FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

AC Hotel Los Angeles South Bay Review

by Richard Evans

Mar 4, 2020

PHOTO: © AC HOTEL LOS ANGELES SOUTH BAY

March 2020

Arrival/Check-In: I arrived at the hotel in what felt like a few minutes after landing at LAX, no surprise since it is only three miles from the airport. I especially liked the proximity to the airport a few days later when catching an early flight home. The friendly staff at the front desk were fast and efficient in getting me checked in and on the way to my room. The hotel has a sleek, minimalist décor with muted colors accented with floral arrangements that I found soothing, especially after a long transcontinental trip.

Guest Quarters: My room was on the ground floor, which I was not too keen about at first. However, I soon realized one benefit is no time wasted waiting for elevators.

My room included one king-sized bed and a double sofa bed; an easy chair; a desk with desktop-level outlets for recharging one’s computer, iPad and phone; and a 55-inch, flat-screen TV. There was also a mini refrigerator, a safe, an iron/ironing board, a coffee/tea maker and free bottled water. And I always appreciate complimentary high-speed internet service.

The bathroom had a sink and a shower. The sleek, minimalist décor carried over here, as well.

Services/Amenities: The lobby has an open, free-form design that encompasses the bar/lounge and the breakfast area, where lots of windows provide plenty of natural light.

PHOTO: © AC HOTEL LOS ANGELES SOUTH BAY

The hotel restaurant, Flora, is located on the roof and includes an interior bar and an outdoor patio area with views of El Segundo and LAX. I was told the sunset views from the roof can be spectacular, and seeing the lights of the planes coming into the airport at night proves quite an experience. One of the things I liked about the patio area: The vegetables they use are grown behind it, so diners can see where the vegetable dishes come from. Talk about eating locally!

The hotel has a 24-hour fitness center as well as a business center.

With four meeting rooms and its location so close to LAX, the hotel makes an ideal venue for business meetings.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

◆ My stay was made pleasant because of the hotel staff’s friendly and accommodating attitude toward guests. A great staff is the first thing you remember about a hotel stay.

◆ The hotel prides itself on being pet-friendly. Although I have not had a dog in sometime, I am always pleased hotels allow the family pet.

◆ Many Los Angeles-area aerospace firms have major facilities nearby, so the hotel is likely a convenient place to stay when making a business call on these firms.

AC Hotel Los Angeles South Bay
2130 E. Maple Ave. El Segundo, CA 90245
tel 310 322 3333
marriott.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Canada
Sep 23, 2021

Reimagined Park Hyatt Toronto Officially Reopens Its Doors

The restored Park Hyatt Toronto reopened its doors, bringing luxury, sophistication and glamour alongside a nod to the hotel’s Canadian heritage. Alessandro Munge of Studio Munge collaborated on the hotel’s refresh, drawing inspiration from Canada’s seasons and natural landscapes.

Register Today for the Most Important Gathering of Business Travel Professionals

The Global Business Travel Association’s (GBTA) Convention 2021 will be unlike any other convention before it, as we come together in person for the first time since the business travel industry drastically changed and look forward to rebuilding and reshaping the future. GBTA Convention 2021 will bring all of us together to learn from experts and each other, in-person at Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida, Nov. 17–19. The safety of our attendees is our top priority. View health and safety protocols.

eFlyer Reviews
Sep 22, 2021

Irwin’s Review

I recently dined at Irwin’s in Philadelphia. The restaurant is located on the rooftop of the Bok Building, a former school turned collective of small businesses, non-profits, artist workshops, a bar and restaurant. I previously visited Bok for the bar and yoga classes, and I was excited to experience the restaurant.

eFlyer News
Sep 22, 2021

GBTA Applauds Relaxing of U.S. Travel Ban for Vaccinated Foreign Nationals

The Global Business Travel Association, the world’s largest business travel and meetings trade organization, recently released a statement from GBTA CEO Suzanne Neufang regarding the Biden administration’s recent announcement that the U.S. travel ban will be relaxed in November for vaccinated travelers from 26 Schengen countries, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Greece: Destination Luxury

Since its prestige for attracting the world elite grew in the 1960s, Greece remains the go-to destination for glittering holidays. Each step of the journey is enrobed in luxury, from culinary traditions with the highest standard of execution and name-brand, high-end shopping to first-rate wellness locales and elite accommodations, like 5-star hotels, private villas and yachts.

eFlyer News
Sep 22, 2021

Northern Pacific Airways Purchases First Six Boeing 757-200s

Anchorage-based Northern Pacific Airways agreed to purchase its first six aircraft — Boeing 757s — this week. This transaction meets part of its initial fleet requirements, and the first aircraft from this purchase will be delivered immediately. Northern Pacific Airways plans to offer service between U.S. points and Asia, via Anchorage, Alaska.

September 2021
Sep 21, 2021

Retreat into Luxurious Stillness at The Rittenhouse Spa & Club

The Rittenhouse has long stood out as one of Philadelphia’s finest hotels, centrally located in one of the city’s poshest neighborhoods. Needless to say, I knew I was in for an afternoon of luxurious pampering when I hopped in my car and headed down I-95 from my suburban home to the heart of the City of Brotherly Love. As I drove through the seemingly endless roadwork on the highway, I realized just how long it had been since I’d driven this once-familiar route into the city as a result of the pandemic. Of course I was eager for the relaxation and bliss that was in my future, but it was also a welcome feeling to head back into Philadelphia for a moment of normalcy.

Experiencing GBTA Convention 2021
Safely and Responsibly

GBTA’s Convention 2021 will bring the business travel industry together for the first time in a long time. Once again, you’ll learn and connect with experts and each other, along with discussions with leading thinkers, entrepreneurs and change makers addressing the issues that matter most.

Daily
Sep 21, 2021

7 Reasons to Put Nice, France, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Nice, France, with us.