FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Silverjet

Oct 14, 2007
2007

On the Ground: Silverjet, a new transatlantic, businessclass airline, offers customers its Silver Lounge in Newark Liberty International Airport. Located on Level 2 at the end of the B terminal, it’s a bit tricky to find, especially if you’re connecting from another flight. And unlike the airline’s sleek private terminal at London Luton, the Newark version is very much a work in progress: Service is friendly but a bit slow, and the buffet of finger sandwiches, Oreo cookies and apples falls shy of the fare one expects at this level. Still, my leather chair was equipped with a foldout desk, and I could plug my laptop into the wall outlet behind me. Although I had to leave the lounge to use the restroom — located around the corner and up a flight of stairs — I checked in and boarded my 7:30 p.m. flight without a problem.
(17/20)

On Board: A Boeing 767 looks a lot bigger with only 100 seats on it. I was taken by surprise when a flight attendant greeted me by name and took my jacket. Seconds later she returned for my drink order, and things only got more comfortable from there. As soon as we were airborne, I reclined my seat to about 175 degrees, and stretched out on the 6-foot-3-inch frame for a pre-dinner nap. When I woke, the lights were off — the entire cabin is a designated “Quiet Zone” — but I was famished. I flipped on my reading light and the flight attendant returned. “May I bring you something?” she asked. I scanned the menu, a list of gourmet meals, each individually prepared, and chose roasted chicken. It took about twenty minutes for the meal to come, but it was worth the wait. (39/40)

The Experience: The Silver Screen, a handheld individual personal entertainment system packed with music, TV programs, and movies, came with a noise-reduction headset, but I had plenty of work to do. So I plugged my laptop into the outlet by my seat, and stayed up late into the night, my documents spread out on the open table next to me. (Silverjet makes a point, whenever possible, of leaving empty the seat next to a passenger traveling alone.) I woke up just as we were about to land, so they packed me a filling “Breakfast Express” for the road, and I felt fine for having just crossed the pond.
(39/40)

Total Score: 95/100

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
eFlyer Reviews
Jan 19, 2022

Cheval Blanc Paris Review

Since Cheval Blanc, an extraordinary, newly designed and refurbished 72-room hotel owned by Louis Vuitton Moet Hennessey, launched in September 2021, it has been the talk of the town. Le Tout-Paris remarks about its WOW factor … and the hard-to-get reservations for the 30 seats at Plenitude, the intimate, first-floor gastronomic outlet headed by chef Arnaud Donckele, who earned three Michelin stars at Cheval Blanc Saint Tropez. Reservations are also recommended for Limbar, the ground-floor bakery/café/tea shop/bar where we watched Pastry Chef Maxime Frédéric preparing desserts and an absolute must-have for dinner at Le Tout-Paris, the 7th-floor, all-day brasserie. This brightly colored space, with its raised seating and Fauve-like floor tiles and the adjacent Milanese restaurant, Langosteria, both have access to terraces facing the Seine River, with amazing views encompassing Notre Dame to the Eiffel Tower.

Seabourn: It’s Not an Escape, It’s an Arrival

Go ahead, take a nice, deep breath. Because a Seabourn voyage is all about this moment you’ve come so far in life to embrace. It’s not an escape, it’s an arrival.

eFlyer News
Jan 19, 2022

New Specials at Well & Beings’ The Spa at Red Rock, The Spa at Green Valley Ranch

Nevada-based The Spa at Green Valley by Well & Being and The Spa at Red Rock by Well & Being celebrate the start of 2022 with new health, wellness and spa treatments available through March 31. Both spas offer an array of treatments for guests wanting to relax and unwind before 2022 kicks into full gear.

eFlyer News
Jan 19, 2022

Barbados Streamlines Visitor Process as Country Opens to Welcome Cruise Visitors

To allow visitors to safely and responsibly enjoy their trip to Barbados, the island announced streamlined port entry protocols. Barbados’ Ministry of Health and Wellness released the following protocols for all travelers planning on coming to the island.

 Reconnect with the world in The Islands of Tahiti

Located in the South Pacific, The Islands of Tahiti are just eight hours by air from California. Surrounded by pristine, crystal-clear blue waters, the 118 islands and atolls offer natural beauty, authentic island culture and unique French Polynesian style. The Islands of Tahiti are world-renowned for white-sand beaches, stunning turquoise lagoons and varied landscapes ranging from coral atolls to volcanic mountain peaks. Privacy comes naturally in The Islands of Tahiti and offers visitors the space to relax and reconnect and to be Embraced By Mana. Mana is the life force and spirit that connects all things in The Islands of Tahiti.

eFlyer News
Jan 19, 2022

Catch of the Day Fishing Experience at Mar Del Cabo

Mar Del Cabo launched a new luxury beach fishing experience with an interactive paella workshop for guests. The Los Cabos-based hotel offers guests an immersive experience that takes them through the journey of creating paella, starting with a fishing session.

Daily
Jan 18, 2022

6 Reasons to Put Santorini, Greece, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Santorini, Greece, with us.

IHG® Business Edge: Working Together with SMEs

IHG® Business Edge: Working Together with SMEs for a smarter way to manage travel

Daily
Jan 18, 2022

Boston-Based COJE Management Group Withstands Pandemic, Sees Restaurants Flourish

COJE Management Group raised the bar when it comes to cuisine and cocktails. The Boston-based group, founded by Chris Jamison and Mark Malatesta, offers guests the ultimate dining experience with old-world hospitality and an array of cuisines for every guest to enjoy. With culinary director Tom Berry incorporating the cuisines he encountered during his travels to South America, Cuba, Japan, Southeast Asia and France, each restaurant has distinguished itself as a must for anyone visiting Boston and each is designed exclusively in-house using inspiration from different regions and countries around the world.