FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Conrad Washington D.C. Review

by Francis X. Gallagher

Mar 1, 2021

PHOTOS: © FRANCIS X. GALLAGHER

January/February 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: We drove from Philadelphia to Washington, D.C., without a hitch in early October. In communication with the Conrad staff, I was directed to the CityCenter Garage, where I could park and recharge my car. It was right around the corner and convenient; from the garage it is a short walk to the front of the hotel. Check-in took place on the ground floor versus the lobby to reduce touch points during COVID-19. The staff politely greeted us and gave us our keys; I was in room 1027. From the ground floor we took the elevator to the lobby level and transferred to the elevator bank to the rooms.

GUEST QUARTERS: The first thing I noticed was the Hilton CleanStay seal on the door; this provided confirmation and comfort that the room had been cleaned and sanitized using Lysol products and following the CleanStay protocol. It also ensured no one else had been in the room after the cleaning.

My large junior suite included a large TV in the sitting room and one on the opposing wall facing the king-sized bed. The desk offered an option to look out the large window or watch either TV while working. There was a small sofa so you could relax and unwind and a single upholstered chair with an ottoman — all modern, cleanly designed furniture.

The large bathroom had a double sink and lots of towels. The counter held a display of Mandarin Tea bath amenities which I enjoyed; I don’t bring my own and rely on the hotel’s supply. The shower was huge, with a sleek, all-glass front; top-to-bottom marble walls; and a terrific showerhead.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: While at the property we received a tour with Laura Schofield, general manager. Laura took us through the property restaurants and meeting space, which was quite spectacular. Due to COVID-19, many of the restaurants were not open, but we could eat at a main grab-and-go service in the Estuary Bar or order a drink in the evening. At the time, the bars and restaurants were not open every night, but they created a rather unique Hidden Terrace where guests enjoy a special menu outside, off the lobby. Summit the Roof Top at the Conrad has unique views of the city’s monuments.

We also met with Danny Hughes, president of Hilton, for a “One on One” interview (see the December 2020 issue). All meetings were socially distant and with masks.

For dinner, we stepped out to Del Frisco’s Double Eagle Steakhouse as recommended by my friend Michael Irving of Charlie Palmer’s Steakhouse. Kyle Gaffney, general manager, took great care of us.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

Great location and within walking distance to many of the treasures of D.C.; The White House is only blocks away.

Masterful specialty cocktails are served with The Botanist Gin infusing method.

CONRAD WASHINGTON DC
950 New York Ave. N.W. Washington, DC 20001
tel 202 844 5900
hilton.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
eFlyer Reviews
Apr 14, 2021

The Hamilton Hotel Review

The Hamilton Hotel, located steps from the White House, was the perfect place for a relaxing weekend getaway. Upon arrival, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful with a quick check-in process. The lobby was immaculate with shining marble flooring, velvet couches and an arched ceiling design that brought a sense of sophistication. For added security, the elevators are only accessible to those who have a key card to a guestroom.

eFlyer News
Apr 14, 2021

Luxury Hotels Add Bryte Restorative Bed to Guestrooms

Luxury destinations around the country partnered with Bryte to introduce The Restorative Bed and enhanced sleep programming at their hotels. The revolutionary, AI-powered Restorative Bed uses real-time technology to intuitively adjust based on the individual’s needs and preferences. An embedded sensory network detects biometrics, like heart rate and breathing patterns, when a sleeper enters the first stage of sleep, triggering cooling features and lulling sleepers into deep sleep. Computer-controlled air cushions alleviate pressure points, and the technology also leads sleepers naturally out of sleep.

eFlyer News
Apr 14, 2021

Tauck Announces Full Restart of U.S. Tours

Tauck announced plans to fully restart its U.S. tours by July 1. Departures of the Southern Charms: Savannah, Hilton Head and Charleston tour have already begun, with other popular tours across the country relaunching in the coming months. Check the Open for Travel page for information on specific tour departures.

eFlyer News
Apr 14, 2021

Turkish Airlines Resumes Premium Onboard Dining Service

Turkish Airlines resumed its premium onboard dining and hot meal service on all business- and economy-class flights longer than two hours and 15 minutes. The resumption of service is in accordance with all health and hygiene applications.

eFlyer Deals
Apr 14, 2021

The Source Hotel Launches The Source Passport

Denver’s The Source Hotel offers its new Passport Program. Overnight guests receive The Source Passport at check-in and from there can enjoy restaurants and retail establishments across The Source Hotel + Market Hall with exclusive discounts. Exclusive discounts are available at The Woods, Safta, Reunion Bread, Beet & Yarrow, Melted and more.

Maldives
Apr 12, 2021

Soneva Yacht Experience in the Maldives

Luxury resort chain Soneva offers guests a luxurious yacht experience in the Maldives. The Soneva in Aquayacht brings guests on a three-night excursion to the pristine Goidhoo Island.

Daily
Apr 9, 2021

2021’s Best Frequent-Flyer Programs

With the vaccine rolling out and U.S. air travel expected to pick up in the upcoming months, the personal finance website WalletHub released a report on 2021’s Best Frequent-Flyer Programs, to help travelers make the best decision for their wallets.

Health
Apr 8, 2021

TAP Air Portugal Provides Daily COVID-19 Testing, Announces Summer Network

TAP Air Portugal now offers all passengers COVID-19 testing service at Lisbon Airport at a discount. Depending on a destination’s various restrictions, the Rapid Antigen Test is €21; the PCR test is €85; and a PCR Test plus Rapid Antigen Test is €106. TAP customers enjoy priority access to this service.