FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Glen Dornoch Waterway Golf Club

by Francis X. Gallagher

Aug 1, 2019

© Francis X. Gallagher

August 2019

WE FREQUENTLY PLAY Glen Dornoch Waterway Golf Links on our annual Myrtle Beach tour, but the course hasn’t made the pages of Global Traveler for a long time. The facility occupies 270 acres of environmentally sensitive and preserved land (due to golf) on the north side of the Grand Strand. Water features heavily on 12 of the 18 holes, and the Intercoastal Waterway threads its way around the course. Add in a little Southern charm with century-old live oaks, and you have a lovely golf experience.

Designed by Clyde Johnston, the course opened in 1996. Johnston designed many courses in Myrtle Beach and Florida, including Jacksonville Golf and Country Club, which he will refresh this year after his original design some 30 years ago. At Glen Dornoch, passing boat traffic makes for an interesting diversion while you search for your ball in the high grass.

Glen Dornoch belongs to The Glens Golf Group, which includes sister courses Heather Glen (see the November 2015 Global Traveler), Possum Trot and Shaftesbury Glen; the latter two might be referred to as “tracks,” or courses not up to par. Glen Dornoch and Heather Glen remain the shining stars of The Glens Golf Group. Glen Dornoch just finished a total replacement of greens, and by the looks of them, they were not succeeding. Frankly, the greens were a huge disappointment and may result in a future no-play for the annual trip.

Early by my standards, before 9 a.m., we teed up in a threesome including John Ecklund of Philadelphia; Gerry Gallagher, my older brother from Dallas; and yours truly. The Glen will never be the same.

HOLE 5 | 590 yards, par 5 – Wet Not Want Not
“Wet Not Want Not,” a monster by any measure, presented a daunting task for Gerry, John and me as we teed up. The hole is so named due to the significant marsh you must clear on the second shot. From the tee box, Gerry drove a ball so far into the woods, woodpeckers are still telling stories of the ricochets. John and I drove decent drives favoring the left side in anticipation of carrying the 66 yards of wetlands before us. Although 66 yards is really nothing, as most know, 66 can feel like 666 when you hit your 3-wood fat and muddy. I cleared the hazard and landed on the deep green, walking away with my only par on the front nine. Wet is not what you want on Hole 5!

HOLE 9 | 460 yards, par 4 – Sea Cruise
Ranked as the No. 1-handicapped hole on Glen Dornoch, “Sea Cruise” intimidated us, as the Intercoastal Waterway lines the entire right side. So dangerous is this passage, boaters are asked to sign a waiver that golf balls may strike craft, causing their sinking … not really. But when we teed off, John was ready to steer his ball far from harm’s way, landing left of the fairway but safe. Gerry and I took a more dangerous route, teetering on the right side and nearly “seeing” the sea. The deceptive approach to the green goes slightly uphill; John took Hole 9, closing out the first half of Glen Dornoch.

HOLE 16 | 431 yards, par 4 – Beauty Is a Beast
There is no question your second shot to the green will be breathtaking with the waterway beyond and a sunken green crisscrossed with water and footbridges. But you are not here for photo ops. Chills will tingle up your spine as you imagine the harm that can happen, and I saw it firsthand. From the tee, do what John did and hug the right bunker. From there, he executed a shot that looked lost but was found sitting on the green. A long putt up to the flag and a few expletives made for the best score on the Beast.

HOLE 17 | 212 yards, par 3 – Island in the Sky
This might be the most respected and admired hole on the course. It is virtually an island green where you must clear marsh in front to an overly bunkered green. The rear bunker, backed with railroad ties, makes overstriking the ball a comical sight. From the tee box, a tree partially blocks the green, making a somewhat blind shot. A blindfold might have helped as we thrust ourselves into our swings, catching traps, bulkheads and greens. Even so, Johnny and I earned the best scores, each carding a 4.

HOLE 18 | 455 yards, par 4 – Where You Went
On this great challenging hole, you face two alternatives: Aim straight and hope you will clear the marsh straight ahead while not turning left into the Intercoastal, or chicken out and take the fairway right as a layup. Gerry teed up with all intentions of following the two of us who barely made it across, but he slapped his drive to the bailout/layup area on the right. John and I drove over but too far right for a clean second shot to the green. It was Gerry who pulled out the sneak attack and hit the green from the right fairway to par the final hole — forever coining the term “where you went.”

GLEN DORNOCH WATERWAY GOLF LINKS

4840 Glen Dornoch Way
Little River, SC 29566
tel 843 249 2541
glendornoch.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jan 21, 2022

Reasons to Visit New Orleans This February and March

New Orleans has a full roster of activities, events and festivals enticing guests throughout February and March.

IHG® Business Edge: Working Together with SMEs

IHG® Business Edge: Working Together with SMEs for a smarter way to manage travel

Daily
Jan 20, 2022

5 Remarkable South African Women Changing the Travel Industry

With Black History Month and Women’s History Month right around the corner, it’s time to highlight and recognize South African women working hard to make the travel industry better.

eFlyer Reviews
Jan 19, 2022

Cheval Blanc Paris Review

Since Cheval Blanc, an extraordinary, newly designed and refurbished 72-room hotel owned by Louis Vuitton Moet Hennessey, launched in September 2021, it has been the talk of the town. Le Tout-Paris remarks about its WOW factor … and the hard-to-get reservations for the 30 seats at Plenitude, the intimate, first-floor gastronomic outlet headed by chef Arnaud Donckele, who earned three Michelin stars at Cheval Blanc Saint Tropez. Reservations are also recommended for Limbar, the ground-floor bakery/café/tea shop/bar where we watched Pastry Chef Maxime Frédéric preparing desserts and an absolute must-have for dinner at Le Tout-Paris, the 7th-floor, all-day brasserie. This brightly colored space, with its raised seating and Fauve-like floor tiles and the adjacent Milanese restaurant, Langosteria, both have access to terraces facing the Seine River, with amazing views encompassing Notre Dame to the Eiffel Tower.

Seabourn: It’s Not an Escape, It’s an Arrival

Go ahead, take a nice, deep breath. Because a Seabourn voyage is all about this moment you’ve come so far in life to embrace. It’s not an escape, it’s an arrival.

eFlyer News
Jan 19, 2022

New Specials at Well & Beings’ The Spa at Red Rock, The Spa at Green Valley Ranch

Nevada-based The Spa at Green Valley by Well & Being and The Spa at Red Rock by Well & Being celebrate the start of 2022 with new health, wellness and spa treatments available through March 31. Both spas offer an array of treatments for guests wanting to relax and unwind before 2022 kicks into full gear.

Daily
Jan 19, 2022

“JEOPARDY!”, Lindblad Expeditions Announce “Explore Alaska Sweepstakes”

Now through Jan. 28, JEOPARDY! and Lindblad Expeditions team up for a viewer promotion, the JEOPARDY! Explore Alaska Sweepstakes. The contest will award 10 winners and their guests with an eight-day, small-ship cruise of Alaska’s coastal wilderness.

 Reconnect with the world in The Islands of Tahiti

Located in the South Pacific, The Islands of Tahiti are just eight hours by air from California. Surrounded by pristine, crystal-clear blue waters, the 118 islands and atolls offer natural beauty, authentic island culture and unique French Polynesian style. The Islands of Tahiti are world-renowned for white-sand beaches, stunning turquoise lagoons and varied landscapes ranging from coral atolls to volcanic mountain peaks. Privacy comes naturally in The Islands of Tahiti and offers visitors the space to relax and reconnect and to be Embraced By Mana. Mana is the life force and spirit that connects all things in The Islands of Tahiti.

Seabourn: It’s Not an Escape, It’s an Arrival

Go ahead, take a nice, deep breath. Because a Seabourn voyage is all about this moment you’ve come so far in life to embrace. It’s not an escape, it’s an arrival.