FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

AC Hotel Los Angeles South Bay Review

by Richard Evans

Mar 4, 2020

PHOTO: © AC HOTEL LOS ANGELES SOUTH BAY

March 2020

Arrival/Check-In: I arrived at the hotel in what felt like a few minutes after landing at LAX, no surprise since it is only three miles from the airport. I especially liked the proximity to the airport a few days later when catching an early flight home. The friendly staff at the front desk were fast and efficient in getting me checked in and on the way to my room. The hotel has a sleek, minimalist décor with muted colors accented with floral arrangements that I found soothing, especially after a long transcontinental trip.

Guest Quarters: My room was on the ground floor, which I was not too keen about at first. However, I soon realized one benefit is no time wasted waiting for elevators.

My room included one king-sized bed and a double sofa bed; an easy chair; a desk with desktop-level outlets for recharging one’s computer, iPad and phone; and a 55-inch, flat-screen TV. There was also a mini refrigerator, a safe, an iron/ironing board, a coffee/tea maker and free bottled water. And I always appreciate complimentary high-speed internet service.

The bathroom had a sink and a shower. The sleek, minimalist décor carried over here, as well.

Services/Amenities: The lobby has an open, free-form design that encompasses the bar/lounge and the breakfast area, where lots of windows provide plenty of natural light.

PHOTO: © AC HOTEL LOS ANGELES SOUTH BAY

The hotel restaurant, Flora, is located on the roof and includes an interior bar and an outdoor patio area with views of El Segundo and LAX. I was told the sunset views from the roof can be spectacular, and seeing the lights of the planes coming into the airport at night proves quite an experience. One of the things I liked about the patio area: The vegetables they use are grown behind it, so diners can see where the vegetable dishes come from. Talk about eating locally!

The hotel has a 24-hour fitness center as well as a business center.

With four meeting rooms and its location so close to LAX, the hotel makes an ideal venue for business meetings.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

◆ My stay was made pleasant because of the hotel staff’s friendly and accommodating attitude toward guests. A great staff is the first thing you remember about a hotel stay.

◆ The hotel prides itself on being pet-friendly. Although I have not had a dog in sometime, I am always pleased hotels allow the family pet.

◆ Many Los Angeles-area aerospace firms have major facilities nearby, so the hotel is likely a convenient place to stay when making a business call on these firms.

AC Hotel Los Angeles South Bay
2130 E. Maple Ave. El Segundo, CA 90245
tel 310 322 3333
marriott.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Explore Excursions

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jun 21, 2024

New Beds and Restaurants in Boise, Idaho

There’s lots going on in Boise, including an impressive selection of new hotels. Stays at The Sparrow will immediately immerse you in a sense of place, thanks to engaging, infographic- style artwork in each of the 67 guestrooms. You’ll find a local coffeehouse in the lobby, a food truck on the outdoor patio overlooking Grove Street, and an outdoor fireplace inviting guests to linger and mingle. Authentic, local experiences include the Brewery of the Month program.

L’Ermitage: Your Beverly Hills Self-Care Haven

Nestled amidst the palm-lined boulevards of Beverly Hills, L'Ermitage exudes refined elegance and unparalleled service. This haven, a Forbes Five-Star, AAA Five-Diamond and, most recently, Two Key MICHELIN Guide recipient, continues to captivate discerning travelers and Angelenos with its unwavering dedication to personalized hospitality and self-care.

June 2024
Jun 21, 2024

Saudi Arabia Fosters Sustainable, Regenerative Tourism Along the Red Sea

 My first experience of Saudi Arabia's Red Sea coast now seems like ancient history. It was 1995, and I was visiting my ornithologist cousin and is wife. Getting into the kingdom wasn't easy; I needed sponsorship letters. and a pre-trip interview at the Saudi Arabian Embassy. When I arrived in the country, there was no tourist infrastructure. We toured by SUV ad often slept under the stars. Thus, one morning, we woke up on roll-out mattresses on a Red Sea beach 200 miles from Jeddah.

Daily
Jun 21, 2024

2 New Concept Bars Opening This Fall in Texas and New York

Add New York City and Austin to your list of bar-hopping cities with the highly-anticipated debuts of Brass Poppy and Bar Sprezzatura.

Welcome to Wyndham Monterrey Ambassador Centro

Wyndham Monterrey Ambassador Centro, operated by Aimbridge LATAM, opened its doors, welcoming guests to one of the most iconic and traditional properties in Monterrey, Nuevo León. Boasting 229 rooms and suites, the hotel, part of Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, is ready for discerning travelers. Wyndham Hotels & Resorts is the largest hotel franchise company in the world with approximately 9,100 hotels in more than 95 countries.

Daily
Jun 21, 2024

Virgin Hotels to Open First London Hotel in August

On Aug. 1, Virgin Hotels debuts its first London property. Set to open in the heart of Shoreditch, this hotel will mark the brand’s eighth Virgin Hotels location worldwide and the 17th property for the wider Virgin Hotels Collection.

Daily
Jun 19, 2024

Sofitel New York Embarks on Comprehensive Renovation

Sofitel New York recently announced a comprehensive refurbishment project, timed to the Sofitel brand’s 60th anniversary this year. The Manhattan property’s renovation, set to start in late 2024, will reach all facets of the hotel, including the 398 guestrooms and suites, lobby, meeting spaces, elevators, and corridors. Completion of the public areas is anticipated by fall 2025.

IHG Hotels & Resorts: Elevating the Guest Experience & Expanding Globally

With a robust portfolio of brands catering to diverse traveler preferences, IHG has been on a strategic trajectory to conquer key markets worldwide. The IHG footprint continues to grow, offering unparalleled experiences to guests around the globe.

eFlyer Reviews
Jun 18, 2024

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Atlantic City Review

My husband and I recently enjoyed an overnight getaway at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Atlantic City. The resort is a one-stop shop for an entertaining escape. We packed a lot into our one-night stay, and it left us looking forward to a return visit.