FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Conrad Washington D.C. Review

by Francis X. Gallagher

Mar 1, 2021

PHOTOS: © FRANCIS X. GALLAGHER

January/February 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: We drove from Philadelphia to Washington, D.C., without a hitch in early October. In communication with the Conrad staff, I was directed to the CityCenter Garage, where I could park and recharge my car. It was right around the corner and convenient; from the garage it is a short walk to the front of the hotel. Check-in took place on the ground floor versus the lobby to reduce touch points during COVID-19. The staff politely greeted us and gave us our keys; I was in room 1027. From the ground floor we took the elevator to the lobby level and transferred to the elevator bank to the rooms.

GUEST QUARTERS: The first thing I noticed was the Hilton CleanStay seal on the door; this provided confirmation and comfort that the room had been cleaned and sanitized using Lysol products and following the CleanStay protocol. It also ensured no one else had been in the room after the cleaning.

My large junior suite included a large TV in the sitting room and one on the opposing wall facing the king-sized bed. The desk offered an option to look out the large window or watch either TV while working. There was a small sofa so you could relax and unwind and a single upholstered chair with an ottoman — all modern, cleanly designed furniture.

The large bathroom had a double sink and lots of towels. The counter held a display of Mandarin Tea bath amenities which I enjoyed; I don’t bring my own and rely on the hotel’s supply. The shower was huge, with a sleek, all-glass front; top-to-bottom marble walls; and a terrific showerhead.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: While at the property we received a tour with Laura Schofield, general manager. Laura took us through the property restaurants and meeting space, which was quite spectacular. Due to COVID-19, many of the restaurants were not open, but we could eat at a main grab-and-go service in the Estuary Bar or order a drink in the evening. At the time, the bars and restaurants were not open every night, but they created a rather unique Hidden Terrace where guests enjoy a special menu outside, off the lobby. Summit the Roof Top at the Conrad has unique views of the city’s monuments.

We also met with Danny Hughes, president of Hilton, for a “One on One” interview (see the December 2020 issue). All meetings were socially distant and with masks.

For dinner, we stepped out to Del Frisco’s Double Eagle Steakhouse as recommended by my friend Michael Irving of Charlie Palmer’s Steakhouse. Kyle Gaffney, general manager, took great care of us.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

Great location and within walking distance to many of the treasures of D.C.; The White House is only blocks away.

Masterful specialty cocktails are served with The Botanist Gin infusing method.

CONRAD WASHINGTON DC
950 New York Ave. N.W. Washington, DC 20001
tel 202 844 5900
hilton.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Oct 22, 2021

Winter Escape at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla

The Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla is opening its acclaimed doors Oct. 22 to celebrate its fifth and most exciting season. The resort will introduce new programming including culinary, fitness and music.

‘Tis the Season for a Luxurious Retreat

This holiday season, escape to the Caribbean with Celebrity Cruises and reconnect with family and friends in luxurious accommodations that make you feel right at home. Savor globally inspired cuisine designed by our Michelin-starred chef, paired with the most awarded wine collection at sea. Elevate “me time” with a soothing spa treatment sure to renew. With both long and short cruises to celebrate in December, and even three special Ultimate Holiday Cruises that sail over Christmas and into the New Year, the time to gift an experience and create unforgettable memories is now. Celebrity Cruises’ Always IncludedSM pricing — drinks, WiFi and tips — ensures a seamless, carefree vacation with the ones you love.

Cruising
Oct 21, 2021

Seabourn Names Second Ultra-Luxury Expedition Ship

Seabourn recently announced the name of its second new ultra-luxury purpose-built expedition ship: Seabourn Pursuit. The name reflects the passion of expedition travelers to seek out and explore natural wonders and destinations through activities around the globe.

eFlyer Reviews
Oct 20, 2021

The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago Review

Though the Chicago area has been my home for decades, the view from the Water Tower Suite on the 26th floor of The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago made me gasp. I had admired Chicago’s dramatic skyline many times, but never from this angle. Through expansive windows, the skyscrapers of 900 N. Michigan Ave. and the John Hancock Center, now named 875 North Michigan Avenue, rose to my right. Far below, the landmark Chicago Water Tower nestled in a ring of trees. One of the few survivors of the Great Chicago Fire, a turning point in the city’s history being remembered on its 150th anniversary in 2021, the Gothic Revival relic resembled a fairy-tale castle in a children’s playset.

Experiencing GBTA Convention 2021
Safely and Responsibly

GBTA’s Convention 2021 will bring the business travel industry together for the first time in a long time. Once again, you’ll learn and connect with experts and each other, along with discussions with leading thinkers, entrepreneurs and change makers addressing the issues that matter most.

eFlyer News
Oct 20, 2021

President Biden Signs 9/11 Trail Designation

President Biden signed H.R. 2278, bipartisan legislation to designate a September 11th National Memorial Trail. The trail route will link the National September 11th Memorial and Museum in New York; the Pentagon Memorial in Arlington, Virginia; and the Flight 93 National Memorial in Somerset County, Pennsylvania.

Events
Oct 20, 2021

Fever App Presents: Dining in the Dark Review

In April 2021, I was skimming Facebook when an ad for a blind-folded dining experience popped up on my newsfeed. The event was hosted through a company called Fever that offers fun, interactive events in major cities and virtually for people to enjoy. Intrigued, I clicked the link to learn more. The description made the event sound exciting and mysterious. When I give someone a present for their birthday, the holidays or a wedding, I like to give the gift of an experience that the recipient can learn something from. My boyfriend’s 30th birthday was in June, when the event was to be hosted, so I thought this would be a great surprise for him.

Register Today for the Most Important Gathering of Business Travel Professionals

The Global Business Travel Association’s (GBTA) Convention 2021 will be unlike any other convention before it, as we come together in person for the first time since the business travel industry drastically changed and look forward to rebuilding and reshaping the future. GBTA Convention 2021 will bring all of us together to learn from experts and each other, in-person at Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida, Nov. 17–19. The safety of our attendees is our top priority. View health and safety protocols.

Daily
Oct 19, 2021

6 Reasons to Put Austin, Texas, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Austin, Texas, with us.