FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Pendry Chicago Review

by Haley Fogarty

Aug 6, 2022

PHOTO: © PENDRY CHICAGO

August 2022

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: After a rainy morning of travel to Chicago O’Hare International from Philly, an easy cab ride dropped me right at the door of Pendry Chicago around noon. A friendly doorman welcomed me by requesting the name of the reservation so he could alert the front desk of my arrival. There I was informed I had been upgraded to a Corner One-Bedroom Suite, a room on the 32nd floor boasting views of the Chicago River and the city’s skyline through multiple bay windows. I made my way to the golden elevators to explore the room and relax for lunch.

GUEST QUARTERS: The corner room was really a lovely surprise. Since our trip was just after St. Patrick’s Day, I was able to enjoy the last bit of the green Chicago River, dyed for the festive holiday. The door to the suite led me into a common area equipped with a dining table for four, a couch, coffee table, stocked bar and television. To the right I found the most beautifully decorated bathroom I have seen. The furnishings and décor were right up my alley with dark green marble features, golden fixtures, a large bath and glass shower. A king-sized bed sat in the middle of the bedroom, separated by a door from the rest of the suite. Another window in the bedroom created tons of natural light as I finished up the work day from bed. The suite was organized and clean. The décor enhanced the room and created a chic energy.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: Right off the bat, I was greeted in my room with a fruit platter and still and sparkling water, along with a handwritten note from the staff. I appreciated the personalization, but it truly did not stop there. Each time I left the property and returned, a precious gift of macaroons greeted me on my pillow, sometimes even twice a day!

The suite included turndown service, as I noticed dimmed lighting, fresh water and fluffed pillows each evening upon returning from dinner. One night, I even utilized the property’s fitness center. A Peloton bike caught my eye, along with other state-of-the-art equipment.

Pendry features a high-class bar, Bar Pendry, as well as a comfortable seating area next to the lobby perfect for a day spent working on the go. Clearly, attention to detail remains a top priority at Pendry in terms of both décor and energy throughout the property, as well as how employees welcome and host each and every guest. I loved my time spent at Pendry Chicago.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

Room service menu is extensive, service was quick and food was delicious.

A helpful and willing concierge is accessible most of the day.

Pendry welcomes hotel guests as well as events and walk-in diners at Bar Pendry.

PENDRY CHICAGO
230 Michigan Ave.
Chicago, IL 60601
tel 312 777 9000
pendry.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Destinations / Latin America
Feb 3, 2023

The Party Starts Late and Lasts Past Dawn in Buenos Aires

Buenos Aires, Argentina, comes to life at night. Translating to “good airs” or “fair winds,” Buenos Aires is an autonomous district filled to the brim with eclectic European architecture and a rich cultural life. The multicultural city, a melting pot of language, history, incredible food and music, comes to life at night. When you travel to Buenos Aires, be prepared to eat late, choose from hundreds of restaurants and thousands of bars and clubs, and dance beyond dawn. The city’s nightlife, as varied as it is intense, allows you to dance to whatever rhythm takes your fancy. A city that oozes sex appeal, it proves dynamic and passionate, and the beauty and rhythm will get under your skin for an amazing trip.

Hit the High Notes in Nashville

Nashville’s once-modest skyline continues to evolve as its luxury market grows. Lavish hotel properties are added to the landscape while acclaimed chefs stake claim in the robust culinary scene and premier cultural offerings round out the city’s repertoire.

Daily
Feb 3, 2023

What’s New in Iceland in 2023

Considering a trip to Iceland this year? The Nordic nation welcomes several new openings in 2023, from a mystical brewery to a family-run hotel.

January/February 2023
Feb 3, 2023

Uncover the Past: Explore Pioneer Square, Seattle’s Oldest Neighborhood

Like most big cities, Seattle’s distinct personality is made up of the sum of its many parts. Each of The Emerald City’s unique neighborhoods offers something distinct, and exploring them provides as much of an adventure as visiting the Space Needle or wandering stalls at Pike Place Market.

Luxurious Adventures Await.

Discover why Global Traveler readers named Cunard® the Best Large-Ship Cruise Line for seven consecutive years. For a limited time, book your voyage during Cunard’s Explore with More promotion and take advantage of lower fares*, up to $1,200 Onboard Credit†, Free Specialty Dining for Two^, 50% Reduced Deposit††, and more. Choose from an array of exciting journeys, including Transatlantic Crossings and voyages to Alaska, the Caribbean and Canada & New England.

Daily
Feb 3, 2023

Give Some Valentine’s Travel Love with Luxurious NOMATIC Travel Pack

Sleek, light, minimalist and your someone special’s new favorite travel gear, the TSA-ready Travel Pack from NOMATIC is cleverly designed to carry everything needed for shorter trips. And, if a professional silhouette is required for some expeditions, the pack’s slim profile and patent-pending strap system easily converts it into a briefcase that’s also RFID-safe.

Daily
Feb 1, 2023

Valentine’s Day Offerings from Rocco Forte Hotels

Rocco Forte Hotels offers travelers romantic options across its properties for Valentine’s Day.

Exclusive Savings: Cruise Along the Danube River with Global Traveler

Exclusive Sailing with Global Traveler

eFlyer Reviews
Feb 1, 2023

Springhill Suites Panama City Beach Review

As a motorized wheelchair user, my one goal when selecting a beachfront hotel is the availability of a view. Springhill Suites Panama City Beach exceeded my expectations.