FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Etihad Airways Business Class Review

Feb 1, 2013
2013 / February 2013

On the Ground: I arrived at Abu Dhabi International Airport from Dubai in no time; I used the same driver for most of my trip, and we had become fast friends. At the airport, I was immediately met by a friendly ground agent and was whisked to the first-class check-in, as the business-class counter was busy. From here, I went through security and was soon shopping at the duty-free shops. Once I made all my purchases, I went into the business-class lounge and found a single seat where I could leave my roller bag next to me. The lounge was busy, as flights depart in every direction of the world at this hour. Etihad could use a significantly larger lounge based on the traffic I encountered. The lounge cuisine was tasty, and I made sure I had a little bite pre-flight.

I know Etihad has a separate boarding procedure for business class, but somehow I ended up behind a long line of economy-class passengers after we went through additional screening at the gate. This made for a long wait at the jetway.

Pre-Flight: I was seated in one of the “outer seats.” The cabin configuration staggers single seats so that they can recline to fully flat; consequently, every other seat is either closer to the window or closer to the aisle. My recommendation is to select a seat closer to the window, as this means you are less likely to be bumped by flight attendants walking the aisles, as was my case.

I was immediately offered a glass of Champagne, juice or water once I was situated in my seat, which was two rows from the economy bulkhead. Attendants distributed newspapers and magazines — no Global Traveler on board? — as well as business-class (Pearl-class) menus with many options for dining and snacks.

In-Flight: Besides recommending the window seat, I also recommend you stay as far as possible from the economy-class bulkhead, as this is where the bassinets hang for infant travel. During my entire flight, babies were crying, with little attention from their parents. As a parent myself, I am well aware children of this age cannot simply be placed in a bassinet for the entire flight of 10-plus hours. They must be periodically walked around the cabin; this was never done. Even with earplugs, I found sleeping impossible.

The seat is comfortable, but with my broad shoulders and over-6-foot height, it was a little tight. I found myself hanging out in the aisle slightly, causing the occasional flight attendant collision. This could have been resolved with the inner seat selection.

The onboard menu offered a vast selection, including Nile perch, apricot-stuffed chicken, lamb pot roast and vegetable lasagna. I selected the perch, which was tastefully prepared. I started the meal with a selection of Middle Eastern appetizers. I skipped the dessert in favor of time to sleep but did have a snack from the extensive menu. The cheese platter was nice and not overly heavy. An extensive list of premium wines and spirits includes Drappier Brut Blanc de Blancs and Glenlivet 12-year-old single malt scotch.

The Experience: Overall, a little seat manipulation prior to my departure would have made this a perfect flight.

GT Checklist

  • Less than 10 minutes for check-in
  • Friendly and helpful agents
  • Priority-tagged bags
  • Airport lounge
  • Complimentary in-lounge food
  • Priority boarding
  • Helpful and courteous flight attendants
  • Pre-flight beverage service
  • Pre-flight newspapers and magazines
  • Extensive on-demand menu
  • Self-serve in-flight pantry
  • Amenity kits
  • Slippers
  • Lie-flat seat/bed
  • Mattress and comforter
  • In-flight menu with three entrée choices
  • Top-shelf wines and liquors

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
December 2022
Dec 9, 2022

Hidden Gem: Discover Istanbul’s Vibrant Balat Neighborhood

The UNESCO World Heritage neighborhood of Balat rivals İstanbul’s Old City for its historic significance, with an added splash of color. Its cobbled hilly streets boast a full rainbow of houses, cafés, restaurants and churches painted in pinks, reds, oranges, yellows, greens and blues — parts even surpassing my native San Francisco’s steep, colorful corridors. The most vibrant stretch of homes, dating anywhere from 50 to 200 years old, runs along Kiremit Caddesi.

Luxurious Adventures Await.

Discover why Global Traveler readers named Cunard® the Best Large-Ship Cruise Line for seven consecutive years. For a limited time, book your voyage during Cunard’s Explore with More promotion and take advantage of lower fares*, up to $1,200 Onboard Credit†, Free Specialty Dining for Two^, 50% Reduced Deposit††, and more. Choose from an array of exciting journeys, including Transatlantic Crossings and voyages to Alaska, the Caribbean and Canada & New England.

Daily
Dec 9, 2022

Icelandair Welcomes New North American Gateway: Detroit

Icelandair recently announced its newest North American gateway: Detroit, Michigan. The seasonal flights begin May 18, 2023, taking off from Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport to Reykjavik (KEF), Iceland. The four weekly, non-stop flights will run through Oct. 30, 2023. Flight 872 departs Detroit for Iceland Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, at 8:30 p.m., on a 160-seat Boeing 737MAX. The return, from Reykjavik to Detroit, departs 5 p.m. on the same days of the week, arriving at 6:25 p.m.

Daily
Dec 9, 2022

Winter Walking Trips with The Wilderness Group

If your personal travel nirvana involves fabulous scenery and a snappy, reviving hike in bracing winter air, Bannikin Travel & Tourism hopes to make your dreams come true with a selection of new winter walking itineraries in Scotland (other trip options are available in England and Ireland). Here’s what you can look forward to in 2023:

Discover Egypt in Total Luxury with World’s Most Eminent Archaeologists

THE MOST EXCLUSIVE TOURS OF EGYPT EVER OFFERED with the world’s most eminent archaeologists

Daily
Dec 8, 2022

The Hotel Das Rüebezahl on Tegelberg Mountain

As of November 2022, Rohrkopfhutte (mountain hut) on Germany’s Tegelberg mountain reopened, and the dream view from the terrace, of the castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau and the stunning Schwangauer Alpsee, can be seen in the valley below.

Daily
Dec 7, 2022

Tel Aviv: The Perfect Winter Destination

Travelers constantly look for their next bucket-list vacation, but with Europe getting colder, why not travel to a destination that is sunny year-round? Tel Aviv is the perfect getaway to escape the  cold winter months. Whether traveling solo, with friends or family members, here are some must-do activities in Tel Aviv.

United’s 100 Percent Green Commitment to be Carbon Neutral by 2050

United Airlines remains firmly committed toward sustainability in aviation. The latest development in its eco-conscious goals includes working with Oxy Low Carbon Ventures to commercialize the production of sustainable aviation fuels (SAF) with biotech firm Cemvita Factory. Cemvita looks to develop a revolutionary new way to produce SAF by using carbon dioxide and synthetic microbes. Additionally, United Airlines Ventures (UAV) recently announced an equity investment in Fulcrum, and United has invested more in SAF production than any other airline in the world.

eFlyer Reviews
Dec 7, 2022

Workshop Kitchen + Bar Review

Palm Springs became a destination of legend when Hollywood’s biggest and brightest during cinema’s “Golden Age” turned the desert community into their glamourous backyard. While restaurants and hotels epitomizing definitive Palm Springs luxury open, adapt and change with the times, it says something that one of its hottest restaurants sets up an outpost back in Los Angeles. And that’s exactly what chef Michael Beckman and restaurateur Joe Mourani did on the southern tip of the always-evolving Fairfax District.