter. We wondered if the room might be noisy at night, since this is one of Lisbon’s liveliest areas, but the double-glazed doors sealed out every sound. The room was filled with thoughtful details — ample luggage stands, big closets with plenty of hangers, high-count sheets, soft robes, LCD plasma TV, DVD player, WiFi, mini-bar and safe. The central section of a cleverly designed desk lifted to reveal a large mirror, turning the desk into a vanity. A tall modern lamp illuminated either very well, and an outlet was handy for hairdryer or laptop. Bedside reading lights were well placed, and a comfortable chair faced a small, low table. The blue-and-cream tiled bathroom was large, with a deep tub, shower, French-milled soaps and plenty of thick towels. (29/30)

Services/Amenities: One of the best things about staying at Barrio Alto Hotel is having an inside track for a table reservation at Lisbon’s hottest restaurant, Flores. From the appellation-controlled butter and the amusebouche of skate and ratatouille in fine olive oil to the steaming espresso served with monogrammed chocolates, dinner there was superb, the service flawless. Porco Preto — Portugal’s signature breed of pork — was served with porcini in a semi-architectural cascade as artful as it was delicious. Although Flores is a tough act to follow, we retired to the stylish roof terrace for after-dinner drinks as city lights flickered on. A smart café-bar and a lounge were other options, the latter with music and both with separate public access to preserve the tranquility of the hotel lobby. (40/40)

The Experience:The abundance of bellmen (luggage is whisked off instantly and taxis appear out of thin air), 24-hour concierge and the general air of what-can-we-doto- make-you-fall-in-love-with-Lisbon makes this 55-room boutique hotel a pleasure. The location is central to dining, nightlife and attractions in the center of the city.

Total Score:(99/100)

BAIRRO ALTO HOTEL

Praça Luiz de Camões 2
Lisbon 1200-243, Portugal
tel 351 21 340 8288
http://www.bairroaltohotel.com.

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Lifestyle
Sep 24, 2021

Fall Travel Trends from Vacasa

With the autumn in full spring, now is time to start planning your fall weekend getaway.  Whether a relaxing weekend on the lake, leaf-peeping or hiking, check out these fall travel trends from vacation rental management company Vacasa.

Greece: Destination Luxury

Since its prestige for attracting the world elite grew in the 1960s, Greece remains the go-to destination for glittering holidays. Each step of the journey is enrobed in luxury, from culinary traditions with the highest standard of execution and name-brand, high-end shopping to first-rate wellness locales and elite accommodations, like 5-star hotels, private villas and yachts.

September 2021
Sep 23, 2021

Host a Fabled Business Event in Wonderful Copenhagen

I imagine that when writer Hans Christian Andersen mused, “Life itself is the most wonderful fairy tale,” he was standing at the edge of Copenhagen’s historic Tivoli Gardens, one of his favorite haunts, enlivened by the swirl of human happiness that surrounded him: children laughing; carousels spinning; games of chance played for prizes; lovers holding hands; hungry people whispering over sweets, hot drinks, beer and towering, open-faced smørrebrød, Denmark’s quintessential sandwich. That fairy tale lives on today at the second-oldest amusement park in the world, a spectacle of folly architecture, bakeries, gardens, rides, restaurants, puppet shows and joy ... and which also happens to be one of the city’s most storied places to convene for business.

Canada
Sep 23, 2021

Reimagined Park Hyatt Toronto Officially Reopens Its Doors

The restored Park Hyatt Toronto reopened its doors, bringing luxury, sophistication and glamour alongside a nod to the hotel’s Canadian heritage. Alessandro Munge of Studio Munge collaborated on the hotel’s refresh, drawing inspiration from Canada’s seasons and natural landscapes.

The Future of Hamad International Airport

Without a doubt, the pandemic changed the role of airports in the travel industry. Hamad International Airport’s role evolved in many ways since the pandemic hit. Now, more than ever, airports are responsible for creating a secure passenger experience. As the gateway to Qatar and the world, the safety and wellbeing of staff and passengers has always been at the core of Hamad International Airport’s strategy.

eFlyer Reviews
Sep 22, 2021

Irwin’s Review

I recently dined at Irwin’s in Philadelphia. The restaurant is located on the rooftop of the Bok Building, a former school turned collective of small businesses, non-profits, artist workshops, a bar and restaurant. I previously visited Bok for the bar and yoga classes, and I was excited to experience the restaurant.

eFlyer Lead
Sep 22, 2021

Cathay Pacific to Use Sustainable Fuel for 10 Percent of Total Consumption by 2030

Cathay Pacific reaffirms its commitment to reaching net-zero carbon emissions by 2050 with a pledge to use Sustainable Aviation Fuel for 10 percent of its total fuel consumption by 2030. The airline has made pioneering efforts in supporting SAF development for more than 10 years.

Register Today for the Most Important Gathering of Business Travel Professionals

The Global Business Travel Association’s (GBTA) Convention 2021 will be unlike any other convention before it, as we come together in person for the first time since the business travel industry drastically changed and look forward to rebuilding and reshaping the future. GBTA Convention 2021 will bring all of us together to learn from experts and each other, in-person at Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida, Nov. 17–19. The safety of our attendees is our top priority. View health and safety protocols.

Daily
Sep 22, 2021

La Concha Resort Puerto Rico Review

Arriving early afternoon in Puerto Rico, we jumped in an Uber and took a short, 15-minute drive from the airport to La Concha.  As it was Tuesday, the streets were not too busy and the hotel lobby was calm. During the weekend, the scene likely would have been more bustling. We were greeted by a staff member who requested proof of vaccination and government-issued ID, and were given a wristband to indicate we were fully vaccinated. All guests are required to be vaccinated and wear masks at all times while moving around the hotel. Hand sanitizer stations were placed around the lobby, in elevators and in each common area.