FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort Review

Mar 12, 2021

PHOTO: © KEVIN RYAN

August 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: After a short trip to Orlando, Florida, we rented a car and drove to Marco Island. Once we pulled up to the hotel, the valet team welcomed us and took our bags. Although the lobby was crowded and lively, we checked in quickly and our bags arrived in our room in no time at all. Our bell man was helpful and told us about the property, the restaurants and the activities happening during our stay.

GUEST QUARTERS: Our spacious and clean room featured a king-sized bed. The bedding and pillows were heavenly, so cozy and comfortable we enjoyed great sleep every night. The room also included a large TV, complimentary WiFi and plenty of outlets for our electronics. The deck outside the sliding doors provided a beautiful, scenic view of the pool and ocean.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: One of the amenities we really appreciated was the 24-hour fitness center. When traveling, it is sometimes difficult to find time to work out, but we were able to sneak in a few workouts in a clean gym with the requisite weights and machines. Beautiful pools greeted us as we walked out the door, but the real prize lay just past the pools — the pristine sand and beautiful ocean of the beach. There, the staff quickly greeted us and set us up with towels, chairs and umbrella. They also came around in the truck to serve us food and drink. Two great beach bars maintain the beach theme and keep guests hydrated.

There are choices for breakfast, and we enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet at restaurant Maia. The resort offers even more options for dinner, with a new addition that, after a certain time, serves adults only. The 10K Alley bar was unique; it offered a great craft beer selection but, more importantly, games such as mini golf, virtual reality and bowling.

Another bonus is the Hertz office in the hotel lobby. We were able to rent a car on short notice, and they were accommodating.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

  • The property is beautiful and the staff top-notch. Choosing between beautiful pools and the beach may have been the most difficult decision we faced each day.
  • The resort offers wonderful places to eat; but if you want to leave the property, it is an easy ride into Naples.
  • Naples is a great town with an abundance of shopping options and fantastic restaurants with fresh seafood.

JW MARRIOTT MARCO ISLAND BEACH RESORT
400 S. Collier Blvd.
Marco Island, FL 34145
tel 239 394 2511
marriott.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Dec 2, 2022

AKA West Palm Beach Opens in Florida

West Palm Beach, Florida, recently welcomed AKA West Palm, a hotel residence offering long-stay accommodations. As AKA’s second South Florida property, AKA West Palm features 215 hotel residences comprised of studios, one- and two-bedroom spaces, and Penthouse suites. The five-story hotel blends modern luxuries with comfort and simplicity, with sleek kitchens, washers and dryers, and private terraces. Room furnishings contrast with a backdrop of stone, metal and wood to create simple, clean lines with minimal contrast.

75 Years Connecting the Americas

Copa Airlines is celebrating its 75th anniversary by showcasing a Boeing 737-800 NG in an aircraft livery that harkened back to the airline’s look in the 1990s. During that time, Copa Airlines launched an expansion of their network to become the Hub of the Americas®, changing the way to travel to and connect in our Continent.

Daily
Dec 2, 2022

Heart of the South

Birmingham, Alabama, was named for the city in the English Midlands that kept the fires burning, warmed the homes and made much of the steel for the United Kingdom’s industrial revolution. Decades later, the American city also made steel, so much of it, in fact, it became known as the “Magic City” for steel production, and the moniker stuck. But today’s Magic City makes more than steel, taking the raw product a few more steps to become a major center for automobile parts manufacturing and more, including Honda, Mercedes-Benz and U.S. Steel. Thanks to local leadership and long-term planning, the magic still works for Birmingham, as evidenced by its role hosting The World Games 2022 last summer.

Daily
Dec 2, 2022

El Museo Del Barrio

As New York City’s leading Latino cultural institution, El Museo del Barrio welcomes visitors of all backgrounds to discover the artistic landscape of Latino, Caribbean and Latin American cultures. El Museo’s wide-ranging collections and exhibitions represent these cultures’ richness, complemented by film, literary, visual and performing arts series, cultural celebrations and educational programs. Ranging from pre-Columbian to modern and contemporary art, the permanent collection totals more than 8,000 objects.

Luxurious Adventures Await.

Discover why Global Traveler readers named Cunard® the Best Large-Ship Cruise Line for seven consecutive years. For a limited time, book your voyage during Cunard’s Black Friday Sale promotion and take advantage of Reduced Fares*, up to $600 Onboard Credit^ per stateroom, and a 50% Reduced Deposit‡. Choose from an array of exciting journeys, including Transatlantic Crossings and voyages to Alaska, the Caribbean and Canada & New England.

Daily
Dec 2, 2022

Fairmont Gold Reopens at Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown

Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown recently reopened its Fairmont Gold, introducing amenities, a contemporary new style in the Fairmont Gold Lounge and dedicated concierges. The 48-room, three-suite Fairmont Gold, positioned as an urban oasis, takes over the entire ninth floor of the hotel and delivers exceptional service to meet guests’ needs.

Press Releases
Dec 1, 2022

Global Traveler Announces 19th Annual GT Tested Reader Survey Awards

The results are in! For the 19th consecutive year, Global Traveler conducted its GT Tested Reader Survey, asking frequent luxury travelers to name the best in a variety of travel-related categories. More than 22,000 people responded. Global Traveler’s inaugural awards were celebrated in 2004.

TAP Air Portugal: 77 Years Young

TAP Air Portugal, or rather Transportes Aéreos Portugueses, was founded 77 years ago, March 14, 1945, and flew its first commercial flight September 19, 1946, inaugurating service from Lisbon to Madrid, Spain, aboard a Douglas DC-3.

December 2022
Dec 1, 2022

Rich in History: Explore Gilded Age Mansions and More in Newport, Rhode Island

Originally a thriving Colonial seaport, Newport became the summer playground for the Gilded Age’s elite in the late 1880s. Today their mansions dot the coast of Aquidneck Island, and their favorite pastimes — sailing and tennis — still dominate the city’s recreational offerings. In fact, Newport hosted the first U.S. Open tennis championship in 1881 and golf tourna- ment in 1895 and hosted the America’s Cup from 1930 to 1983. You can experience most of Newport on your own, including the mansions, but don’t rule out a guided tour or two when you visit.