FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.
Air Canada

The Old Towne Man Cave Review

by Francis X. Gallagher

Oct 1, 2016

© HISTORIC
MANASSAS INC.

Lifestyle / Spas

After hitting the links at the beautiful Potomac Shores Golf Club (see September 2016 Golf), our Global Traveler foursome — myself; Chris “Yammi” Ottaunick, Advisory Board member and staff photographer; Jeff Sohinki, director of sales and marketing; and Rory Oldham, advertising manager — took a short drive to quaint downtown Manassas to relax at the Old Towne Man Cave. The quintessential name offers an idea of what to expect: big-screen TVs showing sports programming and craft beer to your liking. What you don’t realize is the Man Cave is a spa for guys who just want to be guys — and maybe get a little pampering.

In we came, tired and beaten. After playing a fast 18 holes of golf, we were sore puppy dogs looking for a place to unwind and relax. We were immediately greeted by the staff who were ready for our arrival. “Manicure or pedicure?” was the question. The four of us split it down the middle, Chris and I securing a pedicure (oh, our dogs were barking) and Rory and Jeff a manicure.

As soon as we were seated in the comfy chairs, we chose from a menu of craft beers. Drinks in hand, we then perused the cigar selection. I chose a Romeo y Julieta and Chris selected a Partitas. What more can a guy get? I’ll tell you!

Forget the manicure and go right to the feet. After chasing balls like Civil War infantrymen, we were ready for the full treatment. Our pedicures started with a relaxing footbath in warm water. The therapist, Ella, then cleaned and massaged our feet and calves with a sea salt scrub that was simply out of this world. After this, we endured the basic but thorough pedicure and — voilà — lovely, rested feet, with a fine craft beer and cigar to boot . . . no pun intended. I had a wonderful conversation with my therapist about our golf game, gardening techniques and how to keep groundhogs away from our plants, a real issue here on the Eastern Seaboard.

When complete, I demanded a finishing touch to impress my teammates: hot pink nail polish on my toes. I broke the record at the Man Cave — never had a man had colorful polish applied, and I really think the nail polish was a personal item of one of the ladies on staff. I was a big hit, and everyone had lots of jokes and comments. What a fun and enjoyable time!

The Man Cave offers many other services including facials, massages and a full-time barber providing specialty shaves and haircuts.

Our only regret: We had to leave!

The Old Towne Man Cave

9070 Center St.
Manassas, VA 20110
tel 571 379 4312
oldtownmancave.net

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
September 2021
Sep 23, 2021

Host a Fabled Business Event in Wonderful Copenhagen

I imagine that when writer Hans Christian Andersen mused, “Life itself is the most wonderful fairy tale,” he was standing at the edge of Copenhagen’s historic Tivoli Gardens, one of his favorite haunts, enlivened by the swirl of human happiness that surrounded him: children laughing; carousels spinning; games of chance played for prizes; lovers holding hands; hungry people whispering over sweets, hot drinks, beer and towering, open-faced smørrebrød, Denmark’s quintessential sandwich. That fairy tale lives on today at the second-oldest amusement park in the world, a spectacle of folly architecture, bakeries, gardens, rides, restaurants, puppet shows and joy ... and which also happens to be one of the city’s most storied places to convene for business.

Greece: Destination Luxury

Since its prestige for attracting the world elite grew in the 1960s, Greece remains the go-to destination for glittering holidays. Each step of the journey is enrobed in luxury, from culinary traditions with the highest standard of execution and name-brand, high-end shopping to first-rate wellness locales and elite accommodations, like 5-star hotels, private villas and yachts.

Canada
Sep 23, 2021

Reimagined Park Hyatt Toronto Officially Reopens Its Doors

The restored Park Hyatt Toronto reopened its doors, bringing luxury, sophistication and glamour alongside a nod to the hotel’s Canadian heritage. Alessandro Munge of Studio Munge collaborated on the hotel’s refresh, drawing inspiration from Canada’s seasons and natural landscapes.

eFlyer Reviews
Sep 22, 2021

Irwin’s Review

I recently dined at Irwin’s in Philadelphia. The restaurant is located on the rooftop of the Bok Building, a former school turned collective of small businesses, non-profits, artist workshops, a bar and restaurant. I previously visited Bok for the bar and yoga classes, and I was excited to experience the restaurant.

Experiencing GBTA Convention 2021
Safely and Responsibly

GBTA’s Convention 2021 will bring the business travel industry together for the first time in a long time. Once again, you’ll learn and connect with experts and each other, along with discussions with leading thinkers, entrepreneurs and change makers addressing the issues that matter most.

eFlyer News
Sep 22, 2021

GBTA Applauds Relaxing of U.S. Travel Ban for Vaccinated Foreign Nationals

The Global Business Travel Association, the world’s largest business travel and meetings trade organization, recently released a statement from GBTA CEO Suzanne Neufang regarding the Biden administration’s recent announcement that the U.S. travel ban will be relaxed in November for vaccinated travelers from 26 Schengen countries, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

GBTA
eFlyer Lead
Sep 22, 2021

Cathay Pacific to Use Sustainable Fuel for 10 Percent of Total Consumption by 2030

Cathay Pacific reaffirms its commitment to reaching net-zero carbon emissions by 2050 with a pledge to use Sustainable Aviation Fuel for 10 percent of its total fuel consumption by 2030. The airline has made pioneering efforts in supporting SAF development for more than 10 years.

The Future of Hamad International Airport

Without a doubt, the pandemic changed the role of airports in the travel industry. Hamad International Airport’s role evolved in many ways since the pandemic hit. Now, more than ever, airports are responsible for creating a secure passenger experience. As the gateway to Qatar and the world, the safety and wellbeing of staff and passengers has always been at the core of Hamad International Airport’s strategy.

Daily
Sep 22, 2021

La Concha Resort Puerto Rico Review

Arriving early afternoon in Puerto Rico, we jumped in an Uber and took a short, 15-minute drive from the airport to La Concha.  As it was Tuesday, the streets were not too busy and the hotel lobby was calm. During the weekend, the scene likely would have been more bustling. We were greeted by a staff member who requested proof of vaccination and government-issued ID, and were given a wristband to indicate we were fully vaccinated. All guests are required to be vaccinated and wear masks at all times while moving around the hotel. Hand sanitizer stations were placed around the lobby, in elevators and in each common area.