FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Review: InterContinental Miami

by Carrie Cox

Dec 4, 2023

PHOTO: © INTERCONTINENTAL MIAMI, AN IHG HOTEL

December 2023

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: I drove to Miami from Sarasota to meet with clients and deliver awards to those unable to attend our Wherever Awards, Leisure Lifestyle Awards and The Trazees events earlier in the year. I was looking forward to my stay at InterContinental Miami because of its ideal location near PortMiami and Biscayne Bay.

As I pulled in, William handled my car at the valet station. I saw William several more times during my two nights at the hotel, and each time he was courteous, communicative and kind. Moreover, several additional employees were quick to say hello and assist with my baggage, leading me through the open lobby to the front desk. Although I usually receive great service at hotels like InterContinental Miami, I don’t often see cheerful employees who appear to love their job. William and his cohorts had genuine smiles and an upbeat demeanor worth noting.

GUEST QUARTERS: Earlier this year, InterContinental Miami began a $36 million renovation, and I was eager to see the transformation. As I opened my room on the 18th floor, my eye was instantly drawn to the view through the oversized rectangular window on the far side of the room. Not only was the view from the 18th floor absolutely phenomenal, but a Royal Caribbean ship was leaving port just as I stepped in the door. I asked the bellman how he arranged such perfect timing upon my arrival, and he just smiled, saying, “We aim to please.”

My King Classic Ocean View room featured a king-sized bed with a slate-blue headboard mimicking an ocean wave. Rather than a corner chair, the room featured a cozy L-shaped chaise lounge sofa with several comfortable pillows and a coffee table. A separate glass table for work or in-room dining displayed delicious chocolates and snacks upon my arrival, with a porthole mirror on the wall. A flat-screen TV, large chest of drawers and two end tables rounded out the room. The design of hotel-room-meets-cruise-ship fusion worked beautifully and successfully. I clearly felt the theme of a luxury cruise ship while being grateful for the extra space and upper-level view of a hotel room.

The large bathroom was lined with grey and white tile, set on the diagonal for the floor but straight across the walls. My glass shower and sink featured products from Byredo. My robe, slippers and Nespresso machine all came in handy during my time in the room.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: I enjoyed an in-depth breakfast spread at OLÉ along with excellent service during my two mornings. I’m afraid I wasn’t able to take in the pool or the spa, but both come with rave reviews online.

Finally, the crown jewel of InterContinental Miami is the 18-foot-tall, travertine marble sculpture in the lobby. Designed by internationally renowned sculptor Sir Henry Spencer Moore, the sculpture weighs 70 tons and was placed in the lobby by helicopter while the lobby was still being built around it. Thanks to the glass atrium ceiling, a kaleidoscope of colors spills through the windows, creating a variety of hues I only noticed after reviewing the photos on my phone. Surrounded by plenty of areas to sit and relax, the sculpture is a centerpiece unlike any other I’ve seen in Miami.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

  • The hotel sits in an ideal location for departing cruisers, with several restaurants, shopping and a mini boardwalk easily within walking distance.
  • Don’t miss the excellent breakfast buffet at OLÉ to begin your day.
  • Motorized black-out blinds ensure you can sleep as long as you want, even with a highly recommended ocean view.

INTERCONTINENTAL MIAMI, AN IHG HOTEL
100 Chopin Plaza
Miami, FL 33131
tel 305 577 1000
icmiamihotel.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Explore Excursions

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jun 14, 2024

Former 1940s-Era Italian Bank Transformed Into Rome EDITION Hotel

It is hard to resist the pleasures of Rome, a city filled with world-renowned paintings; sculptures; thousands of colorful cafés; and hundreds of ancient buildings still standing and often used as offices, homes and museums. Certainly, Rome is the cradle from which all that is best about Italy emerged. It is difficult to open a new hotel in Rome without connecting it to the city’s history, art and culinary tradition. When Rome EDITION opened last year, it was the perfect fit for a city that lives and breathes all things extraordinary.

IHG Hotels & Resorts: Elevating the Guest Experience & Expanding Globally

With a robust portfolio of brands catering to diverse traveler preferences, IHG has been on a strategic trajectory to conquer key markets worldwide. The IHG footprint continues to grow, offering unparalleled experiences to guests around the globe.

June 2024
Jun 14, 2024

Loyalty Programs Revamp to Meet Changing Customer Preferences

Airlines and hotels consistently tweak loyalty programs to draw brand engagement based on shifting consumer habits, and the demands of younger generations make an impact. According to Chris Galloway, executive vice president, Strategy & Design, for brand loyalty experts Brandmovers, millennials are more active and engaged in loyalty programs than any other generation to date, and as Gen Z gains in buying/spending power, they also accelerate in their desire for loyalty and rewards programs.

Daily
Jun 14, 2024

Luxury Italian Farmhouse Launches 3 Seasonal, Hands-On Culinary Experiences

This summer, guests staying at Casetta Firenze, a luxury farmhouse in the Chianti region of Tuscany, can book three culinary workshops led by experts in the art of pasta making, traditional Tuscan dishes and vegetarian cuisine. Each workshop offers a multicourse meal, local produce and complementary wine.

MORE TO TRAVEL

There’s more to travel than just getting there.

Daily
Jun 14, 2024

Top U.S. States for Golfers

Relocation experts at My Baggage recently conducted a study to determine the top U.S. states for golfers by analyzing the distribution of golf courses, driving ranges, tournaments and golf coaches per 100,000 residents in every state, along with the number of platinum clubs. From there, each location was assigned a score and ranked accordingly.

Daily
Jun 12, 2024

Langham Hospitality Group Opens Cordis-Branded Hotel in Foshan, China

Langham Hospitality Group opened a new hotel under its upscale Cordis Hotels & Resorts brand, situated in the southern Chinese city of Foshan, a key urban center in the country’s Greater Bay Area. The Cordis, Foshan and Lingnan Tiandi Hotel is becoming a promising destination for both tourists and business travelers thanks to its planned upgrades and prime location in Lingnan Tiandi.

Hotel Indigo: The World’s Neighborhood Hotel

Part of the IHG Luxury & Lifestyle portfolio, Hotel Indigo is the world’s neighborhood hotel that celebrates how guests can discover, or rediscover, some of the most inspiring and culturally rich neighborhoods around the world. When staying at a Hotel Indigo hotel, it's not just about visiting a place — it's about being fully immersed in the neighborhood and wanting to take a little bit of it home. When traveling for business, Hotel Indigo offers a unique experience tailored to each location, making it the perfect choice to stay while traveling for work. With IHG Business Edge, travel managers have exclusive access to enticing perks, comprehensive travel metrics and carefully curated educational resources. It also includes a guaranteed discount on both business and personal travel for managers and employees, alongside an automatic upgrade to IHG One Rewards Silver Elite status after the initial IHG Business Edge stay.

eFlyer Reviews
Jun 12, 2024

Hôtel des Grands Voyageurs Review

It’s often declared Paris’ Left Bank, or La Rive Gauche, the local side of the Seine —  where bohemian and chic are used superfluously, albeit with some veracity. It only makes sense that travelers looking to stay on the Left Bank would seek as local an accommodation as possible — Hôtel des Grands Voyageurs is the new kid on the block and certainly delivers this with its design following the likes of a Parisian art collectors’ residence.