FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton Review

by Richard Evans

Apr 20, 2020

© LONDONHOUSE CHICAGO

April 2020

Arrival/Check-In: We arrived at the hotel on a chilly afternoon to a warm greeting from the doorman and were directed to the lobby on the second floor, where we received another warm greeting and a speedy check-in.

Guest Quarters: I was in a suite on a high floor with a 180-degree view of the Chicago River.

The suite included an entrance hall which opened into a small sitting room with a sofa, an oval coffee table and two round ottoman stools; and a side table held the coffeemaker. The sitting room flat-screen TV hung on the wall opposite the sofa.

The bedroom had a king-sized bed and two bedside tables, an easy chair and a dresser, plus another flat-screen TV. The closet held an iron and ironing board and a safe.

The spacious bathroom included a spacious, glass-walled shower and a large single sink. I liked the amenities by (MALIN+GOETZ) because they are almost scent-free, and I am not a great fan of overly scented soap, shampoo or conditioner.

Services/Amenities: The hotel was once the iconic London Guarantee & Accident headquarters, built in 1923 and renowned as one of the “Big Four” skyscrapers around the former Michigan Avenue Bridge. It sits within walking distance of Millennium Park and Magnificent Mile shopping.

LondonHouse features several dining and drinking options. Land & Lake, at street level, is ideal for breakfast and casual dining, and Bridges Lobby Bar on the second floor offers a great place to meet friends for a drink and snacks. As for fine dining, Ocean Prime within the hotel has great views of the river.

The hotel has Chicago’s only three-level rooftop bar; the LH on 21 is an indoor bar, and LH on 22 is an outdoor terrace bar with phenomenal views of the city, while the exclusive Cupola bar is on the 23rd floor.

The LondonHouse proves an ideal location for meetings, with 13 meeting rooms running the gamut from the Juliette Grand ballroom to small meetings spaces.

The fitness center provides all of the equipment one needs for a good workout.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

◆ I have experienced many friendly hotel staff, but the LondonHouse’s dedicated staff, from the doormen to the people at reception and to the bartenders and wait staff, take the prize as the best in the business.

◆ The development that transformed this former traditional office tower into a timeless take on luxury did a great job in creating a contemporary yet warm environment, which really appealed to me.

◆ I look forward to visiting Chicago in warmer weather and enjoying LH on 22, the terrace bar, and taking in the fabulous views of the Chicago River, Lake Michigan and the Magnificent Mile.

LONDONHOUSE CHICAGO, CURIO COLLECTION BY HILTON

85 E. Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL 60601
tel 312 357 1200
hilton.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
September 2021
Sep 23, 2021

Host a Fabled Business Event in Wonderful Copenhagen

I imagine that when writer Hans Christian Andersen mused, “Life itself is the most wonderful fairy tale,” he was standing at the edge of Copenhagen’s historic Tivoli Gardens, one of his favorite haunts, enlivened by the swirl of human happiness that surrounded him: children laughing; carousels spinning; games of chance played for prizes; lovers holding hands; hungry people whispering over sweets, hot drinks, beer and towering, open-faced smørrebrød, Denmark’s quintessential sandwich. That fairy tale lives on today at the second-oldest amusement park in the world, a spectacle of folly architecture, bakeries, gardens, rides, restaurants, puppet shows and joy ... and which also happens to be one of the city’s most storied places to convene for business.

Greece: Destination Luxury

Since its prestige for attracting the world elite grew in the 1960s, Greece remains the go-to destination for glittering holidays. Each step of the journey is enrobed in luxury, from culinary traditions with the highest standard of execution and name-brand, high-end shopping to first-rate wellness locales and elite accommodations, like 5-star hotels, private villas and yachts.

Canada
Sep 23, 2021

Reimagined Park Hyatt Toronto Officially Reopens Its Doors

The restored Park Hyatt Toronto reopened its doors, bringing luxury, sophistication and glamour alongside a nod to the hotel’s Canadian heritage. Alessandro Munge of Studio Munge collaborated on the hotel’s refresh, drawing inspiration from Canada’s seasons and natural landscapes.

eFlyer Reviews
Sep 22, 2021

Irwin’s Review

I recently dined at Irwin’s in Philadelphia. The restaurant is located on the rooftop of the Bok Building, a former school turned collective of small businesses, non-profits, artist workshops, a bar and restaurant. I previously visited Bok for the bar and yoga classes, and I was excited to experience the restaurant.

Register Today for the Most Important Gathering of Business Travel Professionals

The Global Business Travel Association’s (GBTA) Convention 2021 will be unlike any other convention before it, as we come together in person for the first time since the business travel industry drastically changed and look forward to rebuilding and reshaping the future. GBTA Convention 2021 will bring all of us together to learn from experts and each other, in-person at Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida, Nov. 17–19. The safety of our attendees is our top priority. View health and safety protocols.

eFlyer News
Sep 22, 2021

GBTA Applauds Relaxing of U.S. Travel Ban for Vaccinated Foreign Nationals

The Global Business Travel Association, the world’s largest business travel and meetings trade organization, recently released a statement from GBTA CEO Suzanne Neufang regarding the Biden administration’s recent announcement that the U.S. travel ban will be relaxed in November for vaccinated travelers from 26 Schengen countries, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Daily
Sep 22, 2021

La Concha Resort Puerto Rico Review

Arriving early afternoon in Puerto Rico, we jumped in an Uber and took a short, 15-minute drive from the airport to La Concha.  As it was Tuesday, the streets were not too busy and the hotel lobby was calm. During the weekend, the scene likely would have been more bustling. We were greeted by a staff member who requested proof of vaccination and government-issued ID, and were given a wristband to indicate we were fully vaccinated. All guests are required to be vaccinated and wear masks at all times while moving around the hotel. Hand sanitizer stations were placed around the lobby, in elevators and in each common area.

Experiencing GBTA Convention 2021
Safely and Responsibly

GBTA’s Convention 2021 will bring the business travel industry together for the first time in a long time. Once again, you’ll learn and connect with experts and each other, along with discussions with leading thinkers, entrepreneurs and change makers addressing the issues that matter most.

September 2021
Sep 21, 2021

Retreat into Luxurious Stillness at The Rittenhouse Spa & Club

The Rittenhouse has long stood out as one of Philadelphia’s finest hotels, centrally located in one of the city’s poshest neighborhoods. Needless to say, I knew I was in for an afternoon of luxurious pampering when I hopped in my car and headed down I-95 from my suburban home to the heart of the City of Brotherly Love. As I drove through the seemingly endless roadwork on the highway, I realized just how long it had been since I’d driven this once-familiar route into the city as a result of the pandemic. Of course I was eager for the relaxation and bliss that was in my future, but it was also a welcome feeling to head back into Philadelphia for a moment of normalcy.