FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Review: Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront

by Mary Melnick

Dec 21, 2021

PHOTO: © MARRIOTT VIRGINIA BEACH OCEANFRONT

December 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: After a short flight from Philadelphia International Airport to Norfolk International Airport, I enjoyed a 20-minute ride to my hotel in Virginia Beach. When I told my driver I had never been there before, he decided to take the scenic route instead of the highway so I could see more of the destination. When we got to the hotel, the friendly staff greeted me and led me inside to the front desk to check in. My room wasn’t quite ready, so I took the time to check out the stunning beach chic-themed lobby. I received a call when my room was ready, and the rest of check-in went smoothly.

GUEST QUARTERS: My room was located on the 22nd floor, the highest floor of guestrooms. When I entered my room, I was in awe. To the left I noticed plenty of closet space, with a decent-sized bathroom with a full walk-in shower to the right. As I continued into the room, a king-sized bed sat to the right and a smart TV to the left with a screen saying,“Welcome, Mary.” Other amenities included a desk, a chair for relaxing, storage drawers and a coffeemaker with a selection of decaf and regular coffees and teas. Although the room itself was great, the main feature, the balcony, provided a stunning view of the beach and ocean. I didn’t spend much time in the room, but I was glad it had a smart TV so I could watch Netflix each night before I went to bed.

Virginia Beach

PHOTO: © MARRIOTT VIRGINIA BEACH OCEANFRONT

SERVICES/AMENITIES: The hotel, much bigger than it looks, offers plenty of guest services and amenities. Two adjacent pools include an indoor/outdoor pool (most of it indoors, but not fully enclosed) and an outdoor infinity pool located right off the beach and surrounded by lounge chairs. Although it was a little cool, people were swimming. I didn’t get a chance to take a dip, but I did test the water, and it felt like a heated pool. If you aren’t into swimming, a lounge area offers turf and lounge chairs where you can sit and relax and enjoy the warm weather.

Located off the lobby, Tulu Seaside Bar & Grill serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well as cocktails, wine and beer. This restaurant is a laid-back place where you can order appetizers, burgers and more. For a more sophisticated dining experience, the 23rd floor features Orion’s Roof, where we enjoyed an amazing dinner our first night. Our table had an incredible view of Virginia Beach as well as the beach and ocean.

Guests can rent bikes from the hotel to explore the surrounding area and boardwalk. Virginia Beach is a big bike-riding destination where people cycle all over. It is the perfect way to explore the town.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

The location of the hotel is perfect — walking distance from the boardwalk and right on the beach.

Orion’s Roof offers delicious seafood dishes, a great atmosphere and stunning views.

Guests can walk across the street and visit the historic Cavalier Hotel and tour Tarnished Truth, the in-hotel distillery.

MARRIOTT VIRGINIA BEACH OCEANFRONT
4201 Atlantic Ave.
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
tel 757 937 4200
marriott.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Dec 9, 2022

Icelandair Welcomes New North American Gateway: Detroit

Icelandair recently announced its newest North American gateway: Detroit, Michigan. The seasonal flights begin May 18, 2023, taking off from Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport to Reykjavik (KEF), Iceland. The four weekly, non-stop flights will run through Oct. 30, 2023. Flight 872 departs Detroit for Iceland Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, at 8:30 p.m., on a 160-seat Boeing 737MAX. The return, from Reykjavik to Detroit, departs 5 p.m. on the same days of the week, arriving at 6:25 p.m.

Luxurious Adventures Await.

Discover why Global Traveler readers named Cunard® the Best Large-Ship Cruise Line for seven consecutive years. For a limited time, book your voyage during Cunard’s Explore with More promotion and take advantage of lower fares*, up to $1,200 Onboard Credit†, Free Specialty Dining for Two^, 50% Reduced Deposit††, and more. Choose from an array of exciting journeys, including Transatlantic Crossings and voyages to Alaska, the Caribbean and Canada & New England.

Daily
Dec 9, 2022

Winter Walking Trips with The Wilderness Group

If your personal travel nirvana involves fabulous scenery and a snappy, reviving hike in bracing winter air, Bannikin Travel & Tourism hopes to make your dreams come true with a selection of new winter walking itineraries in Scotland (other trip options are available in England and Ireland). Here’s what you can look forward to in 2023:

Daily
Dec 8, 2022

The Hotel Das Rüebezahl on Tegelberg Mountain

As of November 2022, Rohrkopfhutte (mountain hut) on Germany’s Tegelberg mountain reopened, and the dream view from the terrace, of the castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau and the stunning Schwangauer Alpsee, can be seen in the valley below.

Celebrity is celebrating Spring with 25% off Cruise Fares!

There’s no better time to plan the vacation you’ve been missing. Step aboard with your better half, your friends or the whole family and reconnect, reunite and rejoice with 25 percent off cruise fares for all guests. We’ll also help everyone get there with 25 percent off airfare from 20 major gateways across the country or $100 savings per person on flights from all other gateways when you book your air travel using Flights by Celebrity.*

December 2022
Dec 8, 2022

Mail Call December 2022

Q&A with Haley Fogarty, Advertising Manager

eFlyer Reviews
Dec 7, 2022

Workshop Kitchen + Bar Review

Palm Springs became a destination of legend when Hollywood’s biggest and brightest during cinema’s “Golden Age” turned the desert community into their glamourous backyard. While restaurants and hotels epitomizing definitive Palm Springs luxury open, adapt and change with the times, it says something that one of its hottest restaurants sets up an outpost back in Los Angeles. And that’s exactly what chef Michael Beckman and restaurateur Joe Mourani did on the southern tip of the always-evolving Fairfax District.

TAP Air Portugal’s Porto

When American travelers make plans to visit Portugal, Lisbon is usually their first stop.

eFlyer News
Dec 7, 2022

Six Senses to Open First Australian Property in the Dandenong Ranges

Six Senses recently announced plans to open its first Australian property in Burnham Beeches, a heritage mansion built in 1933 and situated on the 22 hectares of fern glades and forested hills of the Dandenong Ranges. The property lies 24 miles from Melbourne and neighbors Alfred Nicholas Memorial Gardens, one of the country’s finest examples of domestic Art Deco.