FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Thompson Chicago Review

by Kimberly Krol

Sep 16, 2020

PHOTO: © THOMPSON CHICAGO

September 2020

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: My stay at the Thompson Chicago, in February 2020, was my last trip before (and since) the COVID-19 pandemic. So while as of press time my stay was just a few months prior, I’m certain the experience is, today, somewhat changed.

I arrived in the early morning, having departed from Philadelphia International Airport pre-dawn. Luckily, the lobby was quiet and my room was ready well in advance of the check-in time, which was just what I needed to quickly freshen up before a day of meetings.

As you enter the hotel and lobby, it feels like you’re entering a personal home, one that is warm with rich colors and an abundance of comfortable seating.

GUEST QUARTERS: I was booked in a king- bedded room with rainfall showerhead and city view for my overnight stay. The room was almost oriented lengthwise: From the entrance, it opened into a foyer with a wall of windows. The bathroom, to the right of the door, was long, with a sink/ vanity immediately to the left, followed by the spacious shower with the toilet on the right side. The bathroom was quite large with plenty of space for toiletries. It did take me a few tries before I realized where all the different bathroom light switches were located.

As I continued into the foyer, a desk sat to the right, facing the windows, allowing for great views and lots of natural light. As I entered the bedroom area, the room opened up more. A bed flanked by two nightstands sat adjacent to the desk and across from a couch and table set against the windows. The TV was mounted on the wall across from the desk.

I ran across the street the afternoon of my stay to grab lunch. I brought it back to the room and, thanks to the guestroom’s spacious set-up and separate seating area, I had plenty of space to eat, relax and work.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: On the morning of my departure I ate breakfast at the on-site Nico Osteria, which also serves lunch and dinner. I enjoyed my breakfast alongside a good, strong cup of coffee and people-watching through the large windows and my vantage point along the North Rush Street side of the building. Salone Nico is the hotel’s wine bar and cocktail lounge. Private dining options are also available at Nico.

Thompson Chicago boasts 12,000 square feet of meeting and event space.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

Location is crucial, and the Thompson Chicago boasts an excellent one in the Gold Coast neighborhood, just off the Magnificent Mile and near Lake Michigan.

A $17-a-day destination fee includes coffee and tea in Nico, Lexus house car service Tuesday through Sunday (based on availability), exclusive discounts through outside partners and more.

The doormen were exceedingly welcoming and friendly, and they made hailing cabs or waiting for Ubers easy and seamless — especially important during a Chicago winter.

My colleagues were staying on the Chicago River, and our appointments and meetings were all over the city; Thompson Chicago served as a convenient home base for all of it and provided easy access to/from Chicago O’Hare International Airport.

THOMPSON CHICAGO
21 E. Bellevue Place
Chicago, IL 60611
tel 312 266 2100
thompsonhotels.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Sep 24, 2020

Santa Goes Green in Lapland

Winter- and Christmas-loving travelers may already know Rovaniemi, Finland, as the home of Santa Claus Village, a year-round tourist destination. However, nature- and sustainability-minded travelers might be pleased to learn the man in red is working on a new project: making his village completely carbon-neutral over the next five years.

Five Things You Need to Know About Punta Cana’s New Finest Resort

Finding a beachfront Punta Cana all-inclusive resort for all ages can be daunting when you want to take home great memories with loved ones but also experience a sophisticated escape. Now, you can have both thanks to a new resort: Finest Punta Cana.

eFlyer Reviews
Sep 23, 2020

Halekulani in Waikiki Review

We took a taxi to the Halekulani from the airport. At the entrance, the Halekulani team was ready, willing and able to  take our bags and swiftly set us up for registration, escorting us to our room, No. 1657. I had last stayed at the Halekulani years earlier, and I have a lot of fond memories. Halekulani is a mainstay on the edge of Waikiki, and I have always considered it a haven from all the bustle. You can walk almost anywhere and return for the serenity here.

eFlyer News
Sep 23, 2020

The Chatwal Lodge, The Catskills Scheduled to Open April 1

The Chatwal Lodge will debut in Bethel, New York, 90 miles north of New York City, April 1, 2021. The lodge, nestled on a 30-acre, environmentally protected piece of land, offers panoramic views and a quiet mountain sanctuary.

Peace of Mind

IHG® Business Edge provides small- to midsized enterprises with benefits and confidence to navigate the evolving business travel environment.

eFlyer News
Sep 23, 2020

Live Aqua Beach Resort Punta Cana to Debut in 2021

The highly anticipated Live Aqua Beach Resort Punta Cana will debut in February 2021. It will be the first Live Aqua property outside of Mexico for Posadas.

Daily
Sep 22, 2020

Colombia Lifts Travel Restrictions, Reopens Borders

After five months of quarantine, one of Latin America's longest lockdowns, Colombia lifted travel restrictions for international travelers.

Adventure Redefined: Volvo Overseas Delivery Program

Are you looking for a truly unique travel experience and considering a new vehicle? The Volvo Overseas Delivery Program is the perfect solution to create your own refined adventure of a lifetime. You can custom order your new Volvo, tailored to fit your needs and desires. They will fly you to Sweden to pick up your Volvo so you can drive and explore Scandinavia and Europe on your terms for up to two weeks.

Daily
Sep 21, 2020

MGM Resorts in Top 50 Best Companies for Latinas to Work in United States

LATINA Style, Inc., named MGM Resorts International in its Top 50 Best Companies for Latinas to Work for in the United States. The full list was published in the September issue of LATINA Style magazine.