FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

THE PLAZA Seoul, Autograph Collection Review

by Rafie Iannello

Oct 1, 2016

© THE PLAZA SEOUL, AUTOGRAPH COLLECTION

October 2016

Arrival/Check-In: A car service from THE PLAZA Seoul picked me up at Gimpo International Airport. The hotel lies about 40 minutes from Gimpo, situated in the heart of Seoul City and surrounded by cultural assets like Deoksu Palace, Gyeongbuk Palace and City Hall. It is also central to the shopping, entertainment and business districts. I visited the property before but never had the chance to stay and experience the newly renovated 5-star hotel.

Upon arrival I was whisked away to my suite, and my belongings followed shortly after. The lobby is grand and elegant. It’s obvious from first sight this hotel is built for the luxury guest.

Guest Quarters: I stayed in the Plaza Suite, with a corner view of the Seoul cityscape, royal palace and City Hall. I also had a front-row view of the Pride Festival on my final day in Seoul. This room with a view definitely delivered a special taste of Korean tradition and culture.

The suite includes a comfortable king-sized bed, cozy fireplace, a large couch at the foot of the bed and a newly renovated bathroom. I absolutely loved the suite design; with a modern feel, the rooms exude the “stylish and unique” slogan of the luxury hotel.

The walk-in rain shower was delightful. It was also convenient to have a Nespresso coffee machine in the room since I was waking up early and needed a kick of caffeine to fight jet lag.

I found the spacious desk bordering the length of the window particularly useful, as I always have heaps of magazines and business documents with me on international trips.

Services/Amenities: All guestrooms feature free wireless internet, a touchpad room control system and environmentally friendly finishing materials. The business center provides a full range of secretarial services and office equipment.

The property boasts 410 guestrooms, six restaurants offering food from around the globe, nine banquet halls and a fitness center and spa. Club access includes butler service, professional secretarial service and individual meeting rooms. THE PLAZA Seoul is known as a popular MICE hotel, with seven meeting and events spaces.

The massive fitness facility features a sauna, gymnasium, swimming pool, indoor golf course (miniature golf) and an aerobics studio offering fitness classes. I took advantage of this each day since I was up early.

The Experience: THE PLAZA Seoul offers unparalleled customized service for both business and leisure travelers. Between the personalized service and beautiful suite, it certainly delivered a 5-star stay. Room service was delicious and worth noting.

THE PLAZA Seoul
119 Sogong-ro, Jung-gu
Seoul, South Korea 04525
tel 82 2 771 2200
hoteltheplaza.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Dec 2, 2022

AKA West Palm Beach Opens in Florida

West Palm Beach, Florida, recently welcomed AKA West Palm, a hotel residence offering long-stay accommodations. As AKA’s second South Florida property, AKA West Palm features 215 hotel residences comprised of studios, one- and two-bedroom spaces, and Penthouse suites. The five-story hotel blends modern luxuries with comfort and simplicity, with sleek kitchens, washers and dryers, and private terraces. Room furnishings contrast with a backdrop of stone, metal and wood to create simple, clean lines with minimal contrast.

Celebrity is celebrating Spring with 25% off Cruise Fares!

There’s no better time to plan the vacation you’ve been missing. Step aboard with your better half, your friends or the whole family and reconnect, reunite and rejoice with 25 percent off cruise fares for all guests. We’ll also help everyone get there with 25 percent off airfare from 20 major gateways across the country or $100 savings per person on flights from all other gateways when you book your air travel using Flights by Celebrity.*

Daily
Dec 2, 2022

Heart of the South

Birmingham, Alabama, was named for the city in the English Midlands that kept the fires burning, warmed the homes and made much of the steel for the United Kingdom’s industrial revolution. Decades later, the American city also made steel, so much of it, in fact, it became known as the “Magic City” for steel production, and the moniker stuck. But today’s Magic City makes more than steel, taking the raw product a few more steps to become a major center for automobile parts manufacturing and more, including Honda, Mercedes-Benz and U.S. Steel. Thanks to local leadership and long-term planning, the magic still works for Birmingham, as evidenced by its role hosting The World Games 2022 last summer.

Daily
Dec 2, 2022

El Museo Del Barrio

As New York City’s leading Latino cultural institution, El Museo del Barrio welcomes visitors of all backgrounds to discover the artistic landscape of Latino, Caribbean and Latin American cultures. El Museo’s wide-ranging collections and exhibitions represent these cultures’ richness, complemented by film, literary, visual and performing arts series, cultural celebrations and educational programs. Ranging from pre-Columbian to modern and contemporary art, the permanent collection totals more than 8,000 objects.

TAP Air Portugal: 77 Years Young

TAP Air Portugal, or rather Transportes Aéreos Portugueses, was founded 77 years ago, March 14, 1945, and flew its first commercial flight September 19, 1946, inaugurating service from Lisbon to Madrid, Spain, aboard a Douglas DC-3.

Daily
Dec 2, 2022

Fairmont Gold Reopens at Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown

Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown recently reopened its Fairmont Gold, introducing amenities, a contemporary new style in the Fairmont Gold Lounge and dedicated concierges. The 48-room, three-suite Fairmont Gold, positioned as an urban oasis, takes over the entire ninth floor of the hotel and delivers exceptional service to meet guests’ needs.

Press Releases
Dec 1, 2022

Global Traveler Announces 19th Annual GT Tested Reader Survey Awards

The results are in! For the 19th consecutive year, Global Traveler conducted its GT Tested Reader Survey, asking frequent luxury travelers to name the best in a variety of travel-related categories. More than 22,000 people responded. Global Traveler’s inaugural awards were celebrated in 2004.

Alaskan Wild Wonders by Celebrity Cruises

Experience the beauty of Alaska and save 60 percent off cruise fares on your second and fourth guests. Plus, drinks, WiFi and tips are all included.

December 2022
Dec 1, 2022

Rich in History: Explore Gilded Age Mansions and More in Newport, Rhode Island

Originally a thriving Colonial seaport, Newport became the summer playground for the Gilded Age’s elite in the late 1880s. Today their mansions dot the coast of Aquidneck Island, and their favorite pastimes — sailing and tennis — still dominate the city’s recreational offerings. In fact, Newport hosted the first U.S. Open tennis championship in 1881 and golf tourna- ment in 1895 and hosted the America’s Cup from 1930 to 1983. You can experience most of Newport on your own, including the mansions, but don’t rule out a guided tour or two when you visit.