FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Review: Il Mulino New York and Ke-uH, Acqualina Resort and Spa

by Audrey Lee

Jun 8, 2021

© Audrey Lee

Daily

Last month, I had the pleasure of staying at Acqualina Resort and Spa in Miami, Florida.

Both nights of my stay, we ate on property as the resort has two restaurants: Il Mulino New York and Ke-uH.

The first night we opted for Italian cuisine at Il Mulino New York. We sat outside with a glimmering view of one of the pools and sounds of the ocean. Our waiter welcomed us and told us about the night’s specials. All of the specials and menu items sounded delicious. I picked the veal shank special with Parmesan risotto and my boyfriend went opted for lobster ravioli. As we waited for our food, we were given a plate of spicy zucchini crisps, bruschetta and a choice of freshly made focaccia bread — all of which were tasty. Our food arrived and the presentation was gorgeous. The meat of the veal shank was falling off the bone and the marrow was bursting with a buttery umami flavor. I have a shellfish allergy, so I could not try the lobster ravioli, but my boyfriend said it was the best he has ever had. We sipped on a glass of Sauvignon Blanc with our meal until we were full. The waiter brought over a digestif and the check and we headed to back to our room.

Ke-uH

© Audrey Lee

On our second night, we strolled through the lobby to Ke-uH. Our waiter explained the menu to us, but also offered the chef’s tasting menu so we could experience what the chef wanted us to experience. I mentioned my shellfish allergy so we would stay clear of any reactions. To start, the bartender whipped up a Samurai cocktail, with bourbon, red wine, fruit juices made complete with a mini sword and an orange. We were then brought various dishes of sashimi, sushi pizza, ceviche and, my personal favorite, the pork belly with watermelon. It was the perfect balance of salty, sweet and juicy. The waiter asked if we would also enjoy some dessert and we couldn’t say no. I asked for him to put in his favorite dessert and surprise us. A few minutes later, we were greeted by a hot, molten lava cake ala mode with hazelnut candies and chocolate drizzle. It was a decadent way to end a delicious meal, but it was absolutely perfect.

Since visiting these two restaurants in Acqualina, I have recommended friends and family make a reservation when they are in the area. This is one of the best dining experiences I have had to date and I look forward to sampling these rich meals again.

To make reservations for Il Mulino New York, click here; for Ke-uH, follow this link.

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
December 2022
Dec 8, 2022

Mail Call December 2022

Q&A with Haley Fogarty, Advertising Manager

Alaskan Wild Wonders by Celebrity Cruises

Experience the beauty of Alaska and save 60 percent off cruise fares on your second and fourth guests. Plus, drinks, WiFi and tips are all included.

December 2022
Dec 7, 2022

Away We Go!

It is amazing to be marking the 19th annual GT Tested Reader Survey awards with our December issue. We look forward to hosting a gala evening at The Ritz-Carlton LA Live in Los Angeles on Dec. 6 to present the best the industry has to offer, all selected by you.

eFlyer Reviews
Dec 7, 2022

Workshop Kitchen + Bar Review

Palm Springs became a destination of legend when Hollywood’s biggest and brightest during cinema’s “Golden Age” turned the desert community into their glamourous backyard. While restaurants and hotels epitomizing definitive Palm Springs luxury open, adapt and change with the times, it says something that one of its hottest restaurants sets up an outpost back in Los Angeles. And that’s exactly what chef Michael Beckman and restaurateur Joe Mourani did on the southern tip of the always-evolving Fairfax District.

Discover a Journey Filled with Wonder in 2022

ISN’T IT TIME? It's time to treat yourself to the vacation you deserve, and Celebrity Cruises® offers the perfect escapes. With an award-winning fleet of ships that sail to more than 300 destinations around the world, Celebrity will take you almost anywhere you want to go in style. Enjoy stunning staterooms and suites, culinary experiences imagined by Michelin-starred chefs and intuitive service. Celebrity makes sure your vacation is effortless from the start, which is why drinks, WiFi and tips are Always IncludedSM on every sailing.

eFlyer News
Dec 7, 2022

Six Senses to Open First Australian Property in the Dandenong Ranges

Six Senses recently announced plans to open its first Australian property in Burnham Beeches, a heritage mansion built in 1933 and situated on the 22 hectares of fern glades and forested hills of the Dandenong Ranges. The property lies 24 miles from Melbourne and neighbors Alfred Nicholas Memorial Gardens, one of the country’s finest examples of domestic Art Deco.

December 2022
Dec 5, 2022

Luxuriate in London

My husband and I recently traveled to London, England, on vacation, our farthest trip since the pandemic started. We were there for longer than a week and planned to squeeze in as much sightseeing as possible during our stay. Ahead of our trip, we knew we would want to mix in some relaxation, so we booked a couple’s massage at The Lanesborough’s spa halfway into our visit.

TAP Air Portugal: 77 Years Young

TAP Air Portugal, or rather Transportes Aéreos Portugueses, was founded 77 years ago, March 14, 1945, and flew its first commercial flight September 19, 1946, inaugurating service from Lisbon to Madrid, Spain, aboard a Douglas DC-3.

December 2022
Dec 5, 2022

Charter a Yacht for a Luxurious and Liberating Sailing Experience

Since my last name is Kapitanski, I had to learn how to sail!” joked Boris Kapitanski while telling me about the 45-foot catamaran yacht he chartered with his wife and friends to sail through Croatia. They could have had it all: the captain, the chef, all the water toys, everything anyone would want to make their trip exactly how they desired. Yet they chose to forego most of that. “We like to cook. The kitchen was enclosed with windows on the top deck. We sailed past the most beautiful surroundings,” he reminisced. Jagged cliffs, textured forests and land singing with wildlife drifted by while they grilled freshly caught fish.