FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh Review

by Haley Fogarty

Jul 14, 2021

© Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh

eFlyer Reviews

We reached Kimpton Hotel Monaco after a long, 4.5-hour drive to Pittsburgh, arriving just after 10 p.m. The front desk attendant greeted us by name, and welcomed us from behind a plastic divider for COVID purposes. My first impression of the lobby was magnificent. The eclectic décor and modern ambience were undeniable throughout, and one of my favorite aspects of the property. Shortly after check-in, I received a text from the front desk agent welcoming me and offering this text service as a way to ask questions, request amenities and so on.

Our corner queen room awaited us at the end of a long hallway lit with floral décor and bright blue doors. Large windows took over the walls and provided a great view of downtown Pittsburgh, while thick, houndstooth-patterned curtains offered privacy and shade from the lights of the city.

A pop of green color in the plush headboards tied in the diverse décor of the entire hotel. A vintage-looking armoire held the television and mini-fridge, with a matching, shared night table between the beds. However, I would have preferred more outlet access from the beds as the one built into the night table was out of use. The bathroom followed suit with yellow houndstooth wallpaper wrapping the walls around a fairly large standing shower and single sink.

Both front desk agents I communicated with highly recommended The Commoner, the full-service restaurant on site. They suggested I make a reservation as capacity was decreased due to the pandemic, which I did with ease. The brunch menu offered many selections, such as quiche, French toast and pork belly with eggs — which I enjoyed and finished every bite of. Normally the restaurant features a Bloody Mary bar, but for sanitary reasons I was only able to order one from the menu.

I received another text from the front desk agent through the hotel’s service, wishing me a good morning and asking if I needed linens or towels. I appreciated this option, a clear priority to reduce wash cycles and waste. The showers also featured large, multiuse containers secured to the walls instead of single-use bottles that waste product and plastic.

Other amenities include meeting space and ballrooms, as well as a common living area with wine service, and an on-site gym featuring a Peloton bicycle. The location of the Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Pittsburgh is ideal for anyone visiting the city. With access to downtown, the Strip District, Shady Side and the University of Pittsburgh’s campus, this modern hotel is a wonderful option for your stay.

Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh

620 William Penn Place
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
tel 412 471 1170

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Lifestyle
Sep 24, 2021

Fall Travel Trends from Vacasa

With the autumn in full spring, now is time to start planning your fall weekend getaway.  Whether a relaxing weekend on the lake, leaf-peeping or hiking, check out these fall travel trends from vacation rental management company Vacasa.

The Future of Hamad International Airport

Without a doubt, the pandemic changed the role of airports in the travel industry. Hamad International Airport’s role evolved in many ways since the pandemic hit. Now, more than ever, airports are responsible for creating a secure passenger experience. As the gateway to Qatar and the world, the safety and wellbeing of staff and passengers has always been at the core of Hamad International Airport’s strategy.

September 2021
Sep 23, 2021

Host a Fabled Business Event in Wonderful Copenhagen

I imagine that when writer Hans Christian Andersen mused, “Life itself is the most wonderful fairy tale,” he was standing at the edge of Copenhagen’s historic Tivoli Gardens, one of his favorite haunts, enlivened by the swirl of human happiness that surrounded him: children laughing; carousels spinning; games of chance played for prizes; lovers holding hands; hungry people whispering over sweets, hot drinks, beer and towering, open-faced smørrebrød, Denmark’s quintessential sandwich. That fairy tale lives on today at the second-oldest amusement park in the world, a spectacle of folly architecture, bakeries, gardens, rides, restaurants, puppet shows and joy ... and which also happens to be one of the city’s most storied places to convene for business.

Canada
Sep 23, 2021

Reimagined Park Hyatt Toronto Officially Reopens Its Doors

The restored Park Hyatt Toronto reopened its doors, bringing luxury, sophistication and glamour alongside a nod to the hotel’s Canadian heritage. Alessandro Munge of Studio Munge collaborated on the hotel’s refresh, drawing inspiration from Canada’s seasons and natural landscapes.

Register Today for the Most Important Gathering of Business Travel Professionals

The Global Business Travel Association’s (GBTA) Convention 2021 will be unlike any other convention before it, as we come together in person for the first time since the business travel industry drastically changed and look forward to rebuilding and reshaping the future. GBTA Convention 2021 will bring all of us together to learn from experts and each other, in-person at Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida, Nov. 17–19. The safety of our attendees is our top priority. View health and safety protocols.

eFlyer News
Sep 22, 2021

GBTA Applauds Relaxing of U.S. Travel Ban for Vaccinated Foreign Nationals

The Global Business Travel Association, the world’s largest business travel and meetings trade organization, recently released a statement from GBTA CEO Suzanne Neufang regarding the Biden administration’s recent announcement that the U.S. travel ban will be relaxed in November for vaccinated travelers from 26 Schengen countries, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Daily
Sep 22, 2021

La Concha Resort Puerto Rico Review

Arriving early afternoon in Puerto Rico, we jumped in an Uber and took a short, 15-minute drive from the airport to La Concha.  As it was Tuesday, the streets were not too busy and the hotel lobby was calm. During the weekend, the scene likely would have been more bustling. We were greeted by a staff member who requested proof of vaccination and government-issued ID, and were given a wristband to indicate we were fully vaccinated. All guests are required to be vaccinated and wear masks at all times while moving around the hotel. Hand sanitizer stations were placed around the lobby, in elevators and in each common area.

Greece: Destination Luxury

Since its prestige for attracting the world elite grew in the 1960s, Greece remains the go-to destination for glittering holidays. Each step of the journey is enrobed in luxury, from culinary traditions with the highest standard of execution and name-brand, high-end shopping to first-rate wellness locales and elite accommodations, like 5-star hotels, private villas and yachts.

September 2021
Sep 21, 2021

Retreat into Luxurious Stillness at The Rittenhouse Spa & Club

The Rittenhouse has long stood out as one of Philadelphia’s finest hotels, centrally located in one of the city’s poshest neighborhoods. Needless to say, I knew I was in for an afternoon of luxurious pampering when I hopped in my car and headed down I-95 from my suburban home to the heart of the City of Brotherly Love. As I drove through the seemingly endless roadwork on the highway, I realized just how long it had been since I’d driven this once-familiar route into the city as a result of the pandemic. Of course I was eager for the relaxation and bliss that was in my future, but it was also a welcome feeling to head back into Philadelphia for a moment of normalcy.