FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Hôtel Bel-Ami Review

by Irvina Lew

Mar 9, 2022

© Hotel Bel Ami

eFlyer Reviews

Hotel Bel Ami was my long weekend home in September 2018; the intimate and contemporary 5-star hotel delighted me because it was so near the Left Bank cafés, galleries and shops in the vibrant Saint-Germain-des-Près quartier. This past November, I was thrilled to return to the oh-so-stylish, 108-room boutique hotel.

Much had stayed the same: the entry, with the front desk on the right, and the concierge desk, straight ahead; the Mid Century Modern décor extends from the lobby to the adjacent living room-style lounge, library and bar, with its Macassar Eboni alcoves. Beyond the elevators, the windowed walls of the Bel Ami Café brings light to the airy breakfast room that’s particularly popular for Sunday brunch. On a lower level, the Carita spa offers a relaxation lounge, sauna and two treatment cabines and a fitness room.

What had changed was an entirely reimagined first floor transformed during the COVID-19 closure from eight rooms to five smartly designed apartments, completely redecorated by interior designer Pascal Allaman.

In 2018, my smallish — though well-equipped and comfortable — room faced the street, had a custom-designed, built-in wood desk and cabinets, a wooden headboard, a leather trimmed rug and geometric patterns. This time, I stayed in an executive suite, with a couch, coffee table, coffee bar and TV in the living area and a desk and spacious closet in the sleeping section.

On both occasions, I tried to remain in the Saint-Germain-des-Près neighborhood to frequent famous nearby cafés Les Deux Magots, Café de Flore and Brasserie Lipp, where Sartre and de Beauvoir and Hemingway spent time. The concierge, who always greeted me by name, booked Chez Papa Jazz Club, across the street, where I drank wine, listened to wonderful music and ate dinner; he recommended nearby restaurants, shops and even the best hair stylist: Dessange.

On my recent visit, I walked along the Seine to Boulevard Saint Michel and up to rue Gay Lussac, near the Luxembourg Gardens, where I lived while studying at the Sorbonne. The Saint-Germain-des-Près quartier is likewise convenient for visitors eager to walk along the Seine to the Musée d’Orsay and the Louvre. Mostly, it’s where one just wants to be in Paris.

Hôtel Bel-Ami

7 Rue Saint-Benoît
75006 Paris, France
tel 33 1 42 61 53 53

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Sep 27, 2022

Six Senses Zighy Bay Offers Overnight Private Musandam Voyages

Six Senses Zighy Bay sets sail for its latest out-of-the-ordinary experience. The newly refurbished Dhahab, meaning gold in Arabic, offers one- or two-night voyages for the ultimate sea-hotel adventure.

Celebrity Cruises’ Spring Sale

There’s no better time to plan the vacation you’ve been missing. Step aboard with your better half, your friends or the whole family and reconnect, reunite and rejoice with 25 percent off cruise fares for all guests. We’ll also help everyone get there with 25 percent off airfare from 20 major gateways across the country or $100 savings per person on flights from all other gateways when you book your air travel using Flights by Celebrity.*

Slideshow
Sep 26, 2022

6 Reasons to Put Minneapolis, Minnesota, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Minneapolis, Minnesota, with us.

Daily
Sep 26, 2022

Best Resort Dining in Mexico

Resorts throughout Mexico offers guests excellent culinary options. Add these Brisas Group resorts to your list for your next visit to Mexico.

Celebrity is celebrating Spring with 25% off Cruise Fares!

There’s no better time to plan the vacation you’ve been missing. Step aboard with your better half, your friends or the whole family and reconnect, reunite and rejoice with 25 percent off cruise fares for all guests. We’ll also help everyone get there with 25 percent off airfare from 20 major gateways across the country or $100 savings per person on flights from all other gateways when you book your air travel using Flights by Celebrity.*

Daily
Sep 26, 2022

The Bodrum EDITION Announces 3rd annual Zen Weekend

This October, The Bodrum EDITION hosts its third Zen Weekend in collaboration with artisanal lifestyle brand Caravana. Oct. 6–9, guests can indulge themselves in rebalancing wellness sessions aligning the body and soul before winter starts.

Daily
Sep 22, 2022

Copa Airlines Celebrates 75 Years with Commemorative Aircraft Livery

Copa Airlines celebrated its 75th anniversary recently by showcasing a Boeing 737-800 NG in an aircraft livery that harkened back to the airline’s look in the 1990s. During that time period, Copa Airlines launched an expansion of their network to become the Hub of the Americas, connect the Americas and promote Panama.

TAP Air Portugal’s Porto

When American travelers make plans to visit Portugal, Lisbon is usually their first stop.

Daily
Sep 21, 2022

Dubai Hotel Openings 2023

Dubai saw more than 7 million tourism arrivals in the first half of 2022. The city offers plenty of new lodging options for travelers planning 2023 trips. Check out these hotel openings next year  in Dubai.