FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Alpine Country Club Review

by Francis X. Gallagher

Aug 1, 2016

Hank Haney clinic © FRANCIS X. GALLAGHER

August 2016

In 1928 a group of New York businessmen known as “The Forty Millionaires” assigned A.W. Tillinghast to design and construct the Aldecress Golf Course on the New Jersey site that is now Alpine Country Club. One of the most prolific golf course architects of his time, Tillinghast designed 265 courses, among them The Black Course of Bethpage State Park, The Ridgewood Country Club and Winged Foot Golf Club. Global Traveler has reviewed many a Tillinghast design, including Scarsdale Golf Club (August 2009) and Sleepy Hollow Country Club (January 2015). To top it off, Tillinghast, like yours truly, was a Philadelphia native who spent most of his career in New York.

In 1960 the course was sold and renamed Alpine Country Club. More recently, a significant project restored Tillinghast’s vision and style and improved irrigation and turf quality. The beautiful new clubhouse alone cost $18 million.

I played Alpine Country Club as part of Inside Access from Chase, a program in which select JPMorgan Chase cardholders can participate in events all over the country, from culinary experiences and concerts to golf. (Sign up before events are sold out by frequently visiting insideaccess.com.)

Legendary golf coach Hank Haney brought this fantastic golf event to a new level. Haney shaped Tiger Woods into the player we all knew and loved and then followed him through his slide. Not only did Haney have great stories plus a question and answer period after dinner about Woods and golf, but he also spent time with each golfer at Hole 1 for an encouraging golf swing analysis and coaching. Where else can players get a one-on-one session with the best golf coach in the world?

We started the day with a group clinic with Haney and an introduction from David Gold, general manager for partnerships, Chase, who spearheaded the successful launch of the United MileagePlus Club Card from Chase. The card is popular with the readers of Global Traveler. As a parting gift, we each received an autographed copy of Haney’s bestselling book, The Big Miss: My Years Coaching Tiger Woods.

I joined two Chase cardholders, Don and Tom, and Andrew Marler of Facebook, with whom I played at a previous Inside Access golf event at Pebble Beach (June 2015). I nicknamed Andrew “Wonder Boy” for his graceful and powerful swing, which helped our team greatly in the tournament.

HOLE 1 | 418 yards, par 4
According to Haney, my swing was a little inside-out, a common problem; about 80 percent of golfers have this swing, which causes their drives to drift right (or that nasty word, slice). Haney’s suggestion was not to change my takeaway or backswing but to come through with a corrective swing strong and through the ball, turning fully with the shot and pivoting my right foot in the follow-through. Haney does not believe in slow, cautious swings but in deliberate and powerful swings. Some of his greatest commentaries were, “What sport tells you to go slow and back off?” and “You are not swinging too fast.”

From the tee box, take proper aim, as the box positions golfers to shoot right, which is lined with tall pine trees. We played a modified scramble in which we selected a drive on each hole and then played our own balls to the green. Wonder Boy slammed a great shot to the center of the fairway favoring the left; Haney was impressed. From here I was able to contribute to the team effort with a nice lob wedge just beyond the hole, which sits in typical Tillinghast fashion elevated with a left trap and a “death area” falling sharply into a ravine. Don’s ball disappeared into this abyss, but I secured a team birdie for the card.

HOLE 2 | 391 yards, par 4
I found this not particularly long or difficult hole pleasing in its design and hit a decent “Haney” drive, to boot. The dogleg right features a beautiful lily pad-filled pond just in front of the green. I landed in front of the pond and about 80 yards from the green. The green’s false front fooled me, and I landed short and on the right side but puttable. The rest of the team had some glory and mishaps, overputting the fast green but securing a par. The beautiful stone clubhouse sits as a backdrop to the green.

HOLE 7 | 601 yards, par 5
This is deemed the most difficult par 5 on the course, but it offers a beautiful backdrop of Western Bergen County. The boys wanted to power away with super drives, but all four of us took various degrees left, some more harsh than others. Wonder Boy’s ball, still slightly left and in the rough, was the best option for a clean shot back to the fairway. A few good slams with our fairway woods got the team back into position for another par. The green plays right on the number, no more, no less — trust the yardage. Avoid the bunkers in front at all costs.

HOLE 14 | 311 yards, par 4
Fourteen was the final hole we played on our rotation at Alpine. We had a great day of golf, met some good friends and learned a great deal at a lovely course. We decided to let the balls fly and swing hard as Hank Haney instructed. I hit a great drive, landing on the right side of the fairway about 90 yards from the elevated green, which is tucked on the right side. Wonder Boy went for the green using a 5-wood, resulting in hoots and hollers from the rest of us. Don put one in the trap on the left side of the fairway, and Tom came up a little short on his drive. With adrenalin pumping, everyone except me went to the green to assess WB’s drive, only to find it overpowered the green and was lost in the bushes behind. I called them back to the fairway, where I reminded them they were playing my drive. We ended the round with another birdie for the team and came in second place for the outing. A great day of golf thanks to Inside Access from Chase, it culminated in a culinary showcase from the Alpine team.

ALPINE COUNTRY CLUB

80 Anderson Ave.
Demarest, NJ 07627
tel 201 768 2121
alpinecc.org

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jan 21, 2022

Reasons to Visit New Orleans This February and March

New Orleans has a full roster of activities, events and festivals enticing guests throughout February and March.

IHG® Business Edge: Working Together with SMEs

IHG® Business Edge: Working Together with SMEs for a smarter way to manage travel

Daily
Jan 20, 2022

5 Remarkable South African Women Changing the Travel Industry

With Black History Month and Women’s History Month right around the corner, it’s time to highlight and recognize South African women working hard to make the travel industry better.

eFlyer Reviews
Jan 19, 2022

Cheval Blanc Paris Review

Since Cheval Blanc, an extraordinary, newly designed and refurbished 72-room hotel owned by Louis Vuitton Moet Hennessey, launched in September 2021, it has been the talk of the town. Le Tout-Paris remarks about its WOW factor … and the hard-to-get reservations for the 30 seats at Plenitude, the intimate, first-floor gastronomic outlet headed by chef Arnaud Donckele, who earned three Michelin stars at Cheval Blanc Saint Tropez. Reservations are also recommended for Limbar, the ground-floor bakery/café/tea shop/bar where we watched Pastry Chef Maxime Frédéric preparing desserts and an absolute must-have for dinner at Le Tout-Paris, the 7th-floor, all-day brasserie. This brightly colored space, with its raised seating and Fauve-like floor tiles and the adjacent Milanese restaurant, Langosteria, both have access to terraces facing the Seine River, with amazing views encompassing Notre Dame to the Eiffel Tower.

Seabourn: It’s Not an Escape, It’s an Arrival

Go ahead, take a nice, deep breath. Because a Seabourn voyage is all about this moment you’ve come so far in life to embrace. It’s not an escape, it’s an arrival.

eFlyer News
Jan 19, 2022

New Specials at Well & Beings’ The Spa at Red Rock, The Spa at Green Valley Ranch

Nevada-based The Spa at Green Valley by Well & Being and The Spa at Red Rock by Well & Being celebrate the start of 2022 with new health, wellness and spa treatments available through March 31. Both spas offer an array of treatments for guests wanting to relax and unwind before 2022 kicks into full gear.

Daily
Jan 19, 2022

“JEOPARDY!”, Lindblad Expeditions Announce “Explore Alaska Sweepstakes”

Now through Jan. 28, JEOPARDY! and Lindblad Expeditions team up for a viewer promotion, the JEOPARDY! Explore Alaska Sweepstakes. The contest will award 10 winners and their guests with an eight-day, small-ship cruise of Alaska’s coastal wilderness.

 Reconnect with the world in The Islands of Tahiti

Located in the South Pacific, The Islands of Tahiti are just eight hours by air from California. Surrounded by pristine, crystal-clear blue waters, the 118 islands and atolls offer natural beauty, authentic island culture and unique French Polynesian style. The Islands of Tahiti are world-renowned for white-sand beaches, stunning turquoise lagoons and varied landscapes ranging from coral atolls to volcanic mountain peaks. Privacy comes naturally in The Islands of Tahiti and offers visitors the space to relax and reconnect and to be Embraced By Mana. Mana is the life force and spirit that connects all things in The Islands of Tahiti.

Seabourn: It’s Not an Escape, It’s an Arrival

Go ahead, take a nice, deep breath. Because a Seabourn voyage is all about this moment you’ve come so far in life to embrace. It’s not an escape, it’s an arrival.