FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

Rossoblu Review

by Elyse Glickman

Mar 17, 2020

© Elyse Glickman

eFlyer Reviews

As the southern end of Los Angeles’ downtown, City Market South is in the midst of its renaissance. So is Rossoblu, chef Steve Samson’s ultimate love letter to his Italian roots and childhood memories of Bologna and Emilia Romagna. In its original incarnation, Rossoblu made its mark for being the next best thing to a trip to Northern Italy, thanks to its handmade pastas, in-season produce and ambitious in-house butchery and salumi program. Like many noteworthy Michelin Star and award-winning restaurants throughout Italy, Samson’s menus garnered kudos for taking the time-honored elements of regional Italian cuisine and bringing them into the 21st century.

In a similar fashion to destination restaurants in Italy’s major cities, the warehouse-chic space is open, warmly lit and artfully adorned. After passing through a perennially festive outdoor patio, guests are drawn in by the aromas and activity wafting from its open-concept kitchen. The underground is equally lively, anchored by a private dining-wine cellar space that peeks into Sampson’s signature pasta workshop and butcher area. I can vouch for this, as this space was used for a media preview for the forthcoming “Willamette: the Pinot Noir Auction” set for April 4 in Newberg, Oregon.

While some private dining rooms at destination Italian restaurants feel like a separate annex, the décor and food served here has a nice continuity with the action and ambiance upstairs. The Rossoblu Bread Basket, with a trio of spreads and a sampler of Sampson’s salume, nicely woke up the palate for the featured Willamette whites. With the arrival of progressively stronger reds, we enjoyed grilled pork meatballs and Swiss Chard Erbazzone Tartlet before moving on to the Squash Risotto adorned with pumpkin seeds and Nonna’s Tagliatelle al Ragu Bolognese. For the heavy hitters among the vintages, our hosts chose Milk-Braised Pork Shoulder with caramelized cabbage and pickled cherries, sliced and sharable dry-aged prime beef ribeye and a gorgeous cheese plate in lieu of a sweet dessert.

Rossoblu’s continued excellence is particularly poignant, considering the location caught fire during 2018’s catastrophic fire season. Despite the loss, Sampson, wife Dina and partner Hans Luttmann used the loss to propel themselves to higher levels of quality with food and service. The restaurant re-opened December 2018 in phoenix-like fashion and thrives today in a way that not only captures Samson’s original mission but also a dolce vita ambiance that makes it a wonderful spot for business lunches, private group dinners and date night, much like its counterparts in Northern Italy. With the events taking place in Northern Italy and Los Angeles at press time, it is comforting to know Rossoblu’s authentic contemporary Italian dining experience is ready to bounce back along with the rest of us.

Rossoblu

City Market South
1124 San Julian St.
Los Angeles, CA 90015
tel 213 749 1099

Introducing

FX Excursions

FX Excursions offers the chance for once-in-a-lifetime experiences in destinations around the world.

#globility

Insta Feed
Lifestyle
Sep 24, 2021

Fall Travel Trends from Vacasa

With the autumn in full spring, now is time to start planning your fall weekend getaway.  Whether a relaxing weekend on the lake, leaf-peeping or hiking, check out these fall travel trends from vacation rental management company Vacasa.

The Future of Hamad International Airport

Without a doubt, the pandemic changed the role of airports in the travel industry. Hamad International Airport’s role evolved in many ways since the pandemic hit. Now, more than ever, airports are responsible for creating a secure passenger experience. As the gateway to Qatar and the world, the safety and wellbeing of staff and passengers has always been at the core of Hamad International Airport’s strategy.

September 2021
Sep 23, 2021

Host a Fabled Business Event in Wonderful Copenhagen

I imagine that when writer Hans Christian Andersen mused, “Life itself is the most wonderful fairy tale,” he was standing at the edge of Copenhagen’s historic Tivoli Gardens, one of his favorite haunts, enlivened by the swirl of human happiness that surrounded him: children laughing; carousels spinning; games of chance played for prizes; lovers holding hands; hungry people whispering over sweets, hot drinks, beer and towering, open-faced smørrebrød, Denmark’s quintessential sandwich. That fairy tale lives on today at the second-oldest amusement park in the world, a spectacle of folly architecture, bakeries, gardens, rides, restaurants, puppet shows and joy ... and which also happens to be one of the city’s most storied places to convene for business.

Canada
Sep 23, 2021

Reimagined Park Hyatt Toronto Officially Reopens Its Doors

The restored Park Hyatt Toronto reopened its doors, bringing luxury, sophistication and glamour alongside a nod to the hotel’s Canadian heritage. Alessandro Munge of Studio Munge collaborated on the hotel’s refresh, drawing inspiration from Canada’s seasons and natural landscapes.

Register Today for the Most Important Gathering of Business Travel Professionals

The Global Business Travel Association’s (GBTA) Convention 2021 will be unlike any other convention before it, as we come together in person for the first time since the business travel industry drastically changed and look forward to rebuilding and reshaping the future. GBTA Convention 2021 will bring all of us together to learn from experts and each other, in-person at Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida, Nov. 17–19. The safety of our attendees is our top priority. View health and safety protocols.

eFlyer News
Sep 22, 2021

GBTA Applauds Relaxing of U.S. Travel Ban for Vaccinated Foreign Nationals

The Global Business Travel Association, the world’s largest business travel and meetings trade organization, recently released a statement from GBTA CEO Suzanne Neufang regarding the Biden administration’s recent announcement that the U.S. travel ban will be relaxed in November for vaccinated travelers from 26 Schengen countries, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Daily
Sep 22, 2021

La Concha Resort Puerto Rico Review

Arriving early afternoon in Puerto Rico, we jumped in an Uber and took a short, 15-minute drive from the airport to La Concha.  As it was Tuesday, the streets were not too busy and the hotel lobby was calm. During the weekend, the scene likely would have been more bustling. We were greeted by a staff member who requested proof of vaccination and government-issued ID, and were given a wristband to indicate we were fully vaccinated. All guests are required to be vaccinated and wear masks at all times while moving around the hotel. Hand sanitizer stations were placed around the lobby, in elevators and in each common area.

Greece: Destination Luxury

Since its prestige for attracting the world elite grew in the 1960s, Greece remains the go-to destination for glittering holidays. Each step of the journey is enrobed in luxury, from culinary traditions with the highest standard of execution and name-brand, high-end shopping to first-rate wellness locales and elite accommodations, like 5-star hotels, private villas and yachts.

September 2021
Sep 21, 2021

Retreat into Luxurious Stillness at The Rittenhouse Spa & Club

The Rittenhouse has long stood out as one of Philadelphia’s finest hotels, centrally located in one of the city’s poshest neighborhoods. Needless to say, I knew I was in for an afternoon of luxurious pampering when I hopped in my car and headed down I-95 from my suburban home to the heart of the City of Brotherly Love. As I drove through the seemingly endless roadwork on the highway, I realized just how long it had been since I’d driven this once-familiar route into the city as a result of the pandemic. Of course I was eager for the relaxation and bliss that was in my future, but it was also a welcome feeling to head back into Philadelphia for a moment of normalcy.