FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Review: Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront

by Mary Melnick

Dec 21, 2021

PHOTO: © MARRIOTT VIRGINIA BEACH OCEANFRONT

December 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: After a short flight from Philadelphia International Airport to Norfolk International Airport, I enjoyed a 20-minute ride to my hotel in Virginia Beach. When I told my driver I had never been there before, he decided to take the scenic route instead of the highway so I could see more of the destination. When we got to the hotel, the friendly staff greeted me and led me inside to the front desk to check in. My room wasn’t quite ready, so I took the time to check out the stunning beach chic-themed lobby. I received a call when my room was ready, and the rest of check-in went smoothly.

GUEST QUARTERS: My room was located on the 22nd floor, the highest floor of guestrooms. When I entered my room, I was in awe. To the left I noticed plenty of closet space, with a decent-sized bathroom with a full walk-in shower to the right. As I continued into the room, a king-sized bed sat to the right and a smart TV to the left with a screen saying,“Welcome, Mary.” Other amenities included a desk, a chair for relaxing, storage drawers and a coffeemaker with a selection of decaf and regular coffees and teas. Although the room itself was great, the main feature, the balcony, provided a stunning view of the beach and ocean. I didn’t spend much time in the room, but I was glad it had a smart TV so I could watch Netflix each night before I went to bed.

Virginia Beach

PHOTO: © MARRIOTT VIRGINIA BEACH OCEANFRONT

SERVICES/AMENITIES: The hotel, much bigger than it looks, offers plenty of guest services and amenities. Two adjacent pools include an indoor/outdoor pool (most of it indoors, but not fully enclosed) and an outdoor infinity pool located right off the beach and surrounded by lounge chairs. Although it was a little cool, people were swimming. I didn’t get a chance to take a dip, but I did test the water, and it felt like a heated pool. If you aren’t into swimming, a lounge area offers turf and lounge chairs where you can sit and relax and enjoy the warm weather.

Located off the lobby, Tulu Seaside Bar & Grill serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well as cocktails, wine and beer. This restaurant is a laid-back place where you can order appetizers, burgers and more. For a more sophisticated dining experience, the 23rd floor features Orion’s Roof, where we enjoyed an amazing dinner our first night. Our table had an incredible view of Virginia Beach as well as the beach and ocean.

Guests can rent bikes from the hotel to explore the surrounding area and boardwalk. Virginia Beach is a big bike-riding destination where people cycle all over. It is the perfect way to explore the town.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

The location of the hotel is perfect — walking distance from the boardwalk and right on the beach.

Orion’s Roof offers delicious seafood dishes, a great atmosphere and stunning views.

Guests can walk across the street and visit the historic Cavalier Hotel and tour Tarnished Truth, the in-hotel distillery.

MARRIOTT VIRGINIA BEACH OCEANFRONT
4201 Atlantic Ave.
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
tel 757 937 4200
marriott.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Explore Excursions

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Apr 24, 2024

Summer, Unplugged: Get Cozy at These Digital Detox Destinations

There is a cure for summertime blues in the digital age: Find yourself a beautiful country inn, cabin or retreat far in spirit from the maddening crowds and distractions of daily life. Next, unplug, relax and don’t look back.

Hotel Indigo: The World’s Neighborhood Hotel

Part of the IHG Luxury & Lifestyle portfolio, Hotel Indigo is the world’s neighborhood hotel that celebrates how guests can discover, or rediscover, some of the most inspiring and culturally rich neighborhoods around the world. When staying at a Hotel Indigo hotel, it's not just about visiting a place — it's about being fully immersed in the neighborhood and wanting to take a little bit of it home. When traveling for business, Hotel Indigo offers a unique experience tailored to each location, making it the perfect choice to stay while traveling for work. With IHG Business Edge, travel managers have exclusive access to enticing perks, comprehensive travel metrics and carefully curated educational resources. It also includes a guaranteed discount on both business and personal travel for managers and employees, alongside an automatic upgrade to IHG One Rewards Silver Elite status after the initial IHG Business Edge stay.

eFlyer Reviews
Apr 24, 2024

Fairfield by Marriott Phnom Penh Review

Phnom Penh as we imagined it stretches beneath us: a picturesque, low-rise mix of Southeast Asian and French Colonial styles. When the inhabitants of those buildings look back at us here in the Fairfield by Marriott hotel in Chip Mong Tower, they see the future.

Daily
Apr 24, 2024

Wolf by Vanderpump Opens at Harveys Lake Tahoe

Lisa Vanderpump, TV star and restaurateur, recently opened her newest restaurant, Wolf by Vanderpump at Harveys Lake Tahoe, in partnership with Caesars Entertainment. To commemorate the occasion, Vanderpump hosted a star-studded opening and surprised guests with an extravagant “white carpet” arrival with her dog, Marky.

Travel Tips to Help Protect Your Health and Your Trip

Five Tips to Help Minimize Potential Travel Problems

eFlyer News
Apr 24, 2024

World of Hyatt Members Can Now Earn Points at Mr. and Mrs. Smith Properties Worldwide

Starting today, World of Hyatt members can now earn and redeem points at a collection of more than 700 boutique and luxury hotels and villas around the globe with Mr. & Mrs. Smith. The luxury travel platform was acquired by Hyatt in 2023 and brings even more world-class properties and amenities to World of Hyatt guests than ever before.

Daily
Apr 24, 2024

Four Seasons Yachts Unveils Inaugural Itineraries

Four Seasons Yachts prepares for its inaugural season by unveiling the first 10 of its unique voyages in the Caribbean and Mediterranean.

Revel in a European Summer with AmaWaterways

Pedal through sun-drenched vineyards, hike amidst blooming wildflowers and take a refreshing dip in your ship's sun-deck whirlpool. Indulge in the flavors of the region with delectable dishes featuring luscious Wachau Valley apricots and succulent Serbian plums. As night falls, watch as the cities along the rivers come alive, pulsating with an irresistible electric energy. The sun-soaked days and vibrant nights offer a compelling reason to embark on an AmaWaterways river cruise during the upcoming summer months.

Daily
Apr 23, 2024

6 Wellness Experiences to Try Around the World from Four Seasons

Plan a wellness-focused getaway at one of these Four Seasons Hotels & Resorts around the world.