FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Cathay Pacific First Class

Jul 1, 2008
2008 / July 2008

On the Ground: The ticket agent was prompt and courteous. Within five minutes of lining up at the Cathay Pacific first-class check-in, I was en route to security. (30/30)

Pre-flight: Focused on televised news in the lounge, I’d lost track of time when a hostess reminded me it was time to board. After quickly passing through the First/ Business gate and into the Boeing 777-300ER, a lovely attendant led me to my First Class Suite, an impressive piece of airplane real estate stretching the length of three windows and enclosed by a waist-high wall. As she hung my jacket and stowed my carry-on in my suite’s floorlevel cupboard, I realized that with no overhead bin, the high-ceilinged space felt lofty. After proffering a flute of Champagne along with an embroidered pouch containing indigo blue Shanghai Tang pajamas and slippers, the attendant introduced the features of my seat. An ottoman doubles as a seat for visiting colleagues when not incorporated into this big bed in the sky. A drop-down armrest expands the seat width and serves as a side cocktail table. The fully adjustable seat with its four-way lumbar support and massage feature easily accesses techie gizmos, including a pull-out 17-inch TV with premium headphones to enjoy the on-demand audio-visual programs, 110-volt plugs for my computer, plus ambient mood and reading lights. (29/30)

In-Flight: Soaring over clouds while feasting on caviar and smoked salmon, fragrant mushroom soup, grilled lamb chops with mustard cream sauce accompanied by a heady Domaine Jacques Prieur Beune Champs Pimont Premier Cru, I began to feel slightly decadent, like a lord in my own condo in the sky, with servants. Satiated, I worked a while on my computer before donning the elegant pajamas and reclining into movie-watching mode. After three films and a snack of fragrant barbecued duck noodle soup, I transformed my seat into a cushy flat bed measuring 36 inches wide and 81 inches long — big enough for a 6-foot-3-inch guy.

Coddled by a couple of pillows and puffy duvet, I dozed off to wake six hours later to the aroma of brewing coffee. With 55 minutes to landing, I was willing to forgo the last refreshment. “Eat, you need energy for Hong Kong,” insisted the motherly attendant, reminding me that all meals are prepared to order as she fastidiously organized my choice of savory chicken.(39/40)

The Experience: After a 15 ½-hour non-stop flight that left me rested beyond belief, Cathay Pacific’s first-class service proved as perfect as long-haul flying gets. Passengers on connecting flights could refresh in the lounge with a shower or bath in a private cabana.

Total Score: (98/100)

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
eFlyer Reviews
Jan 26, 2022

Magna Pars-L’Hotel à Parfum Review

Navigli is Milan’s current “it” neighborhood, a quick tram or train ride from the Duomo, the oft-photographed Quadrilatero della Moda shopping, museums, chain stores and throngs of tourists. While it has the youthful vibe and artist-chic found in formerly industrial neighborhoods in major cities around the globe, it’s not every day you’ll find such a district that has reinvented itself as a Venice that’s wholly defined by the stylish and tech-savvy locals who live, work and play there. It is both photogenic and approachable, while also tapping into the current sustainability zeitgeist.

 Reconnect with the world in The Islands of Tahiti

Located in the South Pacific, The Islands of Tahiti are just eight hours by air from California. Surrounded by pristine, crystal-clear blue waters, the 118 islands and atolls offer natural beauty, authentic island culture and unique French Polynesian style. The Islands of Tahiti are world-renowned for white-sand beaches, stunning turquoise lagoons and varied landscapes ranging from coral atolls to volcanic mountain peaks. Privacy comes naturally in The Islands of Tahiti and offers visitors the space to relax and reconnect and to be Embraced By Mana. Mana is the life force and spirit that connects all things in The Islands of Tahiti.

eFlyer News
Jan 26, 2022

Steamboat Ski Resort Welcomes Skiers with Disabilities to its Champagne Powder Snow

Believing everyone of all abilities and skills should have a fulfilling ski experience, Steamboat Ski Resort partnered with Steamboat Adaptive Recreational Sports to allow all to hit the slopes, no matter their abilities. A nonprofit focusing on empowering lives through adaptive recreational activities, STARS will help Steamboat Ski Resort offer an adaptive ski experience for skiers and snowboarders with disabilities.

eFlyer News
Jan 26, 2022

Icelandair Adds Three New Destinations in Europe

Icelandair adds Rome (FCO), Alicante (ALC), and Nice (NCE), to its international network for travel this summer. As popular tourist destinations, the addition will provide connections between North America and Iceland during the busiest travel time of the year. Passengers flying to these three new destinations can take advantage of a multiday stopover in Iceland at no additional airfare.

Seabourn: It’s Not an Escape, It’s an Arrival

Go ahead, take a nice, deep breath. Because a Seabourn voyage is all about this moment you’ve come so far in life to embrace. It’s not an escape, it’s an arrival.

eFlyer News
Jan 26, 2022

New Caesars Palace Renovations, Restaurants, Entertainment for 2022

Las Vegas’ iconic Caesars Palace will see new restaurants and entertainment additions as well as renovations to maintain its status as one of the top hotels on the Las Vegas Strip. After announcing the residency of Grammy award-winning singer Adele, the hotel also revealed the opening of Dominique Ansel Las Vegas for summer 2022.

Slideshow
Jan 25, 2022

7 Reasons to Put Maui, Hawai’i, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Maui, Hawai’i, with us.

IHG® Business Edge: Working Together with SMEs

IHG® Business Edge: Working Together with SMEs for a smarter way to manage travel

Daily
Jan 24, 2022

Visit Las Cruces, New Mexico, This Winter

Take a trip to Las Cruces, New Mexico, this winter to experience some of the region’s finest natural sites, restaurants and wineries. Visit Las Cruces compiled a list of some of the top activities and locations in the area for travelers.