FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

La Concha Resort Puerto Rico Review

by Audrey Lee

Sep 22, 2021

Photo by Audrey Lee

Daily

Arriving early afternoon in Puerto Rico, we jumped in an Uber and took a short, 15-minute drive from the airport to La Concha.  As it was Tuesday, the streets were not too busy and the hotel lobby was calm. During the weekend, the scene likely would have been more bustling. We were greeted by a staff member who requested proof of vaccination and government-issued ID, and were given a wristband to indicate we were fully vaccinated. All guests are required to be vaccinated and wear masks at all times while moving around the hotel. Hand sanitizer stations were placed around the lobby, in elevators and in each common area.

 

La Conch Puerto Rico

Photo by Audrey Lee

 

Check-in was a breeze with the friendly staff and we were off to see our room. The walk through the lobby and to our tower gave us a glimpse at what the rest of the property looked like, with clean lines, and minimalistic, but trendy. Our room was an ocean-front suite with a sitting area, kitchenette, large bathroom and a gorgeous view of the sparkling waves below. We unpacked what we needed for our stay, and enjoyed the view from our balcony before heading to dinner.

 

 

After we returned, the sun was setting, so we decided to view it from the pool. The first pool was an infinity pool at the same height as the sand for perfect views of the beach and water. We ordered drinks from the bar and our waiter let us know there were three other pools and two hot tubs to enjoy. We decided to check them out.

 

Through the lobby, in the center of the hotel complex, was the main pool area. It featured two large pools with water cascading from a waterfall that connected them. By this time, it was dark and the pools were illuminated with lights and the calming sounds of fountains. Seating could be found any way we turned, but with privacy from tropical plants. Frogs began chirping and we felt like we were in our own oasis. The two large pools have heated jets and seating for ultimate relaxation. Although the weather was hot, the heated pool was just what I wanted. Stepping out afterwards, I was shivering, to my disbelief! I covered up in my towel and scurried back to my room for a hot shower.

 

 

The next morning, we stopped by Aroma Café, in the lobby. We enjoyed a local favorite, Mallorca — a sweet bread grilled with ham, egg and cheese — along with Puerto Rican coffee. La Concha also hosts a casino right off of the lobby, but we did not get a chance to gamble our luck.

 

Mallorca

Photo by Audrey Lee

 

We stayed for an additional night and enjoyed the pools and hot tubs again before departing. The hotel was clean, modern, trendy and had a cheerful and helpful staff. For a stay only 15 minutes from the airport and Old San Juan, this hotel checks all of the boxes for a beautiful tropical getaway.

 

La Concha

1077 Ashford Ave.

San Juan, Puerto Rico 00907

tel 787 721 7500

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
August 2022
Aug 9, 2022

Creativity, Culture and Glorious Nature Abound in Zürich

PHOTO: © BOGDAN LAZAR | DREAMSTIME.COM,

United’s 100 Percent Green Commitment to be Carbon Neutral by 2050

United Airlines remains firmly committed toward sustainability in aviation. The latest development in its eco-conscious goals includes working with Oxy Low Carbon Ventures to commercialize the production of sustainable aviation fuels (SAF) with biotech firm Cemvita Factory. Cemvita looks to develop a revolutionary new way to produce SAF by using carbon dioxide and synthetic microbes. Additionally, United Airlines Ventures (UAV) recently announced an equity investment in Fulcrum, and United has invested more in SAF production than any other airline in the world.

Slideshow
Aug 8, 2022

6 Reasons to Put St. Louis, Missouri, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through St. Louis, Missouri, with us.

August 2022
Aug 8, 2022

People from Around the World Gather to Pray at the Western Wall

The day we visited, we each brought our biggest worry, written on a scrap of paper, meticulously folded into the smallest possible contortion, ready to slip into a crack of the Western Wall. Feeling giddy, we descended a limestone staircase into the rectangular Prayer Plaza.

6,000 Reasons and More to Celebrate!

IHG® Hotels & Resorts certainly has a lot to celebrate, starting with an incredible growth story. Over the past five years, IHG has acquired or launched six new brands: Six Senses® Hotels Resorts Spas, Regent® Hotels & Resorts, Vignette™ Collection, voco™ hotels, avid® hotels and Atwell Suites™. Most recently, IHG reached an important milestone with its 6,000th open hotel. The company looks to further expand its portfolio by 30 percent with 1,800 hotels in the development pipeline, with significant focus on growth in the luxury segment where IHG is positioned as one of the top two hotel chains.

eFlyer Reviews
Aug 3, 2022

Viking Octantis Review

With the launch of Octantis in Antarctica last winter, Viking dipped a toe into the growing expedition cruising market and will jump in with both feet when its twin, Polaris, launches later in 2022. The pair bring the total number of Viking ships — river, ocean and expedition — to 97 cruising all seven continents.

eFlyer Lead
Aug 3, 2022

Venture Ashore by City Experiences Expands Its Essential Collection

Venture Ashore, the largest independent cruise excursions provider in the world and part of the City Experiences portfolio of brands, expands its Essential Collection to offer guests even more one-of-a-kind offers around the world. The additions include nine new unparalleled walking and culinary tours from WALKS and Devour Tours.

Celebrity is celebrating Spring with 25% off Cruise Fares!

There’s no better time to plan the vacation you’ve been missing. Step aboard with your better half, your friends or the whole family and reconnect, reunite and rejoice with 25 percent off cruise fares for all guests. We’ll also help everyone get there with 25 percent off airfare from 20 major gateways across the country or $100 savings per person on flights from all other gateways when you book your air travel using Flights by Celebrity.*

6,000 Reasons and More to Celebrate!

IHG® Hotels & Resorts certainly has a lot to celebrate, starting with an incredible growth story. Over the past five years, IHG has acquired or launched six new brands: Six Senses® Hotels Resorts Spas, Regent® Hotels & Resorts, Vignette™ Collection, voco™ hotels, avid® hotels and Atwell Suites™. Most recently, IHG reached an important milestone with its 6,000th open hotel. The company looks to further expand its portfolio by 30 percent with 1,800 hotels in the development pipeline, with significant focus on growth in the luxury segment where IHG is positioned as one of the top two hotel chains.