FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

21c Museum Hotel Nashville Review

by Angelique Platas

May 1, 2020

© 21C MUSEUM HOTEL

April 2020

Arrival/Check-In: Walking into the stark-white lobby of the 21c Museum Hotel Nashville, I was immediately reminded of the hotel’s namesake — yes, it looked like a museum; no, I was not quite ready for the bright lights at the hour of my late check-in. As the young staff member at the front desk kindly chatted while checking me in, I noticed a few interesting statues behind him, one of a woman seemingly floating while holding the leash of an animal-skin rug. Again, an odd sight at the hour of my late check-in, but I made a mental note to tour the hotel in the morning and get a second look.

Within a few minutes I was headed to the elevator to venture up to my luxury king room. A few scans of the key in the elevator, one replacement keycard later when I realized it simply didn’t work, and up I went — along for the ride was a video on the elevator wall that looked like a kaleidoscope of snakes twisting in a terrarium. The darkness of the elevator made the snakes pop and illuminate the small space. Art really is subjective.

Guest Quarters: Wandering through the dark hallways of the sixth floor to my room, narrowly avoiding three penguin statues positioned together as if in conversation in the hallway, I was that person using my phone as a flashlight to find my room. Once inside, the bright-white bathroom drew my attention, featuring (MALIN+GOETZ) soaps and enough sink surface to double as a vanity, with neatly stacked towels topped with a rubber ducky.

Walking further into the room, I was drawn to the king-sized bed like a moth to a flame but distracted by the mid-century furniture and wide-open windows — two design themes I’m a sucker for. The fold-top desk held a generously sized television; inside the desk were a minibar, Nespresso maker, water bottles and some stylish glassware. I placed my bag on the seat by the window, pulled the black-out curtains closed and slept like a rock.

In the morning I pulled back the floor-to-ceiling curtains to a sunshine-filled view of the Cumberland River. The wide window ledge could serve as that reading corner we’ve all always wanted, but the call of downtown Nashville was too strong.

Services/Amenities: The hotel had more amenities than I had time for, including a spa, 24-hour fitness center equipped with Peloton bikes, 24-hour business center and full museum of contemporary art. In the morning, several visitors were touring the exhibits in the lobby and making their way to the restaurant and museum on their own accord.

The museum in Gray & Dudley (the on-site restaurant and quirky stunner on its own) is free to the public, open daily and boasts more than 10,500 square feet of exhibit space. Between the art displayed around the museum and on guestroom floors, the hotel offers one of the largest collections of contemporary art in the country. I took a self-guided tour, but 21c actually offers expert guides twice a week, with fun events mixed in, including specialty themed tours.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

◆ I found a hardcover copy of Art Is the Highest Form of Hope & Other Quotes by Artists on the bedside table — I picked it up in the morning and couldn’t put it down.

◆ The hotel’s exhibits rotate, so if you’re in a 21c Museum Hotel city, check out what’s showing online and pop in for free.

◆ Only guests can see the art collection spread across guestroom floors, as you need a room key to ride the elevator.

◆ See something you like? Take it home! Like all self-respecting museums, there’s an online gift shop.

21C MUSEUM HOTEL NASHVILLE

221 Second Ave. N.
Nashville, TN 37201
tel 615 610 6400
21cmuseumhotels.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
January/February 2021
Mar 4, 2021

Set Your Sights on San Antonio’s Art, Culture and Green Spaces

San Antonio celebrated 300 years of progress in May 2018. With a clear vision following that anniversary year, the Texan city set its sights firmly on 300 more. While commemorating this milestone, the city underwent a major overhaul to prepare for the next phase in its history.

The Greatest Show on Earth

Step right up to the greatest show on Earth as FXExpress Publications, Global Traveler, trazeetravel.com and whereverfamily.com celebrate their 2020 award winners! Join the big top on Dec. 14 as we virtually award the winners of the 17th annual GT Tested Reader Survey awards, including the Airline and Hotel of the Year; the 17th annual Wines on the Wing Airline Wine Survey; the eighth annual Leisure Lifestyle Awards; the sixth annual The Trazees; and the third annual Wherever Awards.

Daily
Mar 4, 2021

SoJo Spa Club: Tranquility with an Urban View

When you think of a relaxing spa day, mountains, rivers and view of gorgeous landscapes pop in your head; a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of any city’s booming music and honking taxis. SoJo Spa Club and Hotel gives you the relaxing feeling of being away while still staying close to the busy center of Manhattan.

eFlyer Reviews
Mar 3, 2021

Mondrian Doha Review

I was part of a group of travelers attending the Hamad International Airport Expansion presentation in Doha. Most arrived the day before, but due to a family commitment, I arrived the following day. A driver picked me up at the airport and drove me to the sleek and modern Mondrian Doha, designed by Marcel Wanders of the Netherlands. The 270-room property was the first sbe hotel in the Middle East. My luggage was scanned and put aside for a hand check and the guard removed the little sleep sound device I use to cover city noise when I sleep and travel. “No speakers allowed,” the guard said, but once I explained what the item was he allowed me to take it. From there, check-in was swift, and I received a packet of information about dinner and the week’s agenda.

What To Expect When Flying: oneworld Debuts Information Portal

Though air travel slowed as airports temporarily closed and borders shuttered to stifle the spread of coronavirus, the airline industry — led by oneworld alliance member airlines — enacted enhanced protective measures to reduce risk and protect passengers.

eFlyer News
Mar 3, 2021

Munich Airport Works Toward Climate Neutrality

As ACI EUROPE and leading European aviation associations recently detailed a plan to make sustainable aviation a reality, Munich Airport continues its work toward climate neutrality. In 2019, MUC was one of the first airports in Germany to sign a Net Zero Carbon resolution alongside more than 200 other European airports in 2019. The pledge aims to deliver net zero airport CO2 emissions by 2050.

Daily
Mar 3, 2021

The Galt House Hotel Updates Meeting Offerings

The Galt House Hotel in Louisville, Kentucky, introduces new meeting offerings starting this month. Louisville’s only waterfront hotel recently underwent a property-wide $80 million renovation on all guestrooms, meeting spaces and new food and beverage concepts.

Adventure Redefined: Volvo Overseas Delivery

Custom order your Volvo through the Overseas Delivery Program and receive round-trip airfare, hotel accommodations, and a personalized delivery at the Volvo Factory Delivery Experience in Gothenburg, Sweden. Your experience begins in Sweden with insurance and registration included, enabling you to drive your new Volvo throughout Scandinavia and Europe. Create the adventure of a lifetime with the program named Best Overseas Delivery four years running, and return home with the ultimate souvenir.

Daily
Mar 2, 2021

6 Reasons to Put Madrid, Spain, on Your Travel List

As the vaccine rolls out and travel begins to pick up, it’s time to start dreaming of your next international trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Madrid, Spain, with us.