FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.
IHG Business Edge Oct 2020 Leaderboard

Air Canada | Signature Class Review

by Stephanie Makowski

Feb 3, 2020

PHOTO: © AIR CANADA

February 2020

On the Ground: I arrived at Heathrow Airport after a trip to London for the World Travel Market Conference. As I arrived at the Air Canada check-in counter, the helpful staff directed me to the security checkpoint. Once through the line, and a bit strapped for time, I walked quickly to my gate, where an extremely kind concierge service member greeted me. She asked how my trip was and said she had been watching for me so she could assist me with boarding early to ensure a calm and easy departure. She had assisted me earlier that week when I processed through security from Toronto to London, so it was nice closing my trip with a friendly face. She escorted me onto the plane and to my seat in the beautiful Signature Class cabin of the Boeing 787-8, introducing me to the flight attendant who would be directing cabin staff during my flight. I thanked the concierge for her hospitality throughout my journey. Experiencing what the Air Canada Super Elite-level members enjoy as features of their commitment to the brand helped me understand the appeal of retaining that status.

Pre-Flight: The Signature Class offers modern and spacious seating. The layout provided privacy and ample room to be comfortable whether one was seated at the inside or window side of the main aisles. The flight attendant offered juice, sparkling water or Champagne. (I opted for the Champagne.) I got situated in my seat and checked out the touchscreen menu and the provided headset and settled in for takeoff.

In-Flight: Once airborne we selected our main entrée. I opted for the lamb filet served with creamy fennel sauce, roasted potatoes, pumpkin and broccoli. The starters to this meal were delicious prawns and a garden salad, and for dessert I enjoyed the fresh fruit. Once I finished my meal, I checked to see if I could get started on some emails. Unfortunately, the WiFi was not functional on this flight. Air Canada was in the process of retrofitting these aircraft with the most up-to-date WiFi, but due to the MAX grounding over the past year could not take this 787 out of commission to update the technology. It all worked out, though, as I was able to still get some work done before taking a nap.

PHOTO: © AIR CANADA

This flight departed mid-morning London time and would land in Toronto in late afternoon/early evening. I was quite comfortable during my nap, lying completely flat with a blanket and pillow of excellent quality. The restrooms in the business- class cabin were clean and spacious. Once we were about an hour or so from our arrival in Toronto, I enjoyed afternoon tea accompanied by delicious sandwiches. I spent that time watching a film and relaxing. After our smooth landing in Toronto, a concierge team member greeted me and directed me to the Maple Leaf Lounge, where I enjoyed a break and snack between flights. The flight, product and service were exceptional from start to finish. It is no wonder Global Traveler named Air Canada Airline of the Year in 2019. As Air Canada says in its advertisements, “Travel like a Canadian.” I can tell you, I will be again!

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

◆ Build loyalty and miles with this award-winning airline to become an Air Canada Altitude Super Elite 100K member. Receive faster check-in and boarding, assistance with flight changes and transfers, and escorts between terminals and gates to ensure a seamless journey.

◆ Dine on Demand gives travelers the option to schedule when they eat to best suit their needs. Simply inform the flight attendant when you order your meal at the beginning of the flight.

◆ Save room for the world-class catering on board. I skipped breakfast in order to be hungry for my flight; the culinary options are a taste bud delight!

AIR CANADA
aircanada.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
January/February 2021
Mar 4, 2021

Set Your Sights on San Antonio’s Art, Culture and Green Spaces

San Antonio celebrated 300 years of progress in May 2018. With a clear vision following that anniversary year, the Texan city set its sights firmly on 300 more. While commemorating this milestone, the city underwent a major overhaul to prepare for the next phase in its history.

The Greatest Show on Earth

Step right up to the greatest show on Earth as FXExpress Publications, Global Traveler, trazeetravel.com and whereverfamily.com celebrate their 2020 award winners! Join the big top on Dec. 14 as we virtually award the winners of the 17th annual GT Tested Reader Survey awards, including the Airline and Hotel of the Year; the 17th annual Wines on the Wing Airline Wine Survey; the eighth annual Leisure Lifestyle Awards; the sixth annual The Trazees; and the third annual Wherever Awards.

Daily
Mar 4, 2021

SoJo Spa Club: Tranquility with an Urban View

When you think of a relaxing spa day, mountains, rivers and view of gorgeous landscapes pop in your head; a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of any city’s booming music and honking taxis. SoJo Spa Club and Hotel gives you the relaxing feeling of being away while still staying close to the busy center of Manhattan.

eFlyer Reviews
Mar 3, 2021

Mondrian Doha Review

I was part of a group of travelers attending the Hamad International Airport Expansion presentation in Doha. Most arrived the day before, but due to a family commitment, I arrived the following day. A driver picked me up at the airport and drove me to the sleek and modern Mondrian Doha, designed by Marcel Wanders of the Netherlands. The 270-room property was the first sbe hotel in the Middle East. My luggage was scanned and put aside for a hand check and the guard removed the little sleep sound device I use to cover city noise when I sleep and travel. “No speakers allowed,” the guard said, but once I explained what the item was he allowed me to take it. From there, check-in was swift, and I received a packet of information about dinner and the week’s agenda.

Adventure Redefined: Volvo Overseas Delivery

Custom order your Volvo through the Overseas Delivery Program and receive round-trip airfare, hotel accommodations, and a personalized delivery at the Volvo Factory Delivery Experience in Gothenburg, Sweden. Your experience begins in Sweden with insurance and registration included, enabling you to drive your new Volvo throughout Scandinavia and Europe. Create the adventure of a lifetime with the program named Best Overseas Delivery four years running, and return home with the ultimate souvenir.

eFlyer News
Mar 3, 2021

Munich Airport Works Toward Climate Neutrality

As ACI EUROPE and leading European aviation associations recently detailed a plan to make sustainable aviation a reality, Munich Airport continues its work toward climate neutrality. In 2019, MUC was one of the first airports in Germany to sign a Net Zero Carbon resolution alongside more than 200 other European airports in 2019. The pledge aims to deliver net zero airport CO2 emissions by 2050.

eFlyer Lead
Mar 3, 2021

4 Travel Experiences for Women’s History Month

March marks Women’s History Month, and there are a number of ways to celebrate through travel. Here are just a few ideas to honor women in history.

Daily
Mar 3, 2021

The Galt House Hotel Updates Meeting Offerings

The Galt House Hotel in Louisville, Kentucky, introduces new meeting offerings starting this month. Louisville’s only waterfront hotel recently underwent a property-wide $80 million renovation on all guestrooms, meeting spaces and new food and beverage concepts.