FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Review: The St. Regis Atlanta

by Francis X. Gallagher

Feb 10, 2024

PHOTO: © THE ST. REGIS ATLANTA

February 2024

ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: I flew from Philadelphia to Atlanta and met up with Carrie Cox from our Sarasota office at the airport, where we picked up our rental Mustang convertible for the trip. It was an easy drive from the airport to this lovely area of Buckhead. As we had various appointments around Atlanta and Carrie was taking the car on an extended vacation afterward, a rental proved the best option. As we pulled up to The St. Regis, the team out front was friendly, and the valet parked the car (at New York prices).

Check-in was swift at that late hour, with a friendly front desk team offering water and help with questions. They confirmed we still had time for a bite to eat at The St. Regis Bar, so we decided to drop off our bags in our respective suites and meet in a few minutes.

GUEST QUARTERS: I had a lovely suite (Room 826) with a hallway entrance featuring a closet and built-in dressing area before the entry to the room. The bathroom, also off this hallway, was tastefully appointed with double sinks with white marble counters, a separate tub (with double doors that opened to the room), a separate shower and a room for the toilet. The large bedroom included a king-sized bed and a long credenza on the opposing wall with a huge, flat-screen TV. A self-service minibar sat atop the credenza with half bottles of favorite spirits and attractive glassware. A little sitting area offered a comfortable chair and a round marble-topped table which can double as your work area; I used this setting to conduct a webinar the following morning. A beautiful orchid on the credenza behind this table made for an attractive backdrop. Large windows with heavy drapes to keep out the morning light for late sleepers revealed a cityscape of Buckhead.

The second night I was moved due to a guest above overflowing the bathtub — would they do that at home? I welcomed the upgrade, and The St. Regis team professionally handled the move. It was on the same floor and down the hall, but it afforded me an even larger space, with a separate room for a sofa and second large TV, plus a spectacular patio — large enough to host a 25-person reception overlooking The St. Regis pool.

SERVICES/AMENITIES: The St. Regis takes great pride in its butler service, so I asked to have a pair of shoes shined and a suit pressed while I was having dinner. The staff went in and out of my room like magic, and, all the more, the items were returned perfectly. The St. Regis Bar mirrors the feel of The St. Regis New York, but rather than the painting of Old King Cole, it displays behind the bar a painting of a phoenix rising from the flames to signify Atlanta’s rebirth after the Civil War. We enjoyed meeting the team there for bites and drinks. I also had a power breakfast with my Atlanta bankers to review some financials and discuss pending projects. Location and service are key at The St. Regis, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

TOP TAKEAWAYS:

  • The address cannot be beat, close to many local restaurants like Bones and The Cherokee Club.
  • Every evening at 6 p.m. outside of The St. Regis Bar, there is a Sabering of the Champagne ritual, which Carrie accomplished masterfully.

THE ST. REGIS ATLANTA
88 W. Paces Ferry Road N.W.
Atlanta, GA 30305
tel 404 5637900
marriott.com

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Explore Excursions

#globility

Insta Feed
Daily
Jul 24, 2024

SB Winemaker’s House & Spa Suites Introduces Custom Wine Itineraries

SB Winemaker’s House & Spa Suites offers guests personalized journeys to Mendoza’s finest wineries from Susana Balbo’s family. Immerse yourself in bespoke wine itineraries recommended by Balbo, Argentina’s first female winemaker; her son and third-generation winemaker, José Lovaglio Balbo; and her daughter, hotelier and wine tourism marketer, Ana Lovaglio Balbo.

Reconnecting the World: GBTA Convention 2023 Spotlights the Vital Role of Business Travel and In-Person Connection

In an increasingly digital and interconnected world, the Global Business Travel Association (GBTA) Convention remains an indispensable platform for business travel industry professionals seeking to make the most of the power of face-to-face connections. Taking place August 13–15 in Dallas, the 2023 GBTA Convention provides the unique opportunity for professionals and companies to join visionaries, thought leaders and industry experts for meaningful networking, cutting-edge insights and inspiring innovation.

eFlyer Reviews
Jul 24, 2024

Althoff Grand Hotel Schloss Bensberg Review

After a long drive from our previous destination, it was a relief to see Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg in our view. When we pulled into the hotel court, I felt like we were pulling up to a royal palace. Considering the hotel was originally built as a castle for Prince Elector Johann Wilhelm II of Duesseldorf and his wife, Maria-Luisa of the Medici family, my thought wasn’t that far off.

eFlyer News
Jul 24, 2024

Norwegian Cruise Line to Add Philadelphia as New Homeport in 2026

A major cruise line is set to sail from Philadelphia for the first time in years. Beginning in spring 2026, Norwegian Cruise Line will make Philadelphia its home port for some of its cruise ships, including sailings to Bermuda, Canada and New England. Norwegian’s Jewel will sail to Bermuda, featuring overnight calls to Royal Naval Dockyard.

Daejeon Prepares for Its Iconic Zero O’Clock Festival

Daejeon, South Korea, looks forward to August 2024 and the return of its iconic tradition, the Zero O’Clock Festival. This year, the event is held Aug. 9 –17 with a time travel theme featuring past, present and future zones. Find events pertaining to each zone’s characteristics in the area of Jungang-ro Street, from Daejeon Station to the former site of the South Chungcheong Provincial Office. These streets will be free of vehicles, and public transportation is highly recommended.

eFlyer News
Jul 24, 2024

China Airlines Adds Seattle to North American Network

China Airlines officially launched a new route to North America, further connecting Taiwan with the United States’ Pacific coast. The new route from Taipei (TPE) to Seattle (SEA) marks the airline’s sixth non-stop destination in North America.

Daily
Jul 23, 2024

New at the Seaside: Sandbourne Santa Monica Opens

Set upon Santa Monica’s iconic Ocean Avenue, the new Sandbourne Santa Monica is ready for reservations. Beachfront with direct ocean access and offering 175 guestrooms and suites, this soon-to-be favorite address is part of Marriott’s esteemed Autograph Collection. Special touches include a honeybee hive and a dog park.

Exclusive Savings: Cruise Along the Danube River with Global Traveler

Exclusive Sailing with Global Traveler

Daily
Jul 23, 2024

3 Top Choices for New York City Summer Dining

There’s never a shortage of new restaurants opening in New York City any time of year, but some are better designed for warmer weather than others. Whether you’re looking to entertain clients or treat yourself to a well-earned meal at the end of the day, these three newer restaurants are top choices for New York City summer dining.