FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

21c Museum Hotel Nashville Review

by Angelique Platas

May 1, 2020

© 21C MUSEUM HOTEL

April 2020

Arrival/Check-In: Walking into the stark-white lobby of the 21c Museum Hotel Nashville, I was immediately reminded of the hotel’s namesake — yes, it looked like a museum; no, I was not quite ready for the bright lights at the hour of my late check-in. As the young staff member at the front desk kindly chatted while checking me in, I noticed a few interesting statues behind him, one of a woman seemingly floating while holding the leash of an animal-skin rug. Again, an odd sight at the hour of my late check-in, but I made a mental note to tour the hotel in the morning and get a second look.

Within a few minutes I was headed to the elevator to venture up to my luxury king room. A few scans of the key in the elevator, one replacement keycard later when I realized it simply didn’t work, and up I went — along for the ride was a video on the elevator wall that looked like a kaleidoscope of snakes twisting in a terrarium. The darkness of the elevator made the snakes pop and illuminate the small space. Art really is subjective.

Guest Quarters: Wandering through the dark hallways of the sixth floor to my room, narrowly avoiding three penguin statues positioned together as if in conversation in the hallway, I was that person using my phone as a flashlight to find my room. Once inside, the bright-white bathroom drew my attention, featuring (MALIN+GOETZ) soaps and enough sink surface to double as a vanity, with neatly stacked towels topped with a rubber ducky.

Walking further into the room, I was drawn to the king-sized bed like a moth to a flame but distracted by the mid-century furniture and wide-open windows — two design themes I’m a sucker for. The fold-top desk held a generously sized television; inside the desk were a minibar, Nespresso maker, water bottles and some stylish glassware. I placed my bag on the seat by the window, pulled the black-out curtains closed and slept like a rock.

In the morning I pulled back the floor-to-ceiling curtains to a sunshine-filled view of the Cumberland River. The wide window ledge could serve as that reading corner we’ve all always wanted, but the call of downtown Nashville was too strong.

Services/Amenities: The hotel had more amenities than I had time for, including a spa, 24-hour fitness center equipped with Peloton bikes, 24-hour business center and full museum of contemporary art. In the morning, several visitors were touring the exhibits in the lobby and making their way to the restaurant and museum on their own accord.

The museum in Gray & Dudley (the on-site restaurant and quirky stunner on its own) is free to the public, open daily and boasts more than 10,500 square feet of exhibit space. Between the art displayed around the museum and on guestroom floors, the hotel offers one of the largest collections of contemporary art in the country. I took a self-guided tour, but 21c actually offers expert guides twice a week, with fun events mixed in, including specialty themed tours.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

◆ I found a hardcover copy of Art Is the Highest Form of Hope & Other Quotes by Artists on the bedside table — I picked it up in the morning and couldn’t put it down.

◆ The hotel’s exhibits rotate, so if you’re in a 21c Museum Hotel city, check out what’s showing online and pop in for free.

◆ Only guests can see the art collection spread across guestroom floors, as you need a room key to ride the elevator.

◆ See something you like? Take it home! Like all self-respecting museums, there’s an online gift shop.

21C MUSEUM HOTEL NASHVILLE

221 Second Ave. N.
Nashville, TN 37201
tel 615 610 6400
21cmuseumhotels.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Oct 22, 2021

Winter Escape at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla

The Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla is opening its acclaimed doors Oct. 22 to celebrate its fifth and most exciting season. The resort will introduce new programming including culinary, fitness and music.

Greece: Destination Culture

History and culture are etched into every corner of Greece. Beginning with its language, the oldest written language still in existence, and moving from the traces of passing civilizations and religions to pre-historic findings and works from many movements, there’s a wealth of culture to discover on your next trip to Greece.

Cruising
Oct 21, 2021

Seabourn Names Second Ultra-Luxury Expedition Ship

Seabourn recently announced the name of its second new ultra-luxury purpose-built expedition ship: Seabourn Pursuit. The name reflects the passion of expedition travelers to seek out and explore natural wonders and destinations through activities around the globe.

eFlyer Reviews
Oct 20, 2021

The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago Review

Though the Chicago area has been my home for decades, the view from the Water Tower Suite on the 26th floor of The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago made me gasp. I had admired Chicago’s dramatic skyline many times, but never from this angle. Through expansive windows, the skyscrapers of 900 N. Michigan Ave. and the John Hancock Center, now named 875 North Michigan Avenue, rose to my right. Far below, the landmark Chicago Water Tower nestled in a ring of trees. One of the few survivors of the Great Chicago Fire, a turning point in the city’s history being remembered on its 150th anniversary in 2021, the Gothic Revival relic resembled a fairy-tale castle in a children’s playset.

Register Today for the Most Important Gathering of Business Travel Professionals

The Global Business Travel Association’s (GBTA) Convention 2021 will be unlike any other convention before it, as we come together in person for the first time since the business travel industry drastically changed and look forward to rebuilding and reshaping the future. GBTA Convention 2021 will bring all of us together to learn from experts and each other, in-person at Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida, Nov. 17–19. The safety of our attendees is our top priority. View health and safety protocols.

eFlyer News
Oct 20, 2021

President Biden Signs 9/11 Trail Designation

President Biden signed H.R. 2278, bipartisan legislation to designate a September 11th National Memorial Trail. The trail route will link the National September 11th Memorial and Museum in New York; the Pentagon Memorial in Arlington, Virginia; and the Flight 93 National Memorial in Somerset County, Pennsylvania.

Events
Oct 20, 2021

Fever App Presents: Dining in the Dark Review

In April 2021, I was skimming Facebook when an ad for a blind-folded dining experience popped up on my newsfeed. The event was hosted through a company called Fever that offers fun, interactive events in major cities and virtually for people to enjoy. Intrigued, I clicked the link to learn more. The description made the event sound exciting and mysterious. When I give someone a present for their birthday, the holidays or a wedding, I like to give the gift of an experience that the recipient can learn something from. My boyfriend’s 30th birthday was in June, when the event was to be hosted, so I thought this would be a great surprise for him.

Greece: Destination Luxury

Since its prestige for attracting the world elite grew in the 1960s, Greece remains the go-to destination for glittering holidays. Each step of the journey is enrobed in luxury, from culinary traditions with the highest standard of execution and name-brand, high-end shopping to first-rate wellness locales and elite accommodations, like 5-star hotels, private villas and yachts.

Daily
Oct 19, 2021

6 Reasons to Put Austin, Texas, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Austin, Texas, with us.