FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Four Seasons Mexico City Review

by Carly Allen

Feb 3, 2020

PHOTO: © FOUR SEASONS MEXICO CITY

February 2020

Arrival/Check in: I arrived in Mexico City on a sunny late afternoon and zipped through light traffic from Benito Juarez International Airport to the heart of Mexico City, Paseo de la Reforma. Four Seasons Mexico City sits in the middle of the bustling area; but once you arrive in the covered driveway, you are transported into a sense of calm, art and luxury.

Guests entering the black and white marbled lobby are greeted by a giant arrangement of fresh flowers which scents the entire area. Just beyond that, a friendly receptionist welcomed me and checked me in within minutes. As I walked to the elevators, I noticed the lobby held lots of distinct areas, with seating in front of a fire, marbled work spaces and lounge chairs busy with guests — a great place to get some work done or even have a quick meeting.

Guest Quarters: The first thing I noticed upon walking into my fifth-floor executive suite was a feeling of comfort and contemporary class. Warm, pristine white carpeting with red ribbon designs led into a well-lit hallway with dark wood doors and closet space plus a full bar. Beyond, the full room came into view, framed with large windows brimming with natural light and offering a coveted view of the gorgeous courtyard filled with flowers, lush plants and a fountain. The windows opened, and I made a point of keeping them open while in the room to enjoy the sounds and fresh air. The king-sized bed provided a great night’s sleep, while a lounge area with a couch and ottoman also included a large desk with plenty of electrical outlets I found handy during my stay.

The large bathroom featured warm, cream-colored marble floors and a large vanity with abundant lighting. The spa tub was large, although the stand-alone glass-enclosed shower proved a bit tight. I appreciated the L’Occitaine products for guests.

Services/Amenities: The property makes a perfect place for business meetings or a special outing with friends, as it offers a bit of everything. Every morning I stopped for a quick bite at Pan Dulce, the coffee shop and bakery. I loved being able to take my coffee to the veranda tables before a day of meetings. Il Becco, an all-day eatery located in the courtyard, is beautifully decorated with colorful tile flooring and warm lighting. I suggest coming for dinner to experience the atmosphere and lovely Italian cuisine. Also be sure to try the well-known and lively Fifty Mils, a gastro bar with signature cocktails like Billy the Kid and Frijolito. With leather couches, plush club chairs and seating spilling out onto the courtyard, it provides the perfect place to end your evenings.

PHOTO: © FOUR SEASONS MEXICO CITY

The city hotels don’t often have room for outdoor pools, but the Four Seasons boasts a rare rooftop pool and deck for guests to enjoy an afternoon of relaxation. A full gym is available, but I recommend an early-morning jog up and down Reforma if the weather permits for a bit more sightseeing and immersion.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

◆ The local contemporary and folk art throughout the hotel sets a unique atmosphere for guests.

◆ You must experience dining in the courtyard, either early morning with a coffee to hear the fountain or with a cocktail outside Fifty Mils.

◆ The location in the heart of the city lets you conveniently enjoy dining, museums and business.

FOUR SEASONS MEXICO CITY
Av. Paseo de la Reforma 500 Colonia Juarez, 06600
Mexico City, Mexico
tel 52 55 5230 1818
fourseasons.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Explore Excursions

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jun 21, 2024

New Beds and Restaurants in Boise, Idaho

There’s lots going on in Boise, including an impressive selection of new hotels. Stays at The Sparrow will immediately immerse you in a sense of place, thanks to engaging, infographic- style artwork in each of the 67 guestrooms. You’ll find a local coffeehouse in the lobby, a food truck on the outdoor patio overlooking Grove Street, and an outdoor fireplace inviting guests to linger and mingle. Authentic, local experiences include the Brewery of the Month program.

Hotel Indigo: The World’s Neighborhood Hotel

Part of the IHG Luxury & Lifestyle portfolio, Hotel Indigo is the world’s neighborhood hotel that celebrates how guests can discover, or rediscover, some of the most inspiring and culturally rich neighborhoods around the world. When staying at a Hotel Indigo hotel, it's not just about visiting a place — it's about being fully immersed in the neighborhood and wanting to take a little bit of it home. When traveling for business, Hotel Indigo offers a unique experience tailored to each location, making it the perfect choice to stay while traveling for work. With IHG Business Edge, travel managers have exclusive access to enticing perks, comprehensive travel metrics and carefully curated educational resources. It also includes a guaranteed discount on both business and personal travel for managers and employees, alongside an automatic upgrade to IHG One Rewards Silver Elite status after the initial IHG Business Edge stay.

June 2024
Jun 21, 2024

Saudi Arabia Fosters Sustainable, Regenerative Tourism Along the Red Sea

 My first experience of Saudi Arabia's Red Sea coast now seems like ancient history. It was 1995, and I was visiting my ornithologist cousin and is wife. Getting into the kingdom wasn't easy; I needed sponsorship letters. and a pre-trip interview at the Saudi Arabian Embassy. When I arrived in the country, there was no tourist infrastructure. We toured by SUV ad often slept under the stars. Thus, one morning, we woke up on roll-out mattresses on a Red Sea beach 200 miles from Jeddah.

Daily
Jun 21, 2024

2 New Concept Bars Opening This Fall in Texas and New York

Add New York City and Austin to your list of bar-hopping cities with the highly-anticipated debuts of Brass Poppy and Bar Sprezzatura.

Reconnecting the World: GBTA Convention 2023 Spotlights the Vital Role of Business Travel and In-Person Connection

In an increasingly digital and interconnected world, the Global Business Travel Association (GBTA) Convention remains an indispensable platform for business travel industry professionals seeking to make the most of the power of face-to-face connections. Taking place August 13–15 in Dallas, the 2023 GBTA Convention provides the unique opportunity for professionals and companies to join visionaries, thought leaders and industry experts for meaningful networking, cutting-edge insights and inspiring innovation.

Daily
Jun 21, 2024

Virgin Hotels to Open First London Hotel in August

On Aug. 1, Virgin Hotels debuts its first London property. Set to open in the heart of Shoreditch, this hotel will mark the brand’s eighth Virgin Hotels location worldwide and the 17th property for the wider Virgin Hotels Collection.

Daily
Jun 19, 2024

Sofitel New York Embarks on Comprehensive Renovation

Sofitel New York recently announced a comprehensive refurbishment project, timed to the Sofitel brand’s 60th anniversary this year. The Manhattan property’s renovation, set to start in late 2024, will reach all facets of the hotel, including the 398 guestrooms and suites, lobby, meeting spaces, elevators, and corridors. Completion of the public areas is anticipated by fall 2025.

Why Buy Trip Cancellation Insurance?

Don’t risk losing all the money you’ve spent if you must cancel your trip at the last minute. Allianz Travel Insurance can give you:

eFlyer Reviews
Jun 18, 2024

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Atlantic City Review

My husband and I recently enjoyed an overnight getaway at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Atlantic City. The resort is a one-stop shop for an entertaining escape. We packed a lot into our one-night stay, and it left us looking forward to a return visit.