FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

21c Museum Hotel Nashville Review

by Angelique Platas

May 1, 2020

© 21C MUSEUM HOTEL

April 2020

Arrival/Check-In: Walking into the stark-white lobby of the 21c Museum Hotel Nashville, I was immediately reminded of the hotel’s namesake — yes, it looked like a museum; no, I was not quite ready for the bright lights at the hour of my late check-in. As the young staff member at the front desk kindly chatted while checking me in, I noticed a few interesting statues behind him, one of a woman seemingly floating while holding the leash of an animal-skin rug. Again, an odd sight at the hour of my late check-in, but I made a mental note to tour the hotel in the morning and get a second look.

Within a few minutes I was headed to the elevator to venture up to my luxury king room. A few scans of the key in the elevator, one replacement keycard later when I realized it simply didn’t work, and up I went — along for the ride was a video on the elevator wall that looked like a kaleidoscope of snakes twisting in a terrarium. The darkness of the elevator made the snakes pop and illuminate the small space. Art really is subjective.

Guest Quarters: Wandering through the dark hallways of the sixth floor to my room, narrowly avoiding three penguin statues positioned together as if in conversation in the hallway, I was that person using my phone as a flashlight to find my room. Once inside, the bright-white bathroom drew my attention, featuring (MALIN+GOETZ) soaps and enough sink surface to double as a vanity, with neatly stacked towels topped with a rubber ducky.

Walking further into the room, I was drawn to the king-sized bed like a moth to a flame but distracted by the mid-century furniture and wide-open windows — two design themes I’m a sucker for. The fold-top desk held a generously sized television; inside the desk were a minibar, Nespresso maker, water bottles and some stylish glassware. I placed my bag on the seat by the window, pulled the black-out curtains closed and slept like a rock.

In the morning I pulled back the floor-to-ceiling curtains to a sunshine-filled view of the Cumberland River. The wide window ledge could serve as that reading corner we’ve all always wanted, but the call of downtown Nashville was too strong.

Services/Amenities: The hotel had more amenities than I had time for, including a spa, 24-hour fitness center equipped with Peloton bikes, 24-hour business center and full museum of contemporary art. In the morning, several visitors were touring the exhibits in the lobby and making their way to the restaurant and museum on their own accord.

The museum in Gray & Dudley (the on-site restaurant and quirky stunner on its own) is free to the public, open daily and boasts more than 10,500 square feet of exhibit space. Between the art displayed around the museum and on guestroom floors, the hotel offers one of the largest collections of contemporary art in the country. I took a self-guided tour, but 21c actually offers expert guides twice a week, with fun events mixed in, including specialty themed tours.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

◆ I found a hardcover copy of Art Is the Highest Form of Hope & Other Quotes by Artists on the bedside table — I picked it up in the morning and couldn’t put it down.

◆ The hotel’s exhibits rotate, so if you’re in a 21c Museum Hotel city, check out what’s showing online and pop in for free.

◆ Only guests can see the art collection spread across guestroom floors, as you need a room key to ride the elevator.

◆ See something you like? Take it home! Like all self-respecting museums, there’s an online gift shop.

21C MUSEUM HOTEL NASHVILLE

221 Second Ave. N.
Nashville, TN 37201
tel 615 610 6400
21cmuseumhotels.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Aug 6, 2020

Leovard Skincare Offers a Natural Way to Nourish Skin

Leovard skincare, formulated by Dr. Sheg Aranmolate, MD, uses natural ingredients to nourish skin, calm irritation, decrease wrinkles, hydrate and soothe — all while sanitizing skin of bacteria. Leovard’s 06 sanitizer is among a line a like-minded products, designed to ease the stress of environmental damage on our skin while cleansing.

The Perfect Fit

According to the U.S. Small Business Administration’s Office of Advocacy, small businesses create two-thirds of net new jobs and account for nearly 48 percent of the U.S. private sector workforce. And small- and medium-sized businesses outpace all other sectors as one of the fastest-growing in the United States. InterContinental® Hotels Group (IHG) goes above and beyond to create opportunities for this segment with its IHG® Business Edge program, voted Best Small- to Mid-Sized Business Program in Global Traveler’s 2019 GT Tested Reader Survey awards.

August 2020
Aug 5, 2020

San Juan Better Than Ever After Hurricane Maria

It’s been almost three years since Category 5 Hurricane Maria made landfall on Puerto Rico, wreaking havoc on the island and leaving most residents without electricity and clean water. Tourism, which accounts for 6.5 percent of Puerto Rico’s gross domestic product, took a beating, with hotels closed for year-long repairs, airlines cutting service and cruise lines shifting itineraries to other Caribbean destinations. Timing for the hurricane couldn’t have been worse, coming on the heels of the government’s announcement in May 2017 that it was unable to pay more than $70 billion in public debt and thus forced to file for bankruptcy. Large protests and a change of government would follow. Then, in January 2020, a 6.4-magnitude earthquake rocked the south side of the island, forcing San Juan restaurants to close while power was restored. And as we write this story, coronavirus runs rampant across the globe with severe economic implications for all destinations, including Puerto Rico.

eFlyer Reviews
Aug 5, 2020

Hotel Mousai Review

Climbing along the coast, I was trying to snap pictures of the cool-blue Puerto Vallarta waters outside my car window (I know, it never works) when we started winding along stone walls draped in jungle-like foliage. Annoyed my view was blocked, I looked around to see where we were just as we were parking at Hotel Mousai — I audibly gasped. The all-glass, chic and incredibly grand entrance was so well-secluded, it somehow snuck up on me.

What To Expect When Flying: oneworld Debuts Information Portal

Though air travel slowed as airports temporarily closed and borders shuttered to stifle the spread of coronavirus, the airline industry — led by oneworld alliance member airlines — enacted enhanced protective measures to reduce risk and protect passengers.

eFlyer News
Aug 5, 2020

Saint Lucia Reinforces Travel Protocols Weeks After Reopening Borders

Three weeks after welcoming the first international flights since its borders closed, Saint Lucia’s government reinforced its mandatory travel protocol messaging. The island also launched an informative video with on-island footage of the actual travel experience.

Daily
Aug 5, 2020

Lazy River Opens at Kingsmill Resort

While the lazy days of summer keep rolling right along, so does the lazy river at Kingsmill Resort in Virginia. The award-winning activity is beloved by families and visitors of all ages.

Five Things You Need to Know About Punta Cana’s New Finest Resort

Finding a beachfront Punta Cana all-inclusive resort for all ages can be daunting when you want to take home great memories with loved ones but also experience a sophisticated escape. Now, you can have both thanks to a new resort: Finest Punta Cana.

Daily
Aug 4, 2020

6 Reasons to Say #WelcomeBacktoTravel in Cape Cod

As more destinations around the globe reopen to travelers, we are ready to get back to one of our favorite activities. Join us over the next several weeks as we take you to places around the world saying #WelcomeBacktoTravel. Take a visual journey through Cape Cod, Massachusetts, with us.