FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Hôtel Bel-Ami Review

by Irvina Lew

Mar 9, 2022

© Hotel Bel Ami

eFlyer Reviews

Hotel Bel Ami was my long weekend home in September 2018; the intimate and contemporary 5-star hotel delighted me because it was so near the Left Bank cafés, galleries and shops in the vibrant Saint-Germain-des-Près quartier. This past November, I was thrilled to return to the oh-so-stylish, 108-room boutique hotel.

Much had stayed the same: the entry, with the front desk on the right, and the concierge desk, straight ahead; the Mid Century Modern décor extends from the lobby to the adjacent living room-style lounge, library and bar, with its Macassar Eboni alcoves. Beyond the elevators, the windowed walls of the Bel Ami Café brings light to the airy breakfast room that’s particularly popular for Sunday brunch. On a lower level, the Carita spa offers a relaxation lounge, sauna and two treatment cabines and a fitness room.

What had changed was an entirely reimagined first floor transformed during the COVID-19 closure from eight rooms to five smartly designed apartments, completely redecorated by interior designer Pascal Allaman.

In 2018, my smallish — though well-equipped and comfortable — room faced the street, had a custom-designed, built-in wood desk and cabinets, a wooden headboard, a leather trimmed rug and geometric patterns. This time, I stayed in an executive suite, with a couch, coffee table, coffee bar and TV in the living area and a desk and spacious closet in the sleeping section.

On both occasions, I tried to remain in the Saint-Germain-des-Près neighborhood to frequent famous nearby cafés Les Deux Magots, Café de Flore and Brasserie Lipp, where Sartre and de Beauvoir and Hemingway spent time. The concierge, who always greeted me by name, booked Chez Papa Jazz Club, across the street, where I drank wine, listened to wonderful music and ate dinner; he recommended nearby restaurants, shops and even the best hair stylist: Dessange.

On my recent visit, I walked along the Seine to Boulevard Saint Michel and up to rue Gay Lussac, near the Luxembourg Gardens, where I lived while studying at the Sorbonne. The Saint-Germain-des-Près quartier is likewise convenient for visitors eager to walk along the Seine to the Musée d’Orsay and the Louvre. Mostly, it’s where one just wants to be in Paris.

Hôtel Bel-Ami

7 Rue Saint-Benoît
75006 Paris, France
tel 33 1 42 61 53 53

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Press Releases
Jan 27, 2023

Protected: FXExpress Traveler of the Year

FXExpress Traveler of the Year Contest 2023

75 Years Connecting the Americas

Copa Airlines is celebrating its 75th anniversary by showcasing a Boeing 737-800 NG in an aircraft livery that harkened back to the airline’s look in the 1990s. During that time, Copa Airlines launched an expansion of their network to become the Hub of the Americas®, changing the way to travel to and connect in our Continent.

Asia / Singapore
Jan 27, 2023

Bamboo Forests Inspire Singapore’s Mixed-Use Tower Project

Envisioned as one of Asia’s most sustainable skyscrapers, a proposed 63-story, mixed-use downtown development project in Singapore takes cues from bamboo forests to create an indoor-outdoor vertical community with public spaces, offices, retail, a hotel, event spaces and luxury residences.

January/February 2023
Jan 27, 2023

Slice of Paradise: Australia’s Whitsunday Islands

Australia's Whitsunday Islands are an unimaginable destination. As many screensavers or wanderlust-worthy documentaries as you may come across of the 74 continental islands off the central coast of Queensland, located within the Great Barrier Reef

Luxurious Adventures Await.

Discover why Global Traveler readers named Cunard® the Best Large-Ship Cruise Line for seven consecutive years. For a limited time, book your voyage during Cunard’s Explore with More promotion and take advantage of lower fares*, up to $1,200 Onboard Credit†, Free Specialty Dining for Two^, 50% Reduced Deposit††, and more. Choose from an array of exciting journeys, including Transatlantic Crossings and voyages to Alaska, the Caribbean and Canada & New England.

Daily
Jan 27, 2023

5 Ultimate Valentine’s Day Getaways

There’s still time to plan the ultimate Valentine’s Day getaway. Consider a trip to one of these destinations.

Daily
Jan 25, 2023

What’s New in Berlin 2023

Dynamic events in Berlin continue in 2023. Here are some noteworthy events and activities taking place in Germany’s capital city in the year ahead.

Hit the High Notes in Nashville

Nashville’s once-modest skyline continues to evolve as its luxury market grows. Lavish hotel properties are added to the landscape while acclaimed chefs stake claim in the robust culinary scene and premier cultural offerings round out the city’s repertoire.

Daily
Jan 25, 2023

Louis Comfort Tiffany Exhibition Comes to Marie Selby Botanical Gardens in Sarasota, Florida

Beginning Feb. 12, Sarasota’s Marie Selby Botanical Gardens presents Tiffany: The Pursuit of Beauty in Nature as the 2023 installment of its Jean & Alfred Goldstein exhibition series. The exhibit showcases the creativity and innovation of the iconic American artist and designer Louis Comfort Tiffany.