FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Mansion on Forsyth Park Review

by Francis X. Gallagher

Sep 17, 2021

PHOTO: © MANSION ON FORSYTH PARK

September 2021

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: This is a tale of two visits, one when I was just coming for a late lunch by myself and the other time returning as a five-night guest. The hotel used to be the jewel in the Kessler crown, but since the opening of JW Marriott Savannah Plant Riverside, it feels like the Mansion is an afterthought. Check-in and valet service are always superb at the Mansion; when I was there as a restaurant guest, I had a “big old pickup truck” — well, not old, as it was a rental from Hertz — and I could not have received nicer treatment. In fact, the pickup was out front and remained there as I had lunch — no charge, either! As a guest, I still received very kind care, but service was slower; maybe more people were there. Check-in was swift, but water seemed to be at a premium, and we had to secure this from the front desk daily — which I felt was inconvenient. I often found myself running down to secure a few bottles at the end of the day. The hotel has some impressive artwork throughout which is really interesting and helps set a fun mood.

GUEST QUARTERS: We had to ask for a fan to be delivered, as the air-conditioning was inconsistent, sometimes hot and then cold and a little on the damp side. The room had a large bathroom on the right, and a short hallway led to the main room with a king- sized bed on the right wall and a built-in entertainment system and TV on the left. There was also a small sitting area. I held many Zoom conference calls in the room, and the WiFi seemed to support this well. Overall, the guestrooms could use modernization, but the bed was comfortable, as were the pillows.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: I had to ask for the room to be cleaned several times and to request fresh towels. Housekeeping seemed understaffed and slightly overwhelmed. On the other hand, the bar staff were superb. We entertained many guests, and the drinks and cuisine were spot on. The restaurant 700 Drayton is also good, but the menu does not change much and allows no alterations at breakfast; that is a complete no-no to me.

Staff were friendly, but flexibility is required for guest ordering. For example, I could only have the omelet (vegetable) that was on the menu. It was tasty, but maybe a few options would be more in line with industry standards.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

  • Beautiful location, and Forsyth Park is lovely.
  • A value compared with the JW Marriott, at least $150 less a night, perhaps more when I booked

MANSION ON FORSYTH PARK
700 Drayton St.
Savannah, GA 31401
tel 912 238 5158
kesslercollection.com/mansion

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
eFlyer Reviews
Oct 27, 2021

AMERON Zürich Bellerive au Lac Review

The Hotel AMERON Zurich Bellerive au Lac, forged from the collaborative efforts of interior design firm Monoplan AG and other cutting-edge design firms, bills itself as a celebration of the 1920s and ‘30s aesthetic. The story behind it is compelling as the building dates to 1928 and has connections with the early days of Switzerland's movie industry. However, there are several fun Mid-Century Modern and late 20th-century design touches in the public and private areas. Clearly, it's going for the "modern luxury" vibe Millennial and Gen-X business and leisure travelers look for when seeking a quality smaller property with a great location.

Register Today for the Most Important Gathering of Business Travel Professionals

The Global Business Travel Association’s (GBTA) Convention 2021 will be unlike any other convention before it, as we come together in person for the first time since the business travel industry drastically changed and look forward to rebuilding and reshaping the future. GBTA Convention 2021 will bring all of us together to learn from experts and each other, in-person at Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida, Nov. 17–19. The safety of our attendees is our top priority. View health and safety protocols.

eFlyer Deals
Oct 27, 2021

The 1946 Offer from InterContinental New York Barclay

InterContinental New York Barclay is the perfect spot for luxury in the heart of Manhattan. With the 1946 Package, enjoy a two-night stay in the Penthouse Suite, an exclusive InterContinental75 cocktail lesson with a mixologist, 75-minute couples massage with Zeel, a movie screening on the Penthouse Suite terrace with classic films from the year of InterContinental’s birth with a premium 1946 vintage wine to enjoy.

eFlyer Deals
Oct 27, 2021

Buy One, Get One 50 Percent Off with Uniworld

On Black Friday, Uniworld Boutique River Cruises is offering a one-of-a-kind chance to score two luxury river cruise sailings by the end of 2021, with the second cruise at 50 percent off.

Greece: Destination Luxury

Since its prestige for attracting the world elite grew in the 1960s, Greece remains the go-to destination for glittering holidays. Each step of the journey is enrobed in luxury, from culinary traditions with the highest standard of execution and name-brand, high-end shopping to first-rate wellness locales and elite accommodations, like 5-star hotels, private villas and yachts.

eFlyer Deals
Oct 27, 2021

Kennebunkport Resort Collection Debuts Hotel Week

Kennebunkport Resort Collection created its inaugural Hotel Week offering irresistible savings. Nov. 12–21, five hotels will offer promotional room rates, as low as $99; special dining offers; and unique classes, such as oyster shucking and more. Daily resort fees are waived, resulting in up to 50 percent off the standard daily rate.

Daily
Oct 26, 2021

6 Reasons to Put Ayutthaya, Thailand, on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Ayutthaya, Thailand, with us.

The Future of Hamad International Airport

Without a doubt, the pandemic changed the role of airports in the travel industry. Hamad International Airport’s role evolved in many ways since the pandemic hit. Now, more than ever, airports are responsible for creating a secure passenger experience. As the gateway to Qatar and the world, the safety and wellbeing of staff and passengers has always been at the core of Hamad International Airport’s strategy.

Daily
Oct 26, 2021

MSG Sphere Construction Continues

Las Vegas reinvents itself once again to remain one of the world’s top entertainment capitals. The Madison Square Garden Entertainment Corp., in collaboration with Las Vegas Sands Corp., is elevating sensory experiences to build the world’s largest dome and LED screens that will reshape the entertainment industry.