FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Qatar Airways — QSuite Review

by Francis X. Gallagher

Sep 22, 2020

PHOTOS: © QATAR AIRWAYS

September 2020

ON THE GROUND: I was invited to fly to Doha to see the unveiling of the new plans for the expansion of Hamad International Airport. Due to a family commitment, I had to leave a little later than others who were attending, and I therefore only had a few days in Qatar. The timing of this flight in the evening was perfect and allowed me to fulfill my family duties and then head to Philadelphia International Airport. I really am pleased and feel fortunate we have this direct service from Philadelphia to the Middle East; it makes travel so much easier, and the Qatar Airways service is super.

Check-in was fast. The station manager was waiting for me and welcomed me with a big smile. He moved my seat to a more comfortable location, and I was through security in no time, even with a little backup in the line.

Qatar Airways uses the British Airways lounge at Philadelphia, which could use a “shave and a haircut.” It was crowded, but I felt lucky to find a seat to enjoy a pre-boarding scotch and a few finger sandwiches as I charged my electronics.

Boarding was crowded, but the QSuite line was not, and my friend from check-in was there to take me through and on board. “Welcome, Francis. Let me take you to your suite,” he said.

PRE-FLIGHT: QSuite is Qatar’s answer to a super business/first product. Each passenger in QSuite has their own mini cabin, conducive to sleeping on the long flight to Doha. I can compare this to the Asiana first-class suite on the Airbus A380 (now business), but the QSuite is a tad bit smaller.

The crew did everything possible to get us settled and comfortable, including offering pre-flight drinks of juice or Champagne and reading material. They distributed fine amenity kits, detailed menus and a separate vast menu of the wine to be served. I got settled by hooking up my laptop and phone for power and charging.

IN-FLIGHT: My plan was to eat dinner and watch a movie or two and then sleep for the duration of the flight. Dinner started with garden pea soup followed by tapas appetizers. The main course selections included chicken biryani (with basmati rice), braised lamb with lentil rice pilaf, pan-seared snapper with a red pepper sauce, or penne pasta with basil pesto sauce. I chose the lamb, as this seemed to be a fitting dish for my flight to Doha. The lamb was served with turnips and carrots and went well with the Chilean Escudo Rojo Carménère 2017 I selected. Fine breads accompanied the meal, followed by an apple tart and fresh berries. Prior to landing, a complete breakfast was served, but I chose to have some fruit, as I had a dinner planned upon arrival.

Once the meal was complete, I watched the balance of my movie and then turned in. The flight attendant shut the cabin door on my QSuite, and I quickly fell asleep for the rest of the flight.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

How fortunate we are in Philadelphia to have this direct service to the Middle East — and on such a fine carrier.

The experience could only be topped by a dedicated Qatar Airways lounge in Philadelphia.

Arriving at Hamad International offers passengers a taste of the airport’s award-winning service.

QATAR AIRWAYS
qatarairways.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Explore Excursions

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Apr 24, 2024

Summer, Unplugged: Get Cozy at These Digital Detox Destinations

There is a cure for summertime blues in the digital age: Find yourself a beautiful country inn, cabin or retreat far in spirit from the maddening crowds and distractions of daily life. Next, unplug, relax and don’t look back.

Unearth Seoul’s Hidden Gems

Filled with hidden treasures waiting to be discovered, Seoul invites travelers to unearth its many gems, and Seoul Tourism Organization is here to help travelers do just that. Through thoughtfully created initiatives like the Theme Tourism County Competition, Seoul Tourism Organization works closely with local districts to identify and showcase what makes each district unique and charming in all seasons.

eFlyer Reviews
Apr 24, 2024

Fairfield by Marriott Phnom Penh Review

Phnom Penh as we imagined it stretches beneath us: a picturesque, low-rise mix of Southeast Asian and French Colonial styles. When the inhabitants of those buildings look back at us here in the Fairfield by Marriott hotel in Chip Mong Tower, they see the future.

Daily
Apr 24, 2024

Wolf by Vanderpump Opens at Harveys Lake Tahoe

Lisa Vanderpump, TV star and restaurateur, recently opened her newest restaurant, Wolf by Vanderpump at Harveys Lake Tahoe, in partnership with Caesars Entertainment. To commemorate the occasion, Vanderpump hosted a star-studded opening and surprised guests with an extravagant “white carpet” arrival with her dog, Marky.

Briggs & Riley: Elevate Your Journey with Quality Luggage

Embracing a life well lived often means embracing a life well-traveled. Every journey becomes a canvas for experiences that shape our lives and at the heart of every adventure lies the indispensable companion: quality luggage.

eFlyer News
Apr 24, 2024

World of Hyatt Members Can Now Earn Points at Mr. and Mrs. Smith Properties Worldwide

Starting today, World of Hyatt members can now earn and redeem points at a collection of more than 700 boutique and luxury hotels and villas around the globe with Mr. & Mrs. Smith. The luxury travel platform was acquired by Hyatt in 2023 and brings even more world-class properties and amenities to World of Hyatt guests than ever before.

Daily
Apr 24, 2024

Four Seasons Yachts Unveils Inaugural Itineraries

Four Seasons Yachts prepares for its inaugural season by unveiling the first 10 of its unique voyages in the Caribbean and Mediterranean.

The Argosaronic Islands Are Calling

The Saronic or Argo Saronic Islands of Greece call travelers to explore its seven small islands and islets brimming with history, natural sites and more. With most easily accessible by boat, the islands’ proximity to ports of Athens make the Saronic Islands an ideal destination for those preferring shorter boat rides. In fact, trips from Athens ports to the islands take only between 10 minutes and two hours, depending on the island you choose, making them perfect for day or weekend trips. From Piraeus port, you can access Hydra, Spetses, Aegina and Poros directly. Come explore these stunning islands with us and find the inspiration to plan your next trip to these islands. Hydra Hydra town curves around a slope overlooking the Argosaronic Gulf like an amphitheater and is considered one of the most romantic destinations in Greece. Most unique to the island is its lack of vehicles. People on the island get around on mules and donkeys as well as water taxis, making for a peaceful and laid-back day. Hydra lies a two-hour ferry ride from Piraeus port in Athens.

Daily
Apr 23, 2024

6 Wellness Experiences to Try Around the World from Four Seasons

Plan a wellness-focused getaway at one of these Four Seasons Hotels & Resorts around the world.