FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

The Sagamore Resort, New York Review

by Angelique Platas

Feb 3, 2020

PHOTO: © THE SAGAMORE RESORT

February 2020

Arrival/Check-In: After driving two hours north to Lake George, New York, toward The Sagamore, we followed the directions to a stretch of road loaded with quaint shops and restaurants. We had arrived in Bolton Landing. We walked around town and enjoyed some coffee and shopping as we had made great time and arrived a bit early for check-in.

Once our rooms were ready, we headed over a small bridge and entered what is essentially The Sagamore’s own private island on Lake George. Our Opal breakfast offer included complimentary valet parking, but we opted for self-parking and grabbed our bags. After about five minutes with the concierge, we received homemade cookies and fresh-pressed apple cider. It couldn’t get more quintessentially fall.

Guest Quarters: But then we saw the rooms. They were rich with hardwood furniture, deep tones and possessed a homey feel. Our room opened into a living room with a few comfortable chairs, a television and medium-sized refrigerator. In the bedroom we found two queen-sized beds, another television and a beautiful bathroom. The old-fashioned touches and flooring made the space large enough for two to get ready at the same time.

The bedroom windows opened to the resort property, filled with Adirondack chairs, swimming pools and stunning views of the lake. Seeing everyone below in their sweaters, holding hot drinks and taking in the views made me want to run right back down to the lake.

Services/Amenities: The Sagamore is reminiscent of an old-school, members-only club-meets-summer camp. The resort fee includes everything guests could want: tennis and basketball courts; an expansive kids club and rec center; golf; one of the largest hotel gyms I’ve seen (with one coveted Peloton bike); indoor and outdoor swimming pools; indoor and outdoor hot tubs; and daily, complimentary boat tours of Lake George on The Morgan. Our particular stay included daily breakfast at the buffet, but guests can choose from a variety of offers for all dining needs.

You can enjoy several dining establishments and activities throughout your stay; just check with the front desk about timing for each, as they may vary by season. With Champagne toasts in the lobby at 4 p.m., live music in the evenings and s’more roasting later in the night at the fire pit by the rec center, there’s a good chance guests can come with a few friends and leave with even more.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

◆ Summer may be the high season for guests, but fall and the holidays are a best-kept secret. Winter vacancies are limited, so check the website for availability.

◆ Make reservations for dinner! Even in the off-season, the restaurants are popular.

◆ The Sagamore presents a real sense of community, from the staff to the guests. Everyone seems friendly and as if they know each other.

◆ We took our server’s advice for a local hike and enjoyed some of the best views of Lake George in the area.

THE SAGAMORE RESORT
110 Sagamore Road Bolton Landing, NY 12814
tel 518 644 9400
thesagamore.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Oct 22, 2021

Winter Escape at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla

The Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla is opening its acclaimed doors Oct. 22 to celebrate its fifth and most exciting season. The resort will introduce new programming including culinary, fitness and music.

The Future of Hamad International Airport

Without a doubt, the pandemic changed the role of airports in the travel industry. Hamad International Airport’s role evolved in many ways since the pandemic hit. Now, more than ever, airports are responsible for creating a secure passenger experience. As the gateway to Qatar and the world, the safety and wellbeing of staff and passengers has always been at the core of Hamad International Airport’s strategy.

Cruising
Oct 21, 2021

Seabourn Names Second Ultra-Luxury Expedition Ship

Seabourn recently announced the name of its second new ultra-luxury purpose-built expedition ship: Seabourn Pursuit. The name reflects the passion of expedition travelers to seek out and explore natural wonders and destinations through activities around the globe.

eFlyer Reviews
Oct 20, 2021

The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago Review

Though the Chicago area has been my home for decades, the view from the Water Tower Suite on the 26th floor of The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago made me gasp. I had admired Chicago’s dramatic skyline many times, but never from this angle. Through expansive windows, the skyscrapers of 900 N. Michigan Ave. and the John Hancock Center, now named 875 North Michigan Avenue, rose to my right. Far below, the landmark Chicago Water Tower nestled in a ring of trees. One of the few survivors of the Great Chicago Fire, a turning point in the city’s history being remembered on its 150th anniversary in 2021, the Gothic Revival relic resembled a fairy-tale castle in a children’s playset.

Experiencing GBTA Convention 2021
Safely and Responsibly

GBTA’s Convention 2021 will bring the business travel industry together for the first time in a long time. Once again, you’ll learn and connect with experts and each other, along with discussions with leading thinkers, entrepreneurs and change makers addressing the issues that matter most.

eFlyer News
Oct 20, 2021

President Biden Signs 9/11 Trail Designation

President Biden signed H.R. 2278, bipartisan legislation to designate a September 11th National Memorial Trail. The trail route will link the National September 11th Memorial and Museum in New York; the Pentagon Memorial in Arlington, Virginia; and the Flight 93 National Memorial in Somerset County, Pennsylvania.

Events
Oct 20, 2021

Fever App Presents: Dining in the Dark Review

In April 2021, I was skimming Facebook when an ad for a blind-folded dining experience popped up on my newsfeed. The event was hosted through a company called Fever that offers fun, interactive events in major cities and virtually for people to enjoy. Intrigued, I clicked the link to learn more. The description made the event sound exciting and mysterious. When I give someone a present for their birthday, the holidays or a wedding, I like to give the gift of an experience that the recipient can learn something from. My boyfriend’s 30th birthday was in June, when the event was to be hosted, so I thought this would be a great surprise for him.

Register Today for the Most Important Gathering of Business Travel Professionals

The Global Business Travel Association’s (GBTA) Convention 2021 will be unlike any other convention before it, as we come together in person for the first time since the business travel industry drastically changed and look forward to rebuilding and reshaping the future. GBTA Convention 2021 will bring all of us together to learn from experts and each other, in-person at Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida, Nov. 17–19. The safety of our attendees is our top priority. View health and safety protocols.

Daily
Oct 19, 2021

6 Reasons to Put Austin, Texas, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Austin, Texas, with us.