FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

The Old Towne Man Cave Review

by Francis X. Gallagher

Oct 1, 2016

© HISTORIC
MANASSAS INC.

Lifestyle / Spas

After hitting the links at the beautiful Potomac Shores Golf Club (see September 2016 Golf), our Global Traveler foursome — myself; Chris “Yammi” Ottaunick, Advisory Board member and staff photographer; Jeff Sohinki, director of sales and marketing; and Rory Oldham, advertising manager — took a short drive to quaint downtown Manassas to relax at the Old Towne Man Cave. The quintessential name offers an idea of what to expect: big-screen TVs showing sports programming and craft beer to your liking. What you don’t realize is the Man Cave is a spa for guys who just want to be guys — and maybe get a little pampering.

In we came, tired and beaten. After playing a fast 18 holes of golf, we were sore puppy dogs looking for a place to unwind and relax. We were immediately greeted by the staff who were ready for our arrival. “Manicure or pedicure?” was the question. The four of us split it down the middle, Chris and I securing a pedicure (oh, our dogs were barking) and Rory and Jeff a manicure.

As soon as we were seated in the comfy chairs, we chose from a menu of craft beers. Drinks in hand, we then perused the cigar selection. I chose a Romeo y Julieta and Chris selected a Partitas. What more can a guy get? I’ll tell you!

Forget the manicure and go right to the feet. After chasing balls like Civil War infantrymen, we were ready for the full treatment. Our pedicures started with a relaxing footbath in warm water. The therapist, Ella, then cleaned and massaged our feet and calves with a sea salt scrub that was simply out of this world. After this, we endured the basic but thorough pedicure and — voilà — lovely, rested feet, with a fine craft beer and cigar to boot . . . no pun intended. I had a wonderful conversation with my therapist about our golf game, gardening techniques and how to keep groundhogs away from our plants, a real issue here on the Eastern Seaboard.

When complete, I demanded a finishing touch to impress my teammates: hot pink nail polish on my toes. I broke the record at the Man Cave — never had a man had colorful polish applied, and I really think the nail polish was a personal item of one of the ladies on staff. I was a big hit, and everyone had lots of jokes and comments. What a fun and enjoyable time!

The Man Cave offers many other services including facials, massages and a full-time barber providing specialty shaves and haircuts.

Our only regret: We had to leave!

The Old Towne Man Cave

9070 Center St.
Manassas, VA 20110
tel 571 379 4312
oldtownmancave.net

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jun 21, 2021

The Franklin London Launches Afternoon Tea Inspired by Victoria & Albert Museum’s “Alice: Curiouser and Curiouser”

The Franklin London – Starhotels Collezione, located in the heart of Knightsbridge, launched a new afternoon tea inspired by the “Alice: Curiouser and Curiouser” exhibit at the nearby Victoria & Albert Museum. Diners booking the tea also have the option to book an offer including a pre-reserved ticket to the in-demand exhibition.

SPIA 2021 Winners Crowned at Gala Ceremony at W Hotel, Palm Jumeirah

The Sports Industry Awards returned with a bang last night as 200 guests packed the W Hotel Great Ball Room for the gala ceremony.

LGBTQ+
Jun 18, 2021

Show Your Pride with Essentia Cocktails

Pride Month is in full swing and to celebrate the community, make a colorful cocktail everyone will enjoy. These colorful ingredients will get the party started during Pride or any time of the year. Start this recipe the night before to create the rainbow ice cubes.

Norway
Jun 17, 2021

Up Norway Sustainable Tour: The Discovery Route

Up Norway, Norway’s travel curator, partners with sustainability experts to offer travelers a new tour. The Discovery Route, called the “world’s most sustainable journey,” combines personal wellness with the wellness of the environment.

eFlyer Reviews
Jun 16, 2021

Marriott Dallas Uptown Review

Driving into Dallas during a rainstorm, we were eager to arrive at our destination. The valet parking at Marriott Dallas Uptown is underground and ideal for inclement weather. We took the elevator to the lobby and made our way to the registration desk. The staff wore masks, but still managed to convey a warm greeting. On the wall behind them hung a colorful piece of art made partially from reclaimed wood that depicts neighborhood scenes. The new hotel covers an entire block in a residential area and opened earlier this year.

eFlyer Lead
Jun 16, 2021

Studies Show Business Travel Confidence Returning

Business travel is on the brink of returning, according to three new reports. The latest monthly Traveler Confidence Index developed by Travel Again shows business traveler confidence soared in May, with 42 percent now fully ready to travel, up from just 20 percent in April. An additional 31 percent are planning some type of business travel for summer, with 74 percent willing to travel domestically for business in the next 90 days. However, employers may not be as ready, with only 22 percent of business travel respondents with current business travel plans.

Sports Industry Awards returns to Dubai’s Palm Jumeirah for 8th Edition

The biggest names in the Middle East sporting community will gather for the Sports Industry Awards as the event returns for its eighth edition. SPIA recognizes the achievements of individuals, organizations, facilities and campaigns that contributed to the development of sport in the region.

Daily
Jun 16, 2021

Best Cities for a Staycation

Although travel restrictions are beginning to lift, many Americans aren’t ready to travel yet, but still want to get out and explore something new. WalletHub, a personal-finance website, recently conducted a study to find out the best cities for a staycation this summer.