FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

InterContinental Beijing Financial Street

Nov 1, 2008
2008 / November 2008

Arrival/Check-in: I arrived at the Beijing Airport for the second time in my life and was excited to embark on my business trip in China. I was full of confidence, but did breathe a sigh of relief when I saw a porter from the InterContinental waiting for me, literally as I got off the airplane. She escorted me through customs, to baggage claim and into the hands of the driver and limo service to the hotel, a service I highly recommend.

The check-in staff was awaiting my arrival, thanks to a call from the driver as we approached the city. En route we passed the Forbidden City, and we were less than a 10-minute drive (with no traffic) to the hotel. Check-in was friendly and efficient, and I was in my room in minutes with my luggage following slightly after. (30/30)

Guest Quarters: My room was large, with a flat-screen TV and a bathroom nearly as big as the bedroom. The space was sleek and refreshing. Furnishings were luxurious but not ornate. I appreciated the details, from the paintings to amenities, which reminded me that I was still in China despite my refuge in a Western-branded hotel. An oversized window helped bring natural light into the room (when the sun was out), and a desk offered plenty of workspace and high-speed Internet capabilities. (27/30)

Services/Amenities: Like most business travelers overseas, I have come to rely on the efficiencies of a hotel’s business center as though it were my own office. On my return one evening, I saw an email that needed an answer faxed to the United States immediately.

We all know what it’s like to be on deadline, but add on a time difference, jet lag and language barrier and it could be a recipe for disaster. Even though the business center was closed, the front desk staff made me feel like I was operating out of my own office, offering me the use of a printer and fax that allowed me to finish my project before deadline with no sweat.

The hotel offers four restaurants to suit all occasions. I hosted a business lunch at the Steak Exchange, which had a very professional and attentive staff. I tried breakfast in the main restaurant, Monsoon, but did find it too noisy for my liking, despite a plethora of international food options. I recommend booking a clubroom to have the option to dine throughout the day and, most importantly, for a peaceful breakfast alone or for a meeting. (37/40)

The Experience: I left the hotel feeling like a valued guest. I was greeted by name whenever entering the hotel, and the staff had helpful hints for any of my questions relating to business or leisure. I wanted to explore shopping for some electronics, and the concierge told me where to go and what to look for so I would not get any knock-offs. The location and staff offered a great combination to enhance my business trip.

Total Score: (94/100)

InterContinental Beijing Financial Street

11 Financial St.
Xicheng, Beijing, China 100034
tel 86 10 5852 5888
http://www.intercontinental.com/icbeijing

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Explore Excursions

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jun 14, 2024

Former 1940s-Era Italian Bank Transformed Into Rome EDITION Hotel

It is hard to resist the pleasures of Rome, a city filled with world-renowned paintings; sculptures; thousands of colorful cafés; and hundreds of ancient buildings still standing and often used as offices, homes and museums. Certainly, Rome is the cradle from which all that is best about Italy emerged. It is difficult to open a new hotel in Rome without connecting it to the city’s history, art and culinary tradition. When Rome EDITION opened last year, it was the perfect fit for a city that lives and breathes all things extraordinary.

Hotel Indigo: The World’s Neighborhood Hotel

Part of the IHG Luxury & Lifestyle portfolio, Hotel Indigo is the world’s neighborhood hotel that celebrates how guests can discover, or rediscover, some of the most inspiring and culturally rich neighborhoods around the world. When staying at a Hotel Indigo hotel, it's not just about visiting a place — it's about being fully immersed in the neighborhood and wanting to take a little bit of it home. When traveling for business, Hotel Indigo offers a unique experience tailored to each location, making it the perfect choice to stay while traveling for work. With IHG Business Edge, travel managers have exclusive access to enticing perks, comprehensive travel metrics and carefully curated educational resources. It also includes a guaranteed discount on both business and personal travel for managers and employees, alongside an automatic upgrade to IHG One Rewards Silver Elite status after the initial IHG Business Edge stay.

June 2024
Jun 14, 2024

Loyalty Programs Revamp to Meet Changing Customer Preferences

Airlines and hotels consistently tweak loyalty programs to draw brand engagement based on shifting consumer habits, and the demands of younger generations make an impact. According to Chris Galloway, executive vice president, Strategy & Design, for brand loyalty experts Brandmovers, millennials are more active and engaged in loyalty programs than any other generation to date, and as Gen Z gains in buying/spending power, they also accelerate in their desire for loyalty and rewards programs.

Daily
Jun 14, 2024

Luxury Italian Farmhouse Launches 3 Seasonal, Hands-On Culinary Experiences

This summer, guests staying at Casetta Firenze, a luxury farmhouse in the Chianti region of Tuscany, can book three culinary workshops led by experts in the art of pasta making, traditional Tuscan dishes and vegetarian cuisine. Each workshop offers a multicourse meal, local produce and complementary wine.

Sail to the Tropical Splendors of Tahiti and The Tuamotu Islands with Windstar Cruises

This November, Windstar Cruises celebrates more than 36 years in Tahiti with an itinerary taking guests to the clear waters of Tahiti and The Tuamotu Islands on a journey exploring Tahitian culture, the ecosystems of Fakarava, and the sunsets of Raiatea and Bora Bora. The 10-day sailing aboard Star Breeze, Nov. 18–28, departs from Papeete and ends in Papeete.

Daily
Jun 14, 2024

Top U.S. States for Golfers

Relocation experts at My Baggage recently conducted a study to determine the top U.S. states for golfers by analyzing the distribution of golf courses, driving ranges, tournaments and golf coaches per 100,000 residents in every state, along with the number of platinum clubs. From there, each location was assigned a score and ranked accordingly.

Daily
Jun 12, 2024

Langham Hospitality Group Opens Cordis-Branded Hotel in Foshan, China

Langham Hospitality Group opened a new hotel under its upscale Cordis Hotels & Resorts brand, situated in the southern Chinese city of Foshan, a key urban center in the country’s Greater Bay Area. The Cordis, Foshan and Lingnan Tiandi Hotel is becoming a promising destination for both tourists and business travelers thanks to its planned upgrades and prime location in Lingnan Tiandi.

IHG Hotels & Resorts: Elevating the Guest Experience & Expanding Globally

With a robust portfolio of brands catering to diverse traveler preferences, IHG has been on a strategic trajectory to conquer key markets worldwide. The IHG footprint continues to grow, offering unparalleled experiences to guests around the globe.

eFlyer Reviews
Jun 12, 2024

Hôtel des Grands Voyageurs Review

It’s often declared Paris’ Left Bank, or La Rive Gauche, the local side of the Seine —  where bohemian and chic are used superfluously, albeit with some veracity. It only makes sense that travelers looking to stay on the Left Bank would seek as local an accommodation as possible — Hôtel des Grands Voyageurs is the new kid on the block and certainly delivers this with its design following the likes of a Parisian art collectors’ residence.