FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

InterContinental Beijing Financial Street

Nov 1, 2008
2008 / November 2008

Arrival/Check-in: I arrived at the Beijing Airport for the second time in my life and was excited to embark on my business trip in China. I was full of confidence, but did breathe a sigh of relief when I saw a porter from the InterContinental waiting for me, literally as I got off the airplane. She escorted me through customs, to baggage claim and into the hands of the driver and limo service to the hotel, a service I highly recommend.

The check-in staff was awaiting my arrival, thanks to a call from the driver as we approached the city. En route we passed the Forbidden City, and we were less than a 10-minute drive (with no traffic) to the hotel. Check-in was friendly and efficient, and I was in my room in minutes with my luggage following slightly after. (30/30)

Guest Quarters: My room was large, with a flat-screen TV and a bathroom nearly as big as the bedroom. The space was sleek and refreshing. Furnishings were luxurious but not ornate. I appreciated the details, from the paintings to amenities, which reminded me that I was still in China despite my refuge in a Western-branded hotel. An oversized window helped bring natural light into the room (when the sun was out), and a desk offered plenty of workspace and high-speed Internet capabilities. (27/30)

Services/Amenities: Like most business travelers overseas, I have come to rely on the efficiencies of a hotel’s business center as though it were my own office. On my return one evening, I saw an email that needed an answer faxed to the United States immediately.

We all know what it’s like to be on deadline, but add on a time difference, jet lag and language barrier and it could be a recipe for disaster. Even though the business center was closed, the front desk staff made me feel like I was operating out of my own office, offering me the use of a printer and fax that allowed me to finish my project before deadline with no sweat.

The hotel offers four restaurants to suit all occasions. I hosted a business lunch at the Steak Exchange, which had a very professional and attentive staff. I tried breakfast in the main restaurant, Monsoon, but did find it too noisy for my liking, despite a plethora of international food options. I recommend booking a clubroom to have the option to dine throughout the day and, most importantly, for a peaceful breakfast alone or for a meeting. (37/40)

The Experience: I left the hotel feeling like a valued guest. I was greeted by name whenever entering the hotel, and the staff had helpful hints for any of my questions relating to business or leisure. I wanted to explore shopping for some electronics, and the concierge told me where to go and what to look for so I would not get any knock-offs. The location and staff offered a great combination to enhance my business trip.

Total Score: (94/100)

InterContinental Beijing Financial Street

11 Financial St.
Xicheng, Beijing, China 100034
tel 86 10 5852 5888
http://www.intercontinental.com/icbeijing

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
May 6, 2021

WalletHub’s 2021 Best Airlines

Now that more vaccines are being distributed, travel is starting to pick up and travelers feel more comfortable flying again. WalletHub conducted a survey to help people pick the best airline for them.

eFlyer Reviews
May 5, 2021

Crane’s Beach House Review

After driving through the arts and entertainment district of Delray Beach, I was expecting the lively and vibrant energy to follow me to my doorstep at Crane’s Beach House that evening. I was pleasantly surprised when the spirited rumble of a night downtown halted right at the front gate. As I walked the pathway to the front office for check-in, I was welcomed by a quiet rustle of the greenery and flowers that guided my walk, strung with lights and colorful, tropical décor. At check-in I was provided with a complimentary parking pass; although I would only be there for one night, I much appreciated this unexpected perk. I received my room information, including a pass code that would open my door. Keyless entry was a nice touch.

eFlyer News
May 5, 2021

Introductory Benefit for Frontier Airlines World Mastercard

Barclays and Frontier Airlines announced a first-ever introductory offer for the Frontier Airlines World Mastercard: no annual fee for the first year, then $79 every year after. New cardmembers also earn 50,000 bonus miles after qualifying purchases.

Sports Industry Awards returns to Dubai’s Palm Jumeirah for 8th Edition

The biggest names in the Middle East sporting community will gather for the Sports Industry Awards as the event returns for its eighth edition. SPIA recognizes the achievements of individuals, organizations, facilities and campaigns that contributed to the development of sport in the region.

eFlyer News
May 5, 2021

Kontiki Expeditions Reveals Cabin Design of New Yacht

Kontiki Expeditions shared a look at one of the nine luxury staterooms on its new boutique yacht M/Y Kontiki Wayra. Launching in August, each stateroom creates an inviting space of comfort and beauty. The yacht follows a biophilic design, mirroring the ambiance and look of the landscapes visited and connecting people to the environment.

Daily
May 4, 2021

6 Reasons to Say #WelcomeBacktoTravel in Cleveland, Ohio

As more destinations around the globe reopen to travelers, we are ready to get back to one of our favorite activities. Join us over the next several weeks as we take you to places around the world saying #WelcomeBacktoTravel. Take a visual journey through Cleveland, Ohio, with us.

Daily
May 4, 2021

Four Seasons New Orleans Introduces Chandelier Bar

Cocktail culture is an integral part of the history of New Orleans. Four Seasons Hotel and Private Residences New Orleans pays homage to classic cocktails with its Chandelier Bar. Opening in summer 2021, the lobby bar serves traditional and new cocktails under a stunning 15,000-crystal custom chandelier.

April/May 2021
May 3, 2021

European Sophistication Meets Latin Passion in Buenos Aires

Until you visit, you may never know the extent of Buenos Aires’ cosmopolitanism. From design and architecture to technology and banking — and across all the arts — Buenos Aires truly has a global feel that rivals Paris, New York and Tokyo. While it’s on the water, Buenos Aires is not a beach destination like Rio but rather a port city — hence locals are called Porteños and have a zest for life and want to share it with all who visit.