FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Review: Nemacolin

by Kimberly Inlander

May 11, 2021

PHOTO: © JORDAN MILLINGTON

April/May 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: Talk about a grand entrance! After driving across the state of Pennsylvania and spending the last 40 minutes of our journey in a snowstorm, Nemacolin’s The Chateau coming into view was a welcome and gorgeous sight. After stopping at a check- point where our temperatures were taken, we drove to the valet, where we were helped with our many bags (winter gear takes up a lot of luggage space!) and escorted into an equally gorgeous lobby, bedecked with red roses in a nod to Nemacolin’s recent gig as host venue for the latest season of The Bachelor. Given the late hour, the lobby was quiet and empty. We were offered Champagne at check-in and were quickly on our way to our guestroom.

GUEST QUARTERS: Our room was generously sized. We entered into a vestibule with a closet and dressing area to the left and the marble bathroom — with stall shower, double sink and soaking tub — to the right. More rose petals adorned the bathroom. The shower offered little storage space for bath amenities and lacked strong water pressure, and certain room finishes could use a bit more attention to detail.

As we continued into the room, again we were taken by its spaciousness. Two nightstands flanked the king-sized bed, with a cushioned bench at its foot. Well across the room sat a dresser with the TV on top. When facing the bed, a wet bar with a mini refrigerator stood to the left along with another nook with a long, skinny table. Next to the dresser was an ample desk, and another small sitting area with two chairs and a round table sat near the three floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the resort’s private runway.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: This is where the resort truly shines! Depending on the season, the options for activities at Nemacolin are endless. We visited in winter and went clay shooting, took a safari tour (think white tigers, wolves, bears, buffalo and more), went snow tubing (recently renovated to include a Magic Carpet to take guests back up the hill), enjoyed the spa and took a painting class. One thing on our list we couldn’t squeeze in was dogsledding. And that’s just a few of the offerings. We can’t wait to go back and experience zip lining, art tours, mini golf, fly-fishing and so much more. Be sure to read our blogs and check out globaltravelerusa.com, whereverfamily.com and trazeetravel.com for more in-depth content on the activities.

And the dining is just as appealing. We enjoyed both in-room dining and a visit to Rockwell’s for breakfast. On our day of departure, the in-room dining must have been extremely busy as several items were forgotten and it lacked consistency from our previous experience. Barattolo offered the perfect venue for a cozy, romantic Italian dinner, and I encourage anyone visiting to take a “leap of faith” at Lautrec. Other options include Aqueous, PJ’s Ice Cream Parlor, The Pantry and The Tavern.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:
Nemacolin is a family business, with the owner, Mr. Hardy of 84 Lumber, residing on site. Take a minute to peruse the exhibit on the Hardy family.

Speaking of family, the staff across the board is exceptional, and the feeling of family is evident among all employees.

One afternoon we enjoyed cocktails and wonderful live music in the lobby. Several times throughout our stay we both commented on the great music playing wherever we went.

NEMACOLIN
1001 Lafayette Drive
Farmington, PA 15437
tel 866 344 6957
nemacolin.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Explore Excursions

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jun 21, 2024

New Beds and Restaurants in Boise, Idaho

There’s lots going on in Boise, including an impressive selection of new hotels. Stays at The Sparrow will immediately immerse you in a sense of place, thanks to engaging, infographic- style artwork in each of the 67 guestrooms. You’ll find a local coffeehouse in the lobby, a food truck on the outdoor patio overlooking Grove Street, and an outdoor fireplace inviting guests to linger and mingle. Authentic, local experiences include the Brewery of the Month program.

MORE TO TRAVEL

There’s more to travel than just getting there.

June 2024
Jun 21, 2024

Saudi Arabia Fosters Sustainable, Regenerative Tourism Along the Red Sea

 My first experience of Saudi Arabia's Red Sea coast now seems like ancient history. It was 1995, and I was visiting my ornithologist cousin and is wife. Getting into the kingdom wasn't easy; I needed sponsorship letters. and a pre-trip interview at the Saudi Arabian Embassy. When I arrived in the country, there was no tourist infrastructure. We toured by SUV ad often slept under the stars. Thus, one morning, we woke up on roll-out mattresses on a Red Sea beach 200 miles from Jeddah.

Daily
Jun 21, 2024

2 New Concept Bars Opening This Fall in Texas and New York

Add New York City and Austin to your list of bar-hopping cities with the highly-anticipated debuts of Brass Poppy and Bar Sprezzatura.

Paradisus by Meliá Redefines the All-Inclusive Experience

Paradisus by Meliá, a leading luxury all-inclusive resort brand, is taking the hospitality world by storm with its latest developments. With a slew of exciting developments, including a fresh property in Punta Cana, an adults-only resort in Los Cabos, an enticing chef partnership, revamped suites and much more, the brand is setting new standards for all-inclusive excellence. Each property maintains the essence of all-inclusive luxury while immersing guests in the rich tapestry of its destination, offering bespoke experiences that celebrate local culture and heritage. Paradisus is on a mission to redefine the all-inclusive paradigm, moving beyond conventional expectations to deliver personalized, lavish experiences tailored to every guest.

Daily
Jun 21, 2024

Virgin Hotels to Open First London Hotel in August

On Aug. 1, Virgin Hotels debuts its first London property. Set to open in the heart of Shoreditch, this hotel will mark the brand’s eighth Virgin Hotels location worldwide and the 17th property for the wider Virgin Hotels Collection.

Daily
Jun 19, 2024

Sofitel New York Embarks on Comprehensive Renovation

Sofitel New York recently announced a comprehensive refurbishment project, timed to the Sofitel brand’s 60th anniversary this year. The Manhattan property’s renovation, set to start in late 2024, will reach all facets of the hotel, including the 398 guestrooms and suites, lobby, meeting spaces, elevators, and corridors. Completion of the public areas is anticipated by fall 2025.

Hotel Indigo: The World’s Neighborhood Hotel

Part of the IHG Luxury & Lifestyle portfolio, Hotel Indigo is the world’s neighborhood hotel that celebrates how guests can discover, or rediscover, some of the most inspiring and culturally rich neighborhoods around the world. When staying at a Hotel Indigo hotel, it's not just about visiting a place — it's about being fully immersed in the neighborhood and wanting to take a little bit of it home. When traveling for business, Hotel Indigo offers a unique experience tailored to each location, making it the perfect choice to stay while traveling for work. With IHG Business Edge, travel managers have exclusive access to enticing perks, comprehensive travel metrics and carefully curated educational resources. It also includes a guaranteed discount on both business and personal travel for managers and employees, alongside an automatic upgrade to IHG One Rewards Silver Elite status after the initial IHG Business Edge stay.

eFlyer Reviews
Jun 18, 2024

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Atlantic City Review

My husband and I recently enjoyed an overnight getaway at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Atlantic City. The resort is a one-stop shop for an entertaining escape. We packed a lot into our one-night stay, and it left us looking forward to a return visit.