FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Fever App Presents: Dining in the Dark Review

by Audrey Lee

Oct 20, 2021

Seventyfourimages | Dreamstime.com

Events

In April 2021, I was skimming Facebook when an ad for a blind-folded dining experience popped up on my newsfeed. The event was hosted through a company called Fever that offers fun, interactive events in major cities and virtually for people to enjoy. Intrigued, I clicked the link to learn more. The description made the event sound exciting and mysterious. When I give someone a present for their birthday, the holidays or a wedding, I like to give the gift of an experience that the recipient can learn something from. My boyfriend’s 30th birthday was in June, when the event was to be hosted, so I thought this would be a great surprise for him.

 

A week before our reservation, I received an email that the dinner would be pushed back to July due to an incident involving COVID. I completely understood and would rather wait to enjoy the event when things were safe.

 

The newly selected date in July was coming up and I received another email that the event was to be postponed, this time without an expected date. I contacted their support team to see if this was a mistake but they explained they did not know why it was being held at a later date, but I would be sent information when it was rescheduled. Another month passed and I did not hear anything. The back and forth of contacting support every other week continued until late August. I was finally given a new date and location for mid-October.

 

After all the back and forth, I managed to still keep the dinner a surprise. I was able to keep it a secret for months.

 

On the rescheduled date, we arrived to the location and were sat at our table. The room was only lit by battery-operated candles and twinkle lights around the bar. He still had no idea what was going on until our host announced it was time to put on our blindfolds.

 

 

We enjoyed a three-course meal in complete darkness. The food was flavorful and, to my surprise, hard to guess what it was without the element of sight. At the end of each course, our host announced over her microphone what we were eating and our minds put two and two together.

 

Although the food was delicious, I wished there was a bit more. I opted for the meat selection and that was all I received. My first course was pork belly, my second short ribs. There were no accompaniments like vegetables or a starch. For that, I was disappointed as the tickets were $80 each. The price to plate were not equal in my eyes.

 

I would suggest this experience to others for the fun and interaction, but do not hold out too much hope for the dishes.

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Nov 30, 2021

Energy Healers Join Spiritual Journeys at Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort

Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort’s acclaimed Anantara Spa incorporates indigenous practices from world traditions, offering signature experiences individually personalized. And now, two renowned healers, experts in holistic, natural approaches to healing mind, body and spirit, join the celebrated Ibu Jero, High Priestess of Balinese Healers, at the spa.

Greece: Destination Culture

History and culture are etched into every corner of Greece. Beginning with its language, the oldest written language still in existence, and moving from the traces of passing civilizations and religions to pre-historic findings and works from many movements, there’s a wealth of culture to discover on your next trip to Greece.

Daily
Nov 30, 2021

6 Reasons to Put Tulum, Mexico, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Tulum with us.

November 2021
Nov 29, 2021

Get a Taste of Spirits and Sports in Louisville

While the lure of 10 tasting rooms along the only Urban Bourbon Trail in the United States (and the world) brings almost 19 million visitors to Louisville each year, business and city leaders have plans to grow the city to attract another type of visitor — the sports enthusiast.

The Future of Hamad International Airport

Without a doubt, the pandemic changed the role of airports in the travel industry. Hamad International Airport’s role evolved in many ways since the pandemic hit. Now, more than ever, airports are responsible for creating a secure passenger experience. As the gateway to Qatar and the world, the safety and wellbeing of staff and passengers has always been at the core of Hamad International Airport’s strategy.

Daily
Nov 29, 2021

Hawai’i’s First-Ever Sippin’ Santa Pop-Up Debuts at Prince Waikiki

This holiday season, award-winning oceanfront hotel Prince Waikiki will partner with Miracle Bar’s Sippin’ Santa, making it the first time the state of Hawai’i has hosted a Miracle Bar pop-up. The hotel will turn its outdoor space into a tiki-themed winter wonderland furnished with both classic and Hawai’ian-inspired holiday decorations. The exclusive holiday cocktail event will be open Dec. 1–31, daily 4–10 p.m.

eFlyer Reviews
Nov 24, 2021

Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 Review

If you’ve ever dreamt of experiencing the good life of Florence’s great families — but in a modern context — Antica Torre di Via Tournabuoni 1 more than fulfills the requirements. The former private villa in its newly reinvigorated state (completed during the pandemic) offers a full-on Florentine immersion, whether you are traveling on business, pleasure or some mix of both. The location (the physical and cultural center of Florence) and the mid-13th-century building’s conversation-starting pedigree (built by the Guelf-Ruggerini family and owned by the Gianfigliazzi family) are two of the most important selling points. However, it’s what the current management has done to make the property relevant to 21st-century travelers that makes it worth checking into.

‘Tis the Season for a Luxurious Retreat

This holiday season, escape to the Caribbean with Celebrity Cruises and reconnect with family and friends in luxurious accommodations that make you feel right at home. Savor globally inspired cuisine designed by our Michelin-starred chef, paired with the most awarded wine collection at sea. Elevate “me time” with a soothing spa treatment sure to renew. With both long and short cruises to celebrate in December, and even three special Ultimate Holiday Cruises that sail over Christmas and into the New Year, the time to gift an experience and create unforgettable memories is now. Celebrity Cruises’ Always IncludedSM pricing — drinks, WiFi and tips — ensures a seamless, carefree vacation with the ones you love.

eFlyer News
Nov 24, 2021

The World’s Top 10 Cities for Art and Culture Lovers

Research conducted by money.co.uk reveals, out of 40 global cities reviewed, the 10 best cities in the world for art and culture lovers, with four of the top 10 located in the United States. The rankings factored in the number of art galleries, museums, monuments, street art and architecturally notable buildings.