FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.
IHG Business Edge Oct 2020 Leaderboard

Suraya Review

by Katie Skrzek

Jan 13, 2021
eFlyer Reviews

My husband and I enjoyed outdoor dining with another couple at Suraya in Philadelphia. The Lebanese restaurant makes frequent appearances on many local and national Best Of lists, including being named Best Restaurant in Philadelphia by Philadelphia magazine.

Suraya has a dedicated parking lot, next to the back entrance of the restaurant. We all parked there and walked to the front entrance, but were told we needed to enter through the back patio for outdoor seating. We were ahead of our reservation time and waited for a few minutes before our table was ready. The hostess took all of our temperatures before bringing us to our table.

There was a sign with a QR code to access the menu and ordering system. Our waitress came over shortly after we were seated to explain all ordering was to be handled on our phones and she was available if we had any questions. Unfortunately, the system won’t let you enter more than one credit card, so we needed to split the orders and handle paying each other via Venmo.

To start, we ordered a bottle of Lebanese Syrah/Cabernet blend to split. We all decided to take part in the “taste of Suraya” menu. This tasting option includes a set selection of cold mezze plates for the table, an additional mezze plate per person, an entrée per person and a set selection of desserts for the table.

First came the cold mezze of hummus, baba ganoush, muhammara, labneh, taboulé and pita. For our other mezze plates, we decided to share crispy potatoes with long hot peppers, beef dumplings, pita salad and a warm chickpea and eggplant dish. Each of the dishes packed complex flavors. I particularly enjoyed the muhammara (roasted red pepper and walnut dip) and the crispy potatoes. Already getting full from the mezze plates, our entrées arrived next. I selected the kawarma, a slow-roasted lamb with dill yogurt and a pomegranate cucumber salad. It was too good to leave any on the plate, so I opted to pack what I couldn’t finish to save room for dessert.

The chef’s selection of dessert included a milk pudding, ice cream terrine and a traditional Lebanese dessert of crispy cheese curd with rose blossom syrup. Like the other dishes, all were delicious; however, many were difficult to split, particularly during COVID. We asked our waitress for extra utensils to safely portion servings for our individual plates.

Overall, the flavorful dishes, ambiance and service made for an enjoyable dining experience. I’m looking forward to my next meal at Suraya.

Suraya

1528 Frankford Ave.
Philadelphia, PA 19125
tel 215 302 1900

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jan 22, 2021

Getting Cozy in the Catskills

The Urban Cowboy hospitality brand is no stranger to making city-adjacent stays feel a little more country. The newest addition to its roster, The Chalet, goes a rustic-chic step further at The Urban Cowboy in the Catskills, New York.

Daily
Jan 21, 2021

8 Reasons to Put Poland on Your Travel List

As the vaccine rolls out and travel begins to pick up, it’s time to start dreaming of your next international trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Poland with us.

Daily
Jan 21, 2021

United Receives Hospital-Grade Certification for Cleaning, Safety

The Airline Passenger Experience Association and SimpliFlying recognized United Airlines for providing a hospital-grade standard of cleanliness and safety during travel. Among the four largest U.S. carriers, United is the first to receive Diamond Certification, the highest in the new APEX Health Safety audit powered by SimpiliFlying.

Adventure Redefined: Volvo Overseas Delivery

Custom order your Volvo through the Overseas Delivery Program and receive round-trip airfare, hotel accommodations, and a personalized delivery at the Volvo Factory Delivery Experience in Gothenburg, Sweden. Your experience begins in Sweden with insurance and registration included, enabling you to drive your new Volvo throughout Scandinavia and Europe. Create the adventure of a lifetime with the program named Best Overseas Delivery four years running, and return home with the ultimate souvenir.

eFlyer News
Jan 20, 2021

andBeyond’s New Virtual Dream Board

andBeyond launched an online Dream Board to encourage travelers to start envisioning and planning upcoming trips. The Dream Board, on andBeyond’s website, features an array of experiences, itineraries and accommodations from the three continents where the company operates. It showcases andBeyond’s lodges and camps, but also the choices offered by its tour operating branch.

eFlyer Lead
Jan 20, 2021

Etihad Airways Among First Global Airlines to Launch IATA Travel Pass

The International Air Transport Association and Etihad Airways partnered to launch the IATA Travel Pass for passengers on the Gulf carrier. The IATA Travel Pass is a mobile app that helps passengers manage travel in line with government requirements for COVID-19 tests or vaccines. It will be initially offered on select Etihad flights from Abu Dhabi in early 2021, with plans to extend the offer if successful.

Adventure Redefined: Volvo Overseas Delivery Program

Are you looking for a truly unique travel experience and considering a new vehicle? The Volvo Overseas Delivery Program is the perfect solution to create your own refined adventure of a lifetime. You can custom order your new Volvo, tailored to fit your needs and desires. They will fly you to Sweden to pick up your Volvo so you can drive and explore Scandinavia and Europe on your terms for up to two weeks.

Daily
Jan 20, 2021

Telluride, Colorado, Welcomes Revamped Madeline Hotel & Residences

Madeline Hotel & Residences, Auberge Resorts Collection recently debuted a complete redesign, now standing as a luxurious, modern mountain resort in Telluride, Colorado. At 10,540 feet, the ski-in/ski-out retreat boasts new social spaces, a refreshed lobby, a new boutique, a collection of new guest experiences and amenities, and wellness offerings. Additionally, Madeline features a collaboration with Olympian Gus Kenworthy, who helped create the hotel’s Recovery Ski Lounge.