FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters Review

by Francis X. Gallagher

Sep 14, 2020

PHOTO: © FRANCIS X. GALLAGHER

September 2020

PRE-FLIGHT: One of my most brilliant ideas ever! Why not take a Blue Hawaiian Helicopters tour of Oahu between our morning flight from Lanai and our afternoon flight on United Airlines to Newark? Of course, this all relied on perfect timing, as our Hawaiian Airlines flight arrived at Honolulu at 10:32 a.m. and our United flight was at 3:10 p.m. The heliport lies just two miles from the airport, and we would have to take an Uber or taxi to check in for our noon tour. The tour ended at 1:05 p.m. All looked good on paper, and all worked out perfectly on the ground.

The Uber driver had a little trouble finding the spot, but you cannot miss the iconic Blue Hawaiian helicopters taking off and landing. Check-in included reviewing our government-issued identification, weighing each passenger and watching a complete safety video. Once we were ready for takeoff, we were marched out and told to stand in predesignated circles on the tarmac. From there we walked two by two to the chopper for loading and seatbelt check. There were six passengers and one pilot, Lorne, who introduced himself and went through the pre-check details. Lorne wanted all to know where the “comfort bags” were and commented they were there to be used — and we could keep them if we used them! His dry sense of humor added to the flight experience.

IN-FLIGHT: We were seated in the primo spot, next to the pilot — the best viewing, for sure. Lifting off at a busy airport like Honolulu takes some nerves and experience, and Lorne, as an ex-military chopper pilot, knew what he was doing. During a sweeping turn away from the airport, on came the Hawaii Five-O theme song, which was a real hit and terrific introduction to the tour. Lorne spoke throughout, asking us where we were from, if we had ever been to Hawai’i before and if we’d ever been in a helicopter. As we flew over historic sites he added his commentary.

PHOTO: © FRANCIS X. GALLAGHER

The flight path took us over Honolulu, Waikiki, Diamond Head and the coral formation at Kaneohe Bay. Lorne pointed out where various movies have been filmed, such as Jurassic Park. We hovered over the cliffs of Nuuanu Rainforest and Sacred Falls and then flew to the North Shore for some aerial surfing visuals. Some of the best viewing of the USS Arizona Memorial and Pearl Harbor concluded the tour as we headed back to busy Honolulu.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

On this trip we stayed at some of the best hotels in Honolulu and Lanai and had some fantastic times, but this was a topper!

A must-do for any trip to Hawai’i.

BLUE HAWAIIAN HELICOPTERS
bluehawaiian.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Sep 24, 2020

Santa Goes Green in Lapland

Winter- and Christmas-loving travelers may already know Rovaniemi, Finland, as the home of Santa Claus Village, a year-round tourist destination. However, nature- and sustainability-minded travelers might be pleased to learn the man in red is working on a new project: making his village completely carbon-neutral over the next five years.

What To Expect When Flying: oneworld Debuts Information Portal

Though air travel slowed as airports temporarily closed and borders shuttered to stifle the spread of coronavirus, the airline industry — led by oneworld alliance member airlines — enacted enhanced protective measures to reduce risk and protect passengers.

eFlyer Reviews
Sep 23, 2020

Halekulani in Waikiki Review

We took a taxi to the Halekulani from the airport. At the entrance, the Halekulani team was ready, willing and able to  take our bags and swiftly set us up for registration, escorting us to our room, No. 1657. I had last stayed at the Halekulani years earlier, and I have a lot of fond memories. Halekulani is a mainstay on the edge of Waikiki, and I have always considered it a haven from all the bustle. You can walk almost anywhere and return for the serenity here.

eFlyer News
Sep 23, 2020

The Chatwal Lodge, The Catskills Scheduled to Open April 1

The Chatwal Lodge will debut in Bethel, New York, 90 miles north of New York City, April 1, 2021. The lodge, nestled on a 30-acre, environmentally protected piece of land, offers panoramic views and a quiet mountain sanctuary.

The Perfect Fit

According to the U.S. Small Business Administration’s Office of Advocacy, small businesses create two-thirds of net new jobs and account for nearly 48 percent of the U.S. private sector workforce. And small- and medium-sized businesses outpace all other sectors as one of the fastest-growing in the United States. InterContinental® Hotels Group (IHG) goes above and beyond to create opportunities for this segment with its IHG® Business Edge program, voted Best Small- to Mid-Sized Business Program in Global Traveler’s 2019 GT Tested Reader Survey awards.

eFlyer News
Sep 23, 2020

Live Aqua Beach Resort Punta Cana to Debut in 2021

The highly anticipated Live Aqua Beach Resort Punta Cana will debut in February 2021. It will be the first Live Aqua property outside of Mexico for Posadas.

Daily
Sep 22, 2020

Colombia Lifts Travel Restrictions, Reopens Borders

After five months of quarantine, one of Latin America's longest lockdowns, Colombia lifted travel restrictions for international travelers.

Adventure Redefined: Volvo Overseas Delivery Program

Are you looking for a truly unique travel experience and considering a new vehicle? The Volvo Overseas Delivery Program is the perfect solution to create your own refined adventure of a lifetime. You can custom order your new Volvo, tailored to fit your needs and desires. They will fly you to Sweden to pick up your Volvo so you can drive and explore Scandinavia and Europe on your terms for up to two weeks.

Daily
Sep 21, 2020

MGM Resorts in Top 50 Best Companies for Latinas to Work in United States

LATINA Style, Inc., named MGM Resorts International in its Top 50 Best Companies for Latinas to Work for in the United States. The full list was published in the September issue of LATINA Style magazine.