FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Shelborne South Beach Review

by Stephanie Makowski

Apr 28, 2020

© SHELBORNE SOUTH BEACH

April 2020

Arrival/Check-In: Arriving after a quick drive from meetings, bustling Collins Avenue beckoned me to get in the Miami mood. Driving down the famed avenue on approach to the retro driveway entrance of the Shelborne South Beach, I found that mood. The crisp, white exterior with a geometrically pleasing façade was just the ticket for those who admire a vintage touch with a modern twist. Upon entry to the lobby, it is clear this is a chic and tasteful atmosphere. In the roomy but inviting lobby, I found the front desk staff accommodating. Upon check-in, I made my way through the building toward the back, passing the on-site restaurant, café and trendy bar. Elevators were readily available to take me to my home away from home for a few days.

Guest Quarters: Entering my room, I was immediately struck by the fun black-and-white beach photographs on the walls. The tones of sandy beige and white linen encouraged a feeling of beach vibes right away. The room layout proved accommodating for both leisure and business travel, featuring a large desk for evening office work; a great dresser equipped with minibar, fridge and snack bar; a large lounge chair for reading; and — since I was in a corner room — a balcony overlooking the beach. The balcony offered city gazing to the far left and vast ocean views to the immediate right.

The linens and bed were quite supportive, needed after a busy day of meetings.

The bathroom met all the traditional needs one has when traveling. I’m a fan of a tub but find the shower option is better for the environment, so that was certainly a win. The vanity and lighting fixtures were modern yet elegant.

Services/Amenities: The hotel’s location is something to note. Being right on Collins Avenue, it provides the Miami restaurant and shopping amenities outside the front door. Also situated on beachfront property, the hotel hosts a perfect scenario for the aquatic aficionado; ocean or poolside, you are sure to find your spot in the Florida sun! The hotel staff are all kind and courteous. The lobby café makes an excellent spot for a morning pick-me-up, and for the after-5 crowd, the Drawing Room provides a chic and hip spot for a cocktail mixed to perfection or an entrée to savor. Planning a meeting or social event? The Shelborne boasts a multitude of event space options with seating up to 360. The property combines style with practicality, making it a great hotel for creating a Miami memory.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

◆ Should you be too tired to venture out on the town or even down to the restaurant, the hotel boasts a great room service menu.

◆ The Shelborne offers townhome-style suites for those traveling with families or small groups, providing a spacious, flexible alternative to booking multiple rooms.

◆ The GUYandGIRL bathroom amenities smell divine, and I highly recommend trying them. Leave your traditional bath products at home!

SHELBORNE SOUTH BEACH

1801 Collins Ave.
Miami Beach, FL 33139
tel 305 531 1271
shelborne.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Explore Excursions

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jun 21, 2024

New Beds and Restaurants in Boise, Idaho

There’s lots going on in Boise, including an impressive selection of new hotels. Stays at The Sparrow will immediately immerse you in a sense of place, thanks to engaging, infographic- style artwork in each of the 67 guestrooms. You’ll find a local coffeehouse in the lobby, a food truck on the outdoor patio overlooking Grove Street, and an outdoor fireplace inviting guests to linger and mingle. Authentic, local experiences include the Brewery of the Month program.

Why Buy Trip Cancellation Insurance?

Don’t risk losing all the money you’ve spent if you must cancel your trip at the last minute. Allianz Travel Insurance can give you:

June 2024
Jun 21, 2024

Saudi Arabia Fosters Sustainable, Regenerative Tourism Along the Red Sea

 My first experience of Saudi Arabia's Red Sea coast now seems like ancient history. It was 1995, and I was visiting my ornithologist cousin and is wife. Getting into the kingdom wasn't easy; I needed sponsorship letters. and a pre-trip interview at the Saudi Arabian Embassy. When I arrived in the country, there was no tourist infrastructure. We toured by SUV ad often slept under the stars. Thus, one morning, we woke up on roll-out mattresses on a Red Sea beach 200 miles from Jeddah.

Daily
Jun 21, 2024

2 New Concept Bars Opening This Fall in Texas and New York

Add New York City and Austin to your list of bar-hopping cities with the highly-anticipated debuts of Brass Poppy and Bar Sprezzatura.

Explore Gyeonggi Province in South Korea

Gyeonggi Province, encircling Seoul, offers seamless travel with access to two major airports and a well-connected transportation system. It boasts top-notch MICE facilities, like KINTEX and Suwon Convention Center, along with a wide array of international-branded and resort-style hotels spread across its 31 cities and counties. Visitors can explore rich historical sites, including UNESCO World Cultural Heritage sites like the DMZ and Suwon Hwaseong Fortress.

Daily
Jun 21, 2024

Virgin Hotels to Open First London Hotel in August

On Aug. 1, Virgin Hotels debuts its first London property. Set to open in the heart of Shoreditch, this hotel will mark the brand’s eighth Virgin Hotels location worldwide and the 17th property for the wider Virgin Hotels Collection.

Daily
Jun 19, 2024

Sofitel New York Embarks on Comprehensive Renovation

Sofitel New York recently announced a comprehensive refurbishment project, timed to the Sofitel brand’s 60th anniversary this year. The Manhattan property’s renovation, set to start in late 2024, will reach all facets of the hotel, including the 398 guestrooms and suites, lobby, meeting spaces, elevators, and corridors. Completion of the public areas is anticipated by fall 2025.

Share Your Travel Preferences with Global Traveler in a Short Survey & Win

Learning more about our readers’ travel habits and preferences ensures Global Traveler delivers the content you desire. As the travel industry has adapted and changed over the last few years, it’s more important than ever to connect. To best meet your short- and long-term travel content needs, please help us!

eFlyer Reviews
Jun 18, 2024

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Atlantic City Review

My husband and I recently enjoyed an overnight getaway at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Atlantic City. The resort is a one-stop shop for an entertaining escape. We packed a lot into our one-night stay, and it left us looking forward to a return visit.