FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Mansion on Forsyth Park Review

by Francis X. Gallagher

Sep 17, 2021

PHOTO: © MANSION ON FORSYTH PARK

September 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: This is a tale of two visits, one when I was just coming for a late lunch by myself and the other time returning as a five-night guest. The hotel used to be the jewel in the Kessler crown, but since the opening of JW Marriott Savannah Plant Riverside, it feels like the Mansion is an afterthought. Check-in and valet service are always superb at the Mansion; when I was there as a restaurant guest, I had a “big old pickup truck” — well, not old, as it was a rental from Hertz — and I could not have received nicer treatment. In fact, the pickup was out front and remained there as I had lunch — no charge, either! As a guest, I still received very kind care, but service was slower; maybe more people were there. Check-in was swift, but water seemed to be at a premium, and we had to secure this from the front desk daily — which I felt was inconvenient. I often found myself running down to secure a few bottles at the end of the day. The hotel has some impressive artwork throughout which is really interesting and helps set a fun mood.

GUEST QUARTERS: We had to ask for a fan to be delivered, as the air-conditioning was inconsistent, sometimes hot and then cold and a little on the damp side. The room had a large bathroom on the right, and a short hallway led to the main room with a king- sized bed on the right wall and a built-in entertainment system and TV on the left. There was also a small sitting area. I held many Zoom conference calls in the room, and the WiFi seemed to support this well. Overall, the guestrooms could use modernization, but the bed was comfortable, as were the pillows.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: I had to ask for the room to be cleaned several times and to request fresh towels. Housekeeping seemed understaffed and slightly overwhelmed. On the other hand, the bar staff were superb. We entertained many guests, and the drinks and cuisine were spot on. The restaurant 700 Drayton is also good, but the menu does not change much and allows no alterations at breakfast; that is a complete no-no to me.

Staff were friendly, but flexibility is required for guest ordering. For example, I could only have the omelet (vegetable) that was on the menu. It was tasty, but maybe a few options would be more in line with industry standards.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

  • Beautiful location, and Forsyth Park is lovely.
  • A value compared with the JW Marriott, at least $150 less a night, perhaps more when I booked

MANSION ON FORSYTH PARK
700 Drayton St.
Savannah, GA 31401
tel 912 238 5158
kesslercollection.com/mansion

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Explore Excursions

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jun 21, 2024

New Beds and Restaurants in Boise, Idaho

There’s lots going on in Boise, including an impressive selection of new hotels. Stays at The Sparrow will immediately immerse you in a sense of place, thanks to engaging, infographic- style artwork in each of the 67 guestrooms. You’ll find a local coffeehouse in the lobby, a food truck on the outdoor patio overlooking Grove Street, and an outdoor fireplace inviting guests to linger and mingle. Authentic, local experiences include the Brewery of the Month program.

Explore Gyeonggi Province in South Korea

Gyeonggi Province, encircling Seoul, offers seamless travel with access to two major airports and a well-connected transportation system. It boasts top-notch MICE facilities, like KINTEX and Suwon Convention Center, along with a wide array of international-branded and resort-style hotels spread across its 31 cities and counties. Visitors can explore rich historical sites, including UNESCO World Cultural Heritage sites like the DMZ and Suwon Hwaseong Fortress.

June 2024
Jun 21, 2024

Saudi Arabia Fosters Sustainable, Regenerative Tourism Along the Red Sea

 My first experience of Saudi Arabia's Red Sea coast now seems like ancient history. It was 1995, and I was visiting my ornithologist cousin and is wife. Getting into the kingdom wasn't easy; I needed sponsorship letters. and a pre-trip interview at the Saudi Arabian Embassy. When I arrived in the country, there was no tourist infrastructure. We toured by SUV ad often slept under the stars. Thus, one morning, we woke up on roll-out mattresses on a Red Sea beach 200 miles from Jeddah.

Daily
Jun 21, 2024

2 New Concept Bars Opening This Fall in Texas and New York

Add New York City and Austin to your list of bar-hopping cities with the highly-anticipated debuts of Brass Poppy and Bar Sprezzatura.

Sail to the Tropical Splendors of Tahiti and The Tuamotu Islands with Windstar Cruises

This November, Windstar Cruises celebrates more than 36 years in Tahiti with an itinerary taking guests to the clear waters of Tahiti and The Tuamotu Islands on a journey exploring Tahitian culture, the ecosystems of Fakarava, and the sunsets of Raiatea and Bora Bora. The 10-day sailing aboard Star Breeze, Nov. 18–28, departs from Papeete and ends in Papeete.

Daily
Jun 21, 2024

Virgin Hotels to Open First London Hotel in August

On Aug. 1, Virgin Hotels debuts its first London property. Set to open in the heart of Shoreditch, this hotel will mark the brand’s eighth Virgin Hotels location worldwide and the 17th property for the wider Virgin Hotels Collection.

Daily
Jun 19, 2024

Sofitel New York Embarks on Comprehensive Renovation

Sofitel New York recently announced a comprehensive refurbishment project, timed to the Sofitel brand’s 60th anniversary this year. The Manhattan property’s renovation, set to start in late 2024, will reach all facets of the hotel, including the 398 guestrooms and suites, lobby, meeting spaces, elevators, and corridors. Completion of the public areas is anticipated by fall 2025.

L’Ermitage: Your Beverly Hills Self-Care Haven

Nestled amidst the palm-lined boulevards of Beverly Hills, L'Ermitage exudes refined elegance and unparalleled service. This haven, a Forbes Five-Star, AAA Five-Diamond and, most recently, Two Key MICHELIN Guide recipient, continues to captivate discerning travelers and Angelenos with its unwavering dedication to personalized hospitality and self-care.

eFlyer Reviews
Jun 18, 2024

Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Atlantic City Review

My husband and I recently enjoyed an overnight getaway at Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Atlantic City. The resort is a one-stop shop for an entertaining escape. We packed a lot into our one-night stay, and it left us looking forward to a return visit.