FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Conrad New York Midtown: Review

Dec 13, 2021

PHOTO: © CONRAD MIDTOWN

December 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: Upon walking into Conrad New York Midtown, I was immediately drawn to a large sculpture depicting Leda and the Swan by contemporary artist Carole Feuerman and impressed by the slick and stylish yet inviting lobby. Several of the staff warmly greeted me. Although I arrived mid-morning, understandably too early to get my room, the staff allowed me to check in, store my bags and freshen up in the restaurant restroom. The process was amazingly quick and easy.

When I asked the doorman for directions to the Javits Center, he wisely suggested I walk to the Hudson River, which allowed me to see the USS Intrepid, among other sites.

GT Tested

PHOTO: © CONRAD MIDTOWN

GUEST QUARTERS: My three most important requirements in a hotel room are bed comfort, shower quality and noise control. All three proved superb in my spacious City View suite. The king bed provided a fantastic night of sleep. The strong water pressure combined with steamy water to make my shower seem like a massage, with the showerhead offering other spray options, too. Perhaps most important, especially in a bustling area like Midtown, the room seemed sound- proof. I did not hear any noise from the halls or outside. In place of a mint on the pillow, a box of decadent chocolates greeted me.

The other room of the suite held a sofa, dining table and refrigerator. Both rooms offered beautiful views of Midtown and had large flat-screen TVs.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: The property houses an art collection featuring 37 artists, including an original Henri Matisse lithograph, two original Andy Warhol silkscreens and two limited-edition photographs by Amy Judd. At 1,500 square feet, the 24-hour fitness center was surprisingly large. My favorite part was the heavy bag, which I have not seen in a hotel fitness center. I got plenty of use from the bag and other equipment, providing some of the best hotel workouts I have ever experienced. Other pluses were the speed of the elevators and WiFi. Although I did not eat at Dabble, the on-site restaurant, it exuded a lively, casual vibe. The property also includes seven customizable venues for meetings or events. Conrad Serenity, a refreshing but subtle scent, wafts through the property through a partnership with Air Aroma.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

The property lies close to Times Square and a short walk from Central Park, Columbus Circle, the Hudson River area and more.

Cleanliness and friendliness seem to be top priority everywhere and from everyone.

The hotel is pet-friendly, with a 24/7 business center and valet parking.

The art on display is museum-worthy.

CONRAD NEW YORK MIDTOWN
151 W. 54th St.
New York, NY 10019
tel 212 307 5000
conradnewyorkmidtown.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jan 21, 2022

Reasons to Visit New Orleans This February and March

New Orleans has a full roster of activities, events and festivals enticing guests throughout February and March.

 Reconnect with the world in The Islands of Tahiti

Located in the South Pacific, The Islands of Tahiti are just eight hours by air from California. Surrounded by pristine, crystal-clear blue waters, the 118 islands and atolls offer natural beauty, authentic island culture and unique French Polynesian style. The Islands of Tahiti are world-renowned for white-sand beaches, stunning turquoise lagoons and varied landscapes ranging from coral atolls to volcanic mountain peaks. Privacy comes naturally in The Islands of Tahiti and offers visitors the space to relax and reconnect and to be Embraced By Mana. Mana is the life force and spirit that connects all things in The Islands of Tahiti.

Daily
Jan 20, 2022

5 Remarkable South African Women Changing the Travel Industry

With Black History Month and Women’s History Month right around the corner, it’s time to highlight and recognize South African women working hard to make the travel industry better.

eFlyer Reviews
Jan 19, 2022

Cheval Blanc Paris Review

Since Cheval Blanc, an extraordinary, newly designed and refurbished 72-room hotel owned by Louis Vuitton Moet Hennessey, launched in September 2021, it has been the talk of the town. Le Tout-Paris remarks about its WOW factor … and the hard-to-get reservations for the 30 seats at Plenitude, the intimate, first-floor gastronomic outlet headed by chef Arnaud Donckele, who earned three Michelin stars at Cheval Blanc Saint Tropez. Reservations are also recommended for Limbar, the ground-floor bakery/café/tea shop/bar where we watched Pastry Chef Maxime Frédéric preparing desserts and an absolute must-have for dinner at Le Tout-Paris, the 7th-floor, all-day brasserie. This brightly colored space, with its raised seating and Fauve-like floor tiles and the adjacent Milanese restaurant, Langosteria, both have access to terraces facing the Seine River, with amazing views encompassing Notre Dame to the Eiffel Tower.

IHG® Business Edge: Working Together with SMEs

IHG® Business Edge: Working Together with SMEs for a smarter way to manage travel

eFlyer News
Jan 19, 2022

New Specials at Well & Beings’ The Spa at Red Rock, The Spa at Green Valley Ranch

Nevada-based The Spa at Green Valley by Well & Being and The Spa at Red Rock by Well & Being celebrate the start of 2022 with new health, wellness and spa treatments available through March 31. Both spas offer an array of treatments for guests wanting to relax and unwind before 2022 kicks into full gear.

Daily
Jan 19, 2022

“JEOPARDY!”, Lindblad Expeditions Announce “Explore Alaska Sweepstakes”

Now through Jan. 28, JEOPARDY! and Lindblad Expeditions team up for a viewer promotion, the JEOPARDY! Explore Alaska Sweepstakes. The contest will award 10 winners and their guests with an eight-day, small-ship cruise of Alaska’s coastal wilderness.

Seabourn: It’s Not an Escape, It’s an Arrival

Go ahead, take a nice, deep breath. Because a Seabourn voyage is all about this moment you’ve come so far in life to embrace. It’s not an escape, it’s an arrival.

Daily
Jan 18, 2022

6 Reasons to Put Santorini, Greece, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Santorini, Greece, with us.