FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Review: Hilton Mexico City Reforma

by Eli Shapiro

Feb 6, 2024

PHOTO: © HILTON MEXICO CITY REFORMA

February 2024

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: The hotel is clean, neat and orderly; and the lobby and main floors display the work of local artists. The reception area included a section to the side for Club member check-in. The desk staff greeted me right away; and though I do not speak Spanish fluently, I checked in just fine with the help of the front desk manager, who interpreted my questions.

Just beyond reception, a well-stocked bar with an open feel offers a variety of seating options, from comfy chairs and couches to long, high tables. An area toward the back is a little more private, but the whole bar works as a social environment.

GUEST QUARTERS: I used my room key to access the guest floors. My king-sized room was plenty big with a great view of Mexico City, particularly Palacio de Bellas Artes. The bed featured the Hilton king-sized pillows and standard white bedspread. The room included an oversized chair with a footstool and a desk and chair in front of the wall of windows overlooking the city. The spacious bathroom featured a standard soaking tub with shower; a marble ledge surrounded the tub and the sink. A half wall separated the toilet from the rest of the bathroom. Outside the bathroom, an ample closet held a small combo safe, and the dresser opposite the bed had a mini refrigerator inside.

Services/Amenities: The property offers three restaurants: El Cardenal and Sonora Grill Prime (a Mexican steakhouse) in the lobby and Los Dones on the first floor, offering a buffet and à la carte meals. One morning I ate at El Cardenal restaurant, which serves traditional, farm-to-plate Mexican and Colonial dishes. It was busy as it is popular with locals and guests. The fresh- baked goods, served before the meal, were the highlight. I was seated near the baking area, and everything came out fresh and looking good. I had a delicious mini baguette, crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. I ordered eggs scrambled with bacon, served with refried beans and fresh and hot corn tortillas — everything was excellent. I could not get enough, and I was definitely a member of the clean plate club.

On my last night I tried room service as I had been caught in the rain and had an early flight the next morning. I ordered tortilla soup and a cheeseburger. The service was fairly quick, less than 30 minutes, with impressive food presentation. The soup came in a separate teapot to keep it hot and make it easy to pour over the tortilla strips and fresh avocado. I am a huge fan of tortilla soup, and I knew I had to try it in Mexico. It did not disappoint! The cheeseburger was good, surrounded by shoestring French fries cooked to perfection.

The 27-floor hotel includes a convention center on the second and fourth floors with a capacity to host 5,000 guests. Spaces include ballrooms and 14 meeting rooms of varying sizes. Designated elevators in a separate area go between the convention floors only.

Amenities also include indoor and outdoor pools, separate fitness centers for men and women, a steam room, sauna, rooftop terrace, full spa services and a wellness center, executive lounges, sun terrace, garden areas and a tennis court.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

  • The location on the edge of the Historic Center and next to Alameda Central Park puts you within walking distance of Reforma Avenue, Palacio de Bellas Artes, Zócalo, Templo Mayor and the cathedral; and about a mile from the financial district.
  • Guests can soak up the outdoors on the terrace, on the tennis courts or at the outdoor pool.

HILTON MEXICO CITY REFORMA
Av. Juárez 70
Colonia Centro
06010 Mexico City
CDMX, Mexico
tel 52 55 5130 5300
hilton.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Explore Excursions

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Apr 22, 2024

Meet 5 Women Shaping the Brixen/South Tyrol Travel Experience

Although a destination’s terrain, cuisine and cultural attributes always draw travelers in, it is often the people they meet that make the trip an enduring memory rather than a box to be checked off. It’s a job responsibility that people working around the Plose and adjoining town of Brixen (in Italy’s Trentino-Alto Adige region) take seriously. This is even more true for five women dedicated to introducing visitors to new aspects of the time-honored ski, leisure and hiking mountain destination in the Dolomites.

The Argosaronic Islands Are Calling

The Saronic or Argo Saronic Islands of Greece call travelers to explore its seven small islands and islets brimming with history, natural sites and more. With most easily accessible by boat, the islands’ proximity to ports of Athens make the Saronic Islands an ideal destination for those preferring shorter boat rides. In fact, trips from Athens ports to the islands take only between 10 minutes and two hours, depending on the island you choose, making them perfect for day or weekend trips. From Piraeus port, you can access Hydra, Spetses, Aegina and Poros directly. Come explore these stunning islands with us and find the inspiration to plan your next trip to these islands. Hydra Hydra town curves around a slope overlooking the Argosaronic Gulf like an amphitheater and is considered one of the most romantic destinations in Greece. Most unique to the island is its lack of vehicles. People on the island get around on mules and donkeys as well as water taxis, making for a peaceful and laid-back day. Hydra lies a two-hour ferry ride from Piraeus port in Athens.

Daily
Apr 22, 2024

Explore The Chatwal Brand from City to Countryside

The Chatwal brand offers guests the opportunity to explore the city or countryside with its properties The Chatwal, New York and The Chatwal Lodge. Part of The Unbound Collection by Hyatt, these two hotels feature spring and summer experiences for all types of travelers.

Cruising
Apr 22, 2024

Your Guide to Holland America Line’s “Nieuw Amsterdam”’s Signature Restaurants

Aboard Holland America Line’s Nieuw Amsterdam, which sails to Canada, the Pacific Coast of the United States, Alaska, Mexico, Panama and the Caribbean, you’ll find no shortage of dining options. But with such a limited amount of time on board, why not head to the best of the best on the ship?

Share Your Travel Preferences with Global Traveler in a Short Survey & Win

Learning more about our readers’ travel habits and preferences ensures Global Traveler delivers the content you desire. As the travel industry has adapted and changed over the last few years, it’s more important than ever to connect. To best meet your short- and long-term travel content needs, please help us!

Slideshow
Apr 22, 2024

7 Reasons to Put Curaçao on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Curaçao with us.

Bhutan
Apr 17, 2024

Mindfulness City in Kingdom of Bhutan Unveiled as Future Economic Hub

In front of an audience of 30,000 Kingdom of Bhutan residents and officials, His Majesty King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck presented his vision for a new economic hub in Bhutan. Located between India to the south and China to the north, Bhutan is one of the most beautiful destinations in the world. Bhutan came late to global tourism. It opened its borders to international visitors in 1974 and, while tourism definitely increased, residents are enduring “light” rush-hour traffic in Thimphu, its capital city, as the only Asian capital without traffic lights.

Why Buy Trip Cancellation Insurance?

Don’t risk losing all the money you’ve spent if you must cancel your trip at the last minute. Allianz Travel Insurance can give you:

eFlyer Reviews
Apr 17, 2024

Amansara Review

It was more than a car journey; it was a transition between worlds. At our first hotel in Siem Reap, huge coaches constantly pulled up outside the lobby to deposit or receive international tour groups; we departed in very different style, in a 1965 black Mercedes limousine once owned by King Sihanouk. The mundanities of mass tourism were left behind. We progressed through the chaotic Cambodian streets in regal comfort and soon arrived at a solid gate.