FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort Review

Mar 12, 2021

PHOTO: © KEVIN RYAN

August 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: After a short trip to Orlando, Florida, we rented a car and drove to Marco Island. Once we pulled up to the hotel, the valet team welcomed us and took our bags. Although the lobby was crowded and lively, we checked in quickly and our bags arrived in our room in no time at all. Our bell man was helpful and told us about the property, the restaurants and the activities happening during our stay.

GUEST QUARTERS: Our spacious and clean room featured a king-sized bed. The bedding and pillows were heavenly, so cozy and comfortable we enjoyed great sleep every night. The room also included a large TV, complimentary WiFi and plenty of outlets for our electronics. The deck outside the sliding doors provided a beautiful, scenic view of the pool and ocean.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: One of the amenities we really appreciated was the 24-hour fitness center. When traveling, it is sometimes difficult to find time to work out, but we were able to sneak in a few workouts in a clean gym with the requisite weights and machines. Beautiful pools greeted us as we walked out the door, but the real prize lay just past the pools — the pristine sand and beautiful ocean of the beach. There, the staff quickly greeted us and set us up with towels, chairs and umbrella. They also came around in the truck to serve us food and drink. Two great beach bars maintain the beach theme and keep guests hydrated.

There are choices for breakfast, and we enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet at restaurant Maia. The resort offers even more options for dinner, with a new addition that, after a certain time, serves adults only. The 10K Alley bar was unique; it offered a great craft beer selection but, more importantly, games such as mini golf, virtual reality and bowling.

Another bonus is the Hertz office in the hotel lobby. We were able to rent a car on short notice, and they were accommodating.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

  • The property is beautiful and the staff top-notch. Choosing between beautiful pools and the beach may have been the most difficult decision we faced each day.
  • The resort offers wonderful places to eat; but if you want to leave the property, it is an easy ride into Naples.
  • Naples is a great town with an abundance of shopping options and fantastic restaurants with fresh seafood.

JW MARRIOTT MARCO ISLAND BEACH RESORT
400 S. Collier Blvd.
Marco Island, FL 34145
tel 239 394 2511
marriott.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Explore Excursions

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jun 21, 2024

New Beds and Restaurants in Boise, Idaho

There’s lots going on in Boise, including an impressive selection of new hotels. Stays at The Sparrow will immediately immerse you in a sense of place, thanks to engaging, infographic- style artwork in each of the 67 guestrooms. You’ll find a local coffeehouse in the lobby, a food truck on the outdoor patio overlooking Grove Street, and an outdoor fireplace inviting guests to linger and mingle. Authentic, local experiences include the Brewery of the Month program.

Sail to the Tropical Splendors of Tahiti and The Tuamotu Islands with Windstar Cruises

This November, Windstar Cruises celebrates more than 36 years in Tahiti with an itinerary taking guests to the clear waters of Tahiti and The Tuamotu Islands on a journey exploring Tahitian culture, the ecosystems of Fakarava, and the sunsets of Raiatea and Bora Bora. The 10-day sailing aboard Star Breeze, Nov. 18–28, departs from Papeete and ends in Papeete.

June 2024
Jun 21, 2024

Saudi Arabia Fosters Sustainable, Regenerative Tourism Along the Red Sea

 My first experience of Saudi Arabia's Red Sea coast now seems like ancient history. It was 1995, and I was visiting my ornithologist cousin and is wife. Getting into the kingdom wasn't easy; I needed sponsorship letters. and a pre-trip interview at the Saudi Arabian Embassy. When I arrived in the country, there was no tourist infrastructure. We toured by SUV ad often slept under the stars. Thus, one morning, we woke up on roll-out mattresses on a Red Sea beach 200 miles from Jeddah.

Daily
Jun 21, 2024

2 New Concept Bars Opening This Fall in Texas and New York

Add New York City and Austin to your list of bar-hopping cities with the highly-anticipated debuts of Brass Poppy and Bar Sprezzatura.

Tips to Plan a Destination Event Worth the Trip

It's time to shake things up and inject some serious excitement into your next gathering. Whether  planning a corporate conference, black-tie gala or milestone celebration, choosing the right venue can make all the difference. City Winery shares some tips to make your next gathering a rockin' success.

Daily
Jun 21, 2024

Virgin Hotels to Open First London Hotel in August

On Aug. 1, Virgin Hotels debuts its first London property. Set to open in the heart of Shoreditch, this hotel will mark the brand’s eighth Virgin Hotels location worldwide and the 17th property for the wider Virgin Hotels Collection.

Daily
Jun 19, 2024

Sofitel New York Embarks on Comprehensive Renovation

Sofitel New York recently announced a comprehensive refurbishment project, timed to the Sofitel brand’s 60th anniversary this year. The Manhattan property’s renovation, set to start in late 2024, will reach all facets of the hotel, including the 398 guestrooms and suites, lobby, meeting spaces, elevators, and corridors. Completion of the public areas is anticipated by fall 2025.

Hit the High Notes in Nashville

Nashville’s once-modest skyline continues to evolve as its luxury market grows. Lavish hotel properties are added to the landscape while acclaimed chefs stake claim in the robust culinary scene and premier cultural offerings round out the city’s repertoire.

eFlyer Reviews
Jun 18, 2024

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Atlantic City Review

My husband and I recently enjoyed an overnight getaway at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Atlantic City. The resort is a one-stop shop for an entertaining escape. We packed a lot into our one-night stay, and it left us looking forward to a return visit.