FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo Review

by Yasser Ogando

Sep 15, 2021

PHOTO: © MARRIOTT INTERNATIONAL

September 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: I arrived at JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo on a rainy Friday morning and was immediately greeted in the parking lot as the valet opened the car’s door for me and proceeded to unload my luggage. Due to health and safety protocols, the main entrance’s lobby was not fully furnished, but the impressive hydroponic wall garden caught my attention with its vibrant green and deep red tones that complemented the sleek, modern finish of the hotel.

I was directed to the main lobby on the second floor, where I was met with impeccable service. Since I was early for my check-in, I set up a little work station by the bar; and before I could even open my computer, I was told my room was ready. Perfect timing, since I had a long day ahead of me.

GUEST QUARTERS: Our room was on the 19th floor, directly below the 180-square-foot presidential suite, and it had a gorgeous view of the city through the almost-floor-to-ceiling windows. Since we were in a corner room, we could see the ocean, perfect because it showed us the way to a local attraction, El Malecón.

The room décor was modern and perfectly tailored for the luxury business traveler: a spacious desk in front of the aforementioned window with a corner lounge chair and lamp. The closet was a decent size, and there was more than enough drawer space for both of us. The bathroom also had tall glass windows which made it feel bigger than it actually was. While the views were beautiful, I was a bit bummed out ours didn’t have a bathtub or little balcony like the rest of the rooms do.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: Sporting a beautiful infinity pool and a thrilling, vertigo-inducing bar experience, the JW’s 15th- floor rooftop deck offered travelers stuck at the hotel due to COVID- 19 restrictions a gorgeous view to take in while enjoying the fresh air. Unfortunately, when we ventured up, rain clouds gathered and along with a cold wind made swimming feel more like a polar plunge. The all-glass sides allow a good portion of swimmers to show underwater, which can get a bit uncomfortable when you realize all the dining patrons can see you as well.

The JW’s Winston’s Grill captivates the eye and the palate between its hip wall homage to Pellegrino and delicious food. Dominican flavors and fresh produce inspire Chef Carlos Sebastiani’s international offerings. From the appetizer to the dessert, the food was impeccably cooked and plated and just the right portion size.

TOP TAKEAWAYS

  • Great location — a short walk to other malls, pharmacies, banks, restaurants, and a short drive to Zona Colonial
  • Outstanding cleanliness and service
  • Currency exchange is available.

JW MARRIOTT HOTEL SANTO DOMINGO
Winston Churchill Ave. 93 Santo Domingo 10501, Dominican Republic
tel 1 809 807 1717
marriott.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Cruising
Oct 15, 2021

Galataport Istanbul Welcomes First Ship

Galataport Istanbul, a new cruise and lifestyle destination on the Bosphorus in Istanbul, welcomed its first ship, SeaDream II, on Oct. 1. Approximately 150 passengers and crew from Bulgaria Varna arrived at 10 a.m. for a two-day homeport operation before continuing to Bulgaria Burgaz.

The Future of Hamad International Airport

Without a doubt, the pandemic changed the role of airports in the travel industry. Hamad International Airport’s role evolved in many ways since the pandemic hit. Now, more than ever, airports are responsible for creating a secure passenger experience. As the gateway to Qatar and the world, the safety and wellbeing of staff and passengers has always been at the core of Hamad International Airport’s strategy.

Events
Oct 14, 2021

Celebrate Halloween at a Medical Labyrinth

The countdown to Halloween weekend is on! Are you are still unsure about plans? Do you go to a house party? Stay in to hand out candy? Try something different this year and join Philadelphia’s  The Mütter Museum at its 6th annual Mischief at The Mütter.

eFlyer Reviews
Oct 13, 2021

Jackson’s Bar & Oven Review

There’s an aspirational rustic chic/farm-to-table restaurant genre often associated with Northern California’s wine country. When you drive down the main street of Napa, Sonoma or any of the other towns, it appears there are as many of them as there are vineyards. And there’s absolutely nothing wrong with this genre, as the quality of the food is consistent and ambitious chefs earnestly endeavor to elevate home-style dishes to a higher standard.

‘Tis the Season for a Luxurious Retreat

This holiday season, escape to the Caribbean with Celebrity Cruises and reconnect with family and friends in luxurious accommodations that make you feel right at home. Savor globally inspired cuisine designed by our Michelin-starred chef, paired with the most awarded wine collection at sea. Elevate “me time” with a soothing spa treatment sure to renew. With both long and short cruises to celebrate in December, and even three special Ultimate Holiday Cruises that sail over Christmas and into the New Year, the time to gift an experience and create unforgettable memories is now. Celebrity Cruises’ Always IncludedSM pricing — drinks, WiFi and tips — ensures a seamless, carefree vacation with the ones you love.

eFlyer News
Oct 13, 2021

The InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Collaborates with Porsche

The InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco announced a new amenity for guests in collaboration with Porsche. Porsche electric vehicle charging stations will now be located in the valet area of the hotel’s parking deck, allowing guests and visitors to top off the batteries of electric vehicles while enjoying a cocktail at Top of the Mark, enjoying farm-to-table fare at Nob Hill Club or staying overnight at the property.

Daily
Oct 13, 2021

Grenada Fall and Winter Specials

Head to the Caribbean to escape the cold fall and winter weather. Grenada hotels offer travelers numerous deals, perfect for a fall, winter or holiday getaway.

Experiencing GBTA Convention 2021
Safely and Responsibly

GBTA’s Convention 2021 will bring the business travel industry together for the first time in a long time. Once again, you’ll learn and connect with experts and each other, along with discussions with leading thinkers, entrepreneurs and change makers addressing the issues that matter most.

Daily
Oct 12, 2021

6 Reasons to Put Reykjavik, Iceland, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Reykjavik with us.