Cathay Pacific | Business Class Review

by Kelly Magyarics

Mar 4, 2019
eFlyer Reviews

Washington, D.C. (IAD) to Hong Kong (HKG)

In September 2018, Cathay Pacific launched the longest non-stop route in its network, Dulles (IAD)–Hong Kong (HKG), spanning 8,153 miles and operating four times each week on Airbus A350-900s. This review covers a flight from IAD to HKG in business class on Nov. 28, 2018:

On the Ground: With a 12:15 a.m. takeoff,  Dulles Airport wasn’t nearly as busy as it usually is. The Cathay Pacific route had only been operating for a few months at the time of my flight, so there was no sign outside the entrance, but a peek through the windows revealed the counter, located at Zone 1, just as you approach the terminal. The check-in line for business class was relatively short and speedy; since there is no dedicated Cathay Pacific lounge at Dulles, I was invited to relax in the British Airways lounge a short walk from the gate. The second-floor lounge offered lots of space to stretch out, windows that afforded a view of the terminal below, self-serve wine machines and a decent spread of snacks and food. Since we would be served dinner on the plane, I didn’t indulge too much.

Pre-Flight: After a lengthy pre-boarding, business-class boarding for the Airbus A350-900 was quick and uneventful. Business class is divided into two sections separated by a galley and restrooms, with seats in a staggered 1-2-1 configuration with single seats by the windows. Even though my seat in the middle section was slightly angled toward another passenger, it was still relatively private thanks to a small divider. Each seat had a dedicated overhead bin as well as smaller storage areas underneath. A cubby offered over-the-ear headphones for the entertainment system, AC and USB outlets, a pocket on the door for my phone, a nightlight and space for other small items like glasses or a pen. A zippered toiletries kit contained herbal recovery advanced serum, rosewater balancing mist and lip care balm from Jurlique as well as toothpaste, toothbrush, mouthwash, eye mask, socks and ear plugs. After I settled in, a flight attendant offered a glass of orange juice, water or Champagne. We departed just a few minutes behind schedule.

In-Flight: After takeoff, I checked out the entertainment system in greater detail, which featured a large, swiveling, portable touchscreen and a touchscreen wired remote control. Especially helpful was the ability to watch different things on each device; I binge-watched the entire first season of The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel on the former and kept the live map up on the latter. As with most modern aircraft, you can see the live feed from several cameras on the plane, watch movies, listen to music, play games and even stay up with the news on live television. WiFi was available for $9.99 for an hour or $19.99 for the entire flight, and the speed was adequate throughout most of the flight. If you have multiple devices, however, you’ll need to log out of one and into another rather than connect to the WiFi on both simultaneously.

Soon after we took off, the flight attendant came to take my dinner order. I was disappointed to learn they didn’t have my first choice for a main course: shrimp dumplings with egg noodles. I ordered braised side of pork with sea cucumber, king oyster sauce and steamed jasmine rice; the dish was super flavorful even though the pork was not very lean. It was served with a salad on request and a choice of cheese, ice cream or mascarpone cream for dessert. An Express Supper option is designed for those who want to grab something before heading to sleep.

Beverages featured Piper-Heidsieck Brut Champagne; a zesty South African Chardonnay; a lively white from Spain’s Costers del Segre; a dry, grippy red Bordeaux; and a lusher and fruitier Argentinean Cabernet. Cathay Pacific also offered two signature drinks on board: an Oriental Breeze with sour-plum tea, cranberry juice, honey, lemon and rosewater; and the Cloud Nine cocktail, with vodka, Cointreau, Sprite and lemon. I blame Cathay Pacific for fueling my new jasmine tea addiction: The delicately floral tea was but one of eight varieties served on board, including Hong Kong’s popular milk tea. I checked off my options on a breakfast menu and hung it on my coat hook before heading to bed for the night.

Sliding buttons controlled the level of recline for the upper and lower parts of my seat, with one button automatically moving it to the lie-flat bed configuration. The fluffy comforter was amply sized; I only wish the pillow had been a bit larger. Cabin lights stayed off until after 10 a.m. D.C. time, which I thought a bit excessive. I woke up around 8 a.m. ready to work and had to rely on my overhead and reading lights. Breakfast was still hours away, but snacks like granola bars, fruit, salted almonds and caramel corn —  available throughout the flight — kept me going until meal service.

Breakfast options included Continental, Western or Chinese; I loved the pork and shrimp ball congee, stir-fried noodles, dragonfruit and melon on the Chinese set. You could also choose a warm pastry or decide not to be awakened for breakfast at all. We landed an hour after breakfast, about 20 minutes ahead of schedule.

Post-Flight: Cathay Pacific operates seven lounges at Hong Kong’s airport, including an arrivals lounge located between terminals 1 and 2 that serves light food and snacks and includes shower suites to freshen up. The Pier is tops, though, accessible by first-class passengers and select Marco Polo and oneworld members, generally upon departure or connection in Hong Kong. I checked in and signed up for a complimentary 15-minute neck, shoulder and scalp massage, for which there was an hour’s wait at 5:30 a.m.. Thankfully, there wasn’t a wait for a shower suite, which was stocked with fresh towels, plenty of toiletries, a toilet, sink, hair dryer and makeup mirror. After a glass of bubbly and some siu mai from the buffet, it was time to head to the retreat area for my massage, followed by another breakfast at the full-service dining room, whose menu changes throughout the day. I also popped into The Pier’s business-class lounge next door, accessible from the terminal; it was much larger and houses the airline’s Noodle Bar concept. Depending on where your flight lands or departs, you might also hit The Deck or The Wing; every lounge is well-appointed and makes spending time in the airport much more enjoyable.

Top Takeaways:

  • Always opt for the Chinese options on the onboard menu or in the lounges. After all, you can get a burger or an omelet anytime.
  • If you need to stay connected, $19.99 for WiFi for the duration of the 15-plus hour flight is well worth it.
  • Wine fans will be pleased with the onboard bottle selections, which are not the typical Napa Chardonnay or Cabernet and pair well with just about all menu choices.
  • The lie-flat bed and thick comforter assure you will to get a good night’s sleep.

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Barrio Alto district in Lisbon, Portugal. Photo: Giuseppemasci | Dreamstime.com

Feature
Sep 15, 2019

Hotel Barrio Alto Opens in Former Lisbon Palace

Two years ago, an 18th-century palace in the center of Lisbon closed for construction — the building is ready to re-open as a luxury boutique hotel.

© GNTO

The Island of the Knights

Welcome to Rhodes, a medieval treasure beautifully preserved throughout the centuries. Rhodes is the capital of the Dodecanese, an island ideal not only for those who want to relax, but also for those looking for an action-packed holiday! With its bright green hills, rich green valleys and uninterrupted line of golden beaches, Rhodes is truly a blessed place. “The sun island” has more sunshiny days and milder temperatures throughout the year than any other location in Greece. It is, after all, one of the country’s easternmost places and among the first to welcome summer on its impressive beaches. Add in the excellent facilities for tourism, the island’s special blend of cosmopolitan and traditional, and numerous cultural and archaeological sites, the most important being the Medieval (Old) Town, a UNESCO World Heritage site, and you’ve got the perfect holiday destination. While on Rhodes, don’t miss a daytrip to nearby Sými. An island of sponge divers and seamen, Sými used to have 30,000 inhabitants before the Second World War and was the richest island in the Dodecanese, despite its small size. Today, Sými attracts many visitors thanks to its beautifully preserved Neo-Classical buildings and the famous Archangel Michael monastery at Panormitis.

© Ukrphoto | Dreamstime.com

News
Sep 15, 2019

Cunard Launches Exclusive Musical

Cunard premiered the musical Top Hat aboard Queen Victoria last week. Next week, the musical premieres aboard Queen Elizabeth. The musical is slated to appear exclusively on Cunard ships for the next four years.

Lufthansa. Photo: Alexander Efisko | Dreamstime.com

Feature
Sep 15, 2019

Lufthansa Launches Innovative Carbon Offset Program

Lufthansa is starting an innovative new carbon offset program, Compensaid, which will allow customers to purchase CO2 neutral aviation fuels. The platform allows customers to replace the fossil fuel of their flights with sustainable aviation fuel.

To New Heights

United Airlines announces a number of new routes.

Desert. Photo: Galyna Andrushko | Dreamstime.com

Daily
Sep 15, 2019

Shop New Desert-Inspired Capsule Collection From The Luxury Collection

The Luxury Collection again teamed with artist Sofía Sanchez de Beta to unveil an exclusive capsule collection, this time with 54 pieces inspired by the Arabian Desert and Emirati culture. The ready-to-wear line includes an array of separates created with Dubai’s climate in mind, such as lightweight blouses and tunics, flowing jumpsuits, long skirts and dresses.

LG Pay. Photo: Piotr Swat | Dreamstime.com

LG Pay

Feature
Sep 14, 2019

Hawaiian Airlines. Photo: Ajdibilio | Dreamstime.com

© Brett Critchley | Dreamstime.com

Four Seasons Hotel Las Vegas. Photo: Jason P Ross | Dreamstime.com

Santa Monica, California. Photo: Tupungato | Dreamstime.com

© GNTO

The Island of the Knights

Welcome to Rhodes, a medieval treasure beautifully preserved throughout the centuries. Rhodes is the capital of the Dodecanese, an island ideal not only for those who want to relax, but also for those looking for an action-packed holiday! With its bright green hills, rich green valleys and uninterrupted line of golden beaches, Rhodes is truly a blessed place. “The sun island” has more sunshiny days and milder temperatures throughout the year than any other location in Greece. It is, after all, one of the country’s easternmost places and among the first to welcome summer on its impressive beaches. Add in the excellent facilities for tourism, the island’s special blend of cosmopolitan and traditional, and numerous cultural and archaeological sites, the most important being the Medieval (Old) Town, a UNESCO World Heritage site, and you’ve got the perfect holiday destination. While on Rhodes, don’t miss a daytrip to nearby Sými. An island of sponge divers and seamen, Sými used to have 30,000 inhabitants before the Second World War and was the richest island in the Dodecanese, despite its small size. Today, Sými attracts many visitors thanks to its beautifully preserved Neo-Classical buildings and the famous Archangel Michael monastery at Panormitis.

Google Search. Photo: Viorel Dudau | Dreamstime.com

Feature
Sep 13, 2019

Google Expands Price Comparison Tool

Google announced last month it added additional features to its price comparison tool. The tool helps users plan trips and compare rates. The new features include one that shows whether the price of a planned flight plus accommodations is low, average or high.

© VanderWolfImages | Dreamstime.com

News
Sep 13, 2019

Singapore Airlines Begins Non-Stop Service Between Singapore, Seattle

Singapore Airlines launched its non-stop service between Singapore (SIN) and Seattle (SEA), Sept. 3. Seattle is Singapore Airlines’ fourth U.S. destination following Los Angeles (LAX), New York (EWR) and San Francisco (SFO) to receive non-stop service to and from Singapore.