FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

The Old Towne Man Cave Review

by Francis X. Gallagher

Oct 1, 2016

© HISTORIC
MANASSAS INC.

Lifestyle / Spas

After hitting the links at the beautiful Potomac Shores Golf Club (see September 2016 Golf), our Global Traveler foursome — myself; Chris “Yammi” Ottaunick, Advisory Board member and staff photographer; Jeff Sohinki, director of sales and marketing; and Rory Oldham, advertising manager — took a short drive to quaint downtown Manassas to relax at the Old Towne Man Cave. The quintessential name offers an idea of what to expect: big-screen TVs showing sports programming and craft beer to your liking. What you don’t realize is the Man Cave is a spa for guys who just want to be guys — and maybe get a little pampering.

In we came, tired and beaten. After playing a fast 18 holes of golf, we were sore puppy dogs looking for a place to unwind and relax. We were immediately greeted by the staff who were ready for our arrival. “Manicure or pedicure?” was the question. The four of us split it down the middle, Chris and I securing a pedicure (oh, our dogs were barking) and Rory and Jeff a manicure.

As soon as we were seated in the comfy chairs, we chose from a menu of craft beers. Drinks in hand, we then perused the cigar selection. I chose a Romeo y Julieta and Chris selected a Partitas. What more can a guy get? I’ll tell you!

Forget the manicure and go right to the feet. After chasing balls like Civil War infantrymen, we were ready for the full treatment. Our pedicures started with a relaxing footbath in warm water. The therapist, Ella, then cleaned and massaged our feet and calves with a sea salt scrub that was simply out of this world. After this, we endured the basic but thorough pedicure and — voilà — lovely, rested feet, with a fine craft beer and cigar to boot . . . no pun intended. I had a wonderful conversation with my therapist about our golf game, gardening techniques and how to keep groundhogs away from our plants, a real issue here on the Eastern Seaboard.

When complete, I demanded a finishing touch to impress my teammates: hot pink nail polish on my toes. I broke the record at the Man Cave — never had a man had colorful polish applied, and I really think the nail polish was a personal item of one of the ladies on staff. I was a big hit, and everyone had lots of jokes and comments. What a fun and enjoyable time!

The Man Cave offers many other services including facials, massages and a full-time barber providing specialty shaves and haircuts.

Our only regret: We had to leave!

The Old Towne Man Cave

9070 Center St.
Manassas, VA 20110
tel 571 379 4312
oldtownmancave.net

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
eFlyer Reviews
Jan 26, 2022

Magna Pars-L’Hotel à Parfum Review

Navigli is Milan’s current “it” neighborhood, a quick tram or train ride from the Duomo, the oft-photographed Quadrilatero della Moda shopping, museums, chain stores and throngs of tourists. While it has the youthful vibe and artist-chic found in formerly industrial neighborhoods in major cities around the globe, it’s not every day you’ll find such a district that has reinvented itself as a Venice that’s wholly defined by the stylish and tech-savvy locals who live, work and play there. It is both photogenic and approachable, while also tapping into the current sustainability zeitgeist.

Seabourn: It’s Not an Escape, It’s an Arrival

Go ahead, take a nice, deep breath. Because a Seabourn voyage is all about this moment you’ve come so far in life to embrace. It’s not an escape, it’s an arrival.

eFlyer News
Jan 26, 2022

Steamboat Ski Resort Welcomes Skiers with Disabilities to its Champagne Powder Snow

Believing everyone of all abilities and skills should have a fulfilling ski experience, Steamboat Ski Resort partnered with Steamboat Adaptive Recreational Sports to allow all to hit the slopes, no matter their abilities. A nonprofit focusing on empowering lives through adaptive recreational activities, STARS will help Steamboat Ski Resort offer an adaptive ski experience for skiers and snowboarders with disabilities.

eFlyer News
Jan 26, 2022

Icelandair Adds Three New Destinations in Europe

Icelandair adds Rome (FCO), Alicante (ALC), and Nice (NCE), to its international network for travel this summer. As popular tourist destinations, the addition will provide connections between North America and Iceland during the busiest travel time of the year. Passengers flying to these three new destinations can take advantage of a multiday stopover in Iceland at no additional airfare.

 Reconnect with the world in The Islands of Tahiti

Located in the South Pacific, The Islands of Tahiti are just eight hours by air from California. Surrounded by pristine, crystal-clear blue waters, the 118 islands and atolls offer natural beauty, authentic island culture and unique French Polynesian style. The Islands of Tahiti are world-renowned for white-sand beaches, stunning turquoise lagoons and varied landscapes ranging from coral atolls to volcanic mountain peaks. Privacy comes naturally in The Islands of Tahiti and offers visitors the space to relax and reconnect and to be Embraced By Mana. Mana is the life force and spirit that connects all things in The Islands of Tahiti.

eFlyer News
Jan 26, 2022

New Caesars Palace Renovations, Restaurants, Entertainment for 2022

Las Vegas’ iconic Caesars Palace will see new restaurants and entertainment additions as well as renovations to maintain its status as one of the top hotels on the Las Vegas Strip. After announcing the residency of Grammy award-winning singer Adele, the hotel also revealed the opening of Dominique Ansel Las Vegas for summer 2022.

Slideshow
Jan 25, 2022

7 Reasons to Put Maui, Hawai’i, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Maui, Hawai’i, with us.

IHG® Business Edge: Working Together with SMEs

IHG® Business Edge: Working Together with SMEs for a smarter way to manage travel

Daily
Jan 24, 2022

Visit Las Cruces, New Mexico, This Winter

Take a trip to Las Cruces, New Mexico, this winter to experience some of the region’s finest natural sites, restaurants and wineries. Visit Las Cruces compiled a list of some of the top activities and locations in the area for travelers.