FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Review: Meadowbrook Inn

by Tracey Cullen

Feb 28, 2021

PHOTO: ©MEADOWBROOK INN

January/February 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: We arrived at the Meadowbrook Inn around 2 p.m., before check-in time, but I checked at the desk to see if our room happened to be ready ahead of schedule. It wasn’t quite ready yet, but they offered to give me a call when it was all set. So we decided to take a short drive up the Blue Ridge Parkway to Grandfather Mountain for a nice, scenic hike on this beautiful fall day.

During our hike I did receive a call stating our room was ready at 3 p.m. We took our time and enjoyed our hike and the beautiful views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, one of the major chains of the Appalachian Mountains. Proximity to these amazing hiking trails is definitely a major draw for this hotel.

When we got back to the hotel, check-in was swift, and after passing through the quaint and cozy lobby furnished with chairs and a fireplace, we headed to our room.

GUEST QUARTERS: Our room had sliding glass doors that opened up to the first-floor terrace featuring a fire table — a great place to relax with a glass of wine on a chilly evening. We could also hear the relaxing sounds of a babbling brook with a small waterfall and a duck pond. The room offered two double beds, a chair, desk and a television. WiFi is complimentary. The bathroom had a combination tub and shower with nice stone tiles. The next morning I took a shower and discovered the bathroom lacked a hairdryer, which I found odd. But if I had more thoroughly read the COVID-19 info sheet given at check-in, I would have seen hairdryers and irons are available upon request at the front desk. But we were in a hurry to get going, so I just left with damp hair. Lesson learned for next time — read the new COVID- 19 rules carefully!

SERVICES/AMENITIES: Due to COVID-19, some amenities were altered during our stay, but even with the restrictions, the property has tried to make amenities available as best it can. The pool and fitness room were not generally open, but you could make a reservation to use them.

Breakfast was offered as a take-out box instead of a buffet. Instead of the welcome reception on Fridays and Saturdays, beer and wine by the bottle were available for purchase and could be enjoyed on the terrace.

One thing I found remarkable about Meadowbrook Inn was the number of meeting spaces. It offers 10,000 square feet of conference, meeting and event space distributed across multiple locations on the property. The event spaces range from a gazebo outside, perfect for an intimate wedding, to the outdoor spaces on the. Patio or the Terrace, to the large Four Seasons Ballroom, which can accommodate up to 350 people. These spaces, paired with five other meeting rooms, make this property flexible for many different needs.

The hotel was within walking distance of downtown Blowing Rock, home to many restaurants and quaint boutique stores. This, and the proximity to outdoor activities such as hiking, zip-lining or skiing, make Meadowbrook a great place to stay in this mountainous area of western North Carolina.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

The hotel has a new rooftop apiary which features two hives of Italian hybrid honey bees. The wildflower honey is harvested in partnership with Bee Kind Family Farm and used by the executive chef in signature dishes for banquets and events.

During the summer, an heirloom vegetable and herb garden is planted near the duck pond.

Meadowbrook Inn
711 Main St.
Blowing Rock, NC 28605
tel 828 295 4300
meadowbrook-inn.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Oct 22, 2021

Winter Escape at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla

The Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla is opening its acclaimed doors Oct. 22 to celebrate its fifth and most exciting season. The resort will introduce new programming including culinary, fitness and music.

The Future of Hamad International Airport

Without a doubt, the pandemic changed the role of airports in the travel industry. Hamad International Airport’s role evolved in many ways since the pandemic hit. Now, more than ever, airports are responsible for creating a secure passenger experience. As the gateway to Qatar and the world, the safety and wellbeing of staff and passengers has always been at the core of Hamad International Airport’s strategy.

Cruising
Oct 21, 2021

Seabourn Names Second Ultra-Luxury Expedition Ship

Seabourn recently announced the name of its second new ultra-luxury purpose-built expedition ship: Seabourn Pursuit. The name reflects the passion of expedition travelers to seek out and explore natural wonders and destinations through activities around the globe.

eFlyer Reviews
Oct 20, 2021

The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago Review

Though the Chicago area has been my home for decades, the view from the Water Tower Suite on the 26th floor of The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago made me gasp. I had admired Chicago’s dramatic skyline many times, but never from this angle. Through expansive windows, the skyscrapers of 900 N. Michigan Ave. and the John Hancock Center, now named 875 North Michigan Avenue, rose to my right. Far below, the landmark Chicago Water Tower nestled in a ring of trees. One of the few survivors of the Great Chicago Fire, a turning point in the city’s history being remembered on its 150th anniversary in 2021, the Gothic Revival relic resembled a fairy-tale castle in a children’s playset.

Experiencing GBTA Convention 2021
Safely and Responsibly

GBTA’s Convention 2021 will bring the business travel industry together for the first time in a long time. Once again, you’ll learn and connect with experts and each other, along with discussions with leading thinkers, entrepreneurs and change makers addressing the issues that matter most.

eFlyer News
Oct 20, 2021

President Biden Signs 9/11 Trail Designation

President Biden signed H.R. 2278, bipartisan legislation to designate a September 11th National Memorial Trail. The trail route will link the National September 11th Memorial and Museum in New York; the Pentagon Memorial in Arlington, Virginia; and the Flight 93 National Memorial in Somerset County, Pennsylvania.

Events
Oct 20, 2021

Fever App Presents: Dining in the Dark Review

In April 2021, I was skimming Facebook when an ad for a blind-folded dining experience popped up on my newsfeed. The event was hosted through a company called Fever that offers fun, interactive events in major cities and virtually for people to enjoy. Intrigued, I clicked the link to learn more. The description made the event sound exciting and mysterious. When I give someone a present for their birthday, the holidays or a wedding, I like to give the gift of an experience that the recipient can learn something from. My boyfriend’s 30th birthday was in June, when the event was to be hosted, so I thought this would be a great surprise for him.

Greece: Destination Culture

History and culture are etched into every corner of Greece. Beginning with its language, the oldest written language still in existence, and moving from the traces of passing civilizations and religions to pre-historic findings and works from many movements, there’s a wealth of culture to discover on your next trip to Greece.

Daily
Oct 19, 2021

6 Reasons to Put Austin, Texas, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Austin, Texas, with us.