FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Review: The St. Regis Atlanta

by Francis X. Gallagher

Feb 10, 2024

PHOTO: © THE ST. REGIS ATLANTA

February 2024

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: I flew from Philadelphia to Atlanta and met up with Carrie Cox from our Sarasota office at the airport, where we picked up our rental Mustang convertible for the trip. It was an easy drive from the airport to this lovely area of Buckhead. As we had various appointments around Atlanta and Carrie was taking the car on an extended vacation afterward, a rental proved the best option. As we pulled up to The St. Regis, the team out front was friendly, and the valet parked the car (at New York prices).

Check-in was swift at that late hour, with a friendly front desk team offering water and help with questions. They confirmed we still had time for a bite to eat at The St. Regis Bar, so we decided to drop off our bags in our respective suites and meet in a few minutes.

GUEST QUARTERS: I had a lovely suite (Room 826) with a hallway entrance featuring a closet and built-in dressing area before the entry to the room. The bathroom, also off this hallway, was tastefully appointed with double sinks with white marble counters, a separate tub (with double doors that opened to the room), a separate shower and a room for the toilet. The large bedroom included a king-sized bed and a long credenza on the opposing wall with a huge, flat-screen TV. A self-service minibar sat atop the credenza with half bottles of favorite spirits and attractive glassware. A little sitting area offered a comfortable chair and a round marble-topped table which can double as your work area; I used this setting to conduct a webinar the following morning. A beautiful orchid on the credenza behind this table made for an attractive backdrop. Large windows with heavy drapes to keep out the morning light for late sleepers revealed a cityscape of Buckhead.

The second night I was moved due to a guest above overflowing the bathtub — would they do that at home? I welcomed the upgrade, and The St. Regis team professionally handled the move. It was on the same floor and down the hall, but it afforded me an even larger space, with a separate room for a sofa and second large TV, plus a spectacular patio — large enough to host a 25-person reception overlooking The St. Regis pool.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: The St. Regis takes great pride in its butler service, so I asked to have a pair of shoes shined and a suit pressed while I was having dinner. The staff went in and out of my room like magic, and, all the more, the items were returned perfectly. The St. Regis Bar mirrors the feel of The St. Regis New York, but rather than the painting of Old King Cole, it displays behind the bar a painting of a phoenix rising from the flames to signify Atlanta’s rebirth after the Civil War. We enjoyed meeting the team there for bites and drinks. I also had a power breakfast with my Atlanta bankers to review some financials and discuss pending projects. Location and service are key at The St. Regis, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

  • The address cannot be beat, close to many local restaurants like Bones and The Cherokee Club.
  • Every evening at 6 p.m. outside of The St. Regis Bar, there is a Sabering of the Champagne ritual, which Carrie accomplished masterfully.

THE ST. REGIS ATLANTA
88 W. Paces Ferry Road N.W.
Atlanta, GA 30305
tel 404 5637900
marriott.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Explore Excursions

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Apr 22, 2024

Meet 5 Women Shaping the Brixen/South Tyrol Travel Experience

Although a destination’s terrain, cuisine and cultural attributes always draw travelers in, it is often the people they meet that make the trip an enduring memory rather than a box to be checked off. It’s a job responsibility that people working around the Plose and adjoining town of Brixen (in Italy’s Trentino-Alto Adige region) take seriously. This is even more true for five women dedicated to introducing visitors to new aspects of the time-honored ski, leisure and hiking mountain destination in the Dolomites.

L’Ermitage Beverly Hills: A Discreet Hideaway Awaits

Nestled between the palm-lined boulevards of residential Beverly Hills, L'Ermitage evokes a sense of refined elegance and unparalleled service. This Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five Diamond haven continues to captivate discerning travelers and Angelenos with its unwavering dedication to personalized hospitality.

Daily
Apr 22, 2024

Explore The Chatwal Brand from City to Countryside

The Chatwal brand offers guests the opportunity to explore the city or countryside with its properties The Chatwal, New York and The Chatwal Lodge. Part of The Unbound Collection by Hyatt, these two hotels feature spring and summer experiences for all types of travelers.

Cruising
Apr 22, 2024

Your Guide to Holland America Line’s “Nieuw Amsterdam”’s Signature Restaurants

Aboard Holland America Line’s Nieuw Amsterdam, which sails to Canada, the Pacific Coast of the United States, Alaska, Mexico, Panama and the Caribbean, you’ll find no shortage of dining options. But with such a limited amount of time on board, why not head to the best of the best on the ship?

Hotel Indigo: The World’s Neighborhood Hotel

Part of the IHG Luxury & Lifestyle portfolio, Hotel Indigo is the world’s neighborhood hotel that celebrates how guests can discover, or rediscover, some of the most inspiring and culturally rich neighborhoods around the world. When staying at a Hotel Indigo hotel, it's not just about visiting a place — it's about being fully immersed in the neighborhood and wanting to take a little bit of it home. When traveling for business, Hotel Indigo offers a unique experience tailored to each location, making it the perfect choice to stay while traveling for work. With IHG Business Edge, travel managers have exclusive access to enticing perks, comprehensive travel metrics and carefully curated educational resources. It also includes a guaranteed discount on both business and personal travel for managers and employees, alongside an automatic upgrade to IHG One Rewards Silver Elite status after the initial IHG Business Edge stay.

Slideshow
Apr 22, 2024

7 Reasons to Put Curaçao on Your Travel List

It’s time to start dreaming of your next trip. Here’s some destination inspiration for you. Take a visual journey through Curaçao with us.

Bhutan
Apr 17, 2024

Mindfulness City in Kingdom of Bhutan Unveiled as Future Economic Hub

In front of an audience of 30,000 Kingdom of Bhutan residents and officials, His Majesty King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck presented his vision for a new economic hub in Bhutan. Located between India to the south and China to the north, Bhutan is one of the most beautiful destinations in the world. Bhutan came late to global tourism. It opened its borders to international visitors in 1974 and, while tourism definitely increased, residents are enduring “light” rush-hour traffic in Thimphu, its capital city, as the only Asian capital without traffic lights.

Briggs & Riley: Elevate Your Journey with Quality Luggage

Embracing a life well lived often means embracing a life well-traveled. Every journey becomes a canvas for experiences that shape our lives and at the heart of every adventure lies the indispensable companion: quality luggage.

eFlyer Reviews
Apr 17, 2024

Amansara Review

It was more than a car journey; it was a transition between worlds. At our first hotel in Siem Reap, huge coaches constantly pulled up outside the lobby to deposit or receive international tour groups; we departed in very different style, in a 1965 black Mercedes limousine once owned by King Sihanouk. The mundanities of mass tourism were left behind. We progressed through the chaotic Cambodian streets in regal comfort and soon arrived at a solid gate.